We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Lots of Charm”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
660 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Great Location & Lots of Charm”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Benson has a beautiful lobby and a lot of charm. A beautiful old hotel just walking down the hallways with the chandeliers and dark wooden doors it feels very elegant. The rooms are nicely decorated and have tall ceilings and comfortable furnishings. The double-size rooms are very small and the bathrooms even smaller and cramped. They have added some shelf space and even a bookcase in the bathroom to which helps provide a place for your travel kits and bathroom items. The rooms come with wine glasses in addition water glasses so you could bring your own wine into the room and drink from real glasses. The beds were memory foam and comfortable. the rooms came with internet but I was unable to maintain the connection long enough to use my ipad in the room. There was some hallway noise after midnight with peopler talking loudly obviously intoxicated and returning fom a bar. Although it woke us up, the notice didn’t last long. We experienced friendly staff and an a very attentive bellman at the door. The location is very good, easy walking distance to seveal restaurants, cafe's and breakfast options. I was also pleased with the hotel security. In the evening you can only enter from the front door, and without inserting a room key you cannot get up to the rooms from the elevator. Despite some minor downsides, Overall The Benson was a good place to stay, especially if you find a good price online.

Room Tip: If I were staying more than one night, I'd really consider getting a suite to have a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowa-Rides-Again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to hear that our guest room did not meet your expectations and will be forwarding these comments to the appropriate parties. We were pleased that you enjoyed your visit overall and I hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    648
    228
    96
    53
See reviews for
349
807
110
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had booked one night at the Benson while traveling through Portland. Read some reviews and questioned whether this was a good idea. Some were rather negative. Being downtown valet parking is your best bet. Valet and bell hop very quick and attentive. Front desk also knowledgeable and friendly. Staff is very proud of the 100 year history of the hotel. Hotel is pet friendly. We had a junior suite and a water bowl and bed was in place for our dachshund. Also a bag containing treats, a doggie cookie, a couple of clean-up bags and a toy (ball) were included. There are "designated" pet friendly rooms but they have the same upscale furnishings as the other rooms in the hotel.

Our room was spacious with a King bed and posturpedic mattress. Very comfortable. Also a nice desk area, couch table and two chairs as well as a large flat-screen TV with extensive cable coverage.

We decided to eat in the Palm Court, a lounge/dining room just off the lobby. A somewhat limited menu but the food was very good and the waiter, John, very attentive. He has been there 14 years and I believe the bartender has been there 40. We decided to have breakfast there in the morning before heading out and it too was very good. Excellent coffee in the restaurant and also available, without charge, in the lobby. This is an upscale hotel with a staff that treats guests as part of their family. This is obvious as they appear to have many repeat guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macomfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed our amenities, particularly our pet-friendly rooms. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Benson is a spectacular hotel! The historical grandeur of this hotel, founded in 1912, has been beautifully maintained. One can experience the past while enjoying modern amenities and comforts. The room was clean and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was genuinely friendly and very helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants, activities and sights. My husband plan to return again and again. I highly recommend staying here while enjoying the many activities Portland has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I appreciate your kind words. Our staff does all they can to provide our guests with the best possible experience and I’m happy they could provide that for you. We look forward to seeing you and your husband for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

..when we arrived at the hotels lobby..i had a big smile on my face... Huge fan of historical hotels with lush wood paneling, plush seating and crowning jewellery with Austrian crystal chandeliers.

The accessible junior suite with an amazing bed and pillows..to top it off..we had the view of the Mt. St. Helen..All we needed is to have great room service and that was completed also. This is the hotel to stay for anyone who is a fan of yester years ..but todays classic comforts..Good Job, Benson Hotel~!!

Room Tip: Mt. St Helen view, try a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for the review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your view of Mt. St. Helens and our classic atmosphere. We hope to see you on a return visit, very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel lobby is gorgeous and our room was nicely sized and very clean with nice bath products. Being an older hotel there was some noise from the street below (12th floor) but it was quiet enough at night to sleep. Everyone there, especially the Valet/Doormen and Concierge were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havecookiewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that our staff could provide you with an outstanding stay and pleasant accommodations. We hope to have you visit again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our first time staying in Portland was superb and the Benson made it that way from start to finish...lovely lobby, lovely room, great service and location. I will definitely look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for the feedback! We are glad you came to visit and hope that your next stay is in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my 3 night stay at the Benson in Portland.
Was slightly concerned as I had read about poor service, showers that were not well regulated with hot water, but it appears all the problems have been fixed as I had very little if ant thing to complain about.
It's a grand hotel, well located in downtown, excellent service and yes the beds are to die for!
So comfortable and inviting after a long day sightseeing in Portland.
Reception girls were polite and smiling plus Tom the Concierge was outstanding in promoting his city. Room service was spot on and the hamburger was just cooked the way I liked it.
All in all an outstanding classical hotel.
Well worth the visit even if only for the beds!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsteele507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
I appreciate your review. We have been working hard on providing our guests with the best experience possible. I will also be forwarding your kind words to Tom. We are glad you came to visit and hope that your next stay is in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,808 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing