We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
naples
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A very interesting classic hotel. With elaborate ballrooms and chandeliers and a cool lobby bar. The rooms are comfortable, clean and functional. The morning coffee in the lobby was poorly presented but other than that a nice experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed our historic hotel’s ballrooms and lobby. We especially appreciate your compliments regarding our chandeliers because we polish each one by hand frequently! We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    634
    222
    91
    51
See reviews for
333
775
108
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
667 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The good:
Spacious rooms with updated décor, comfortable bed and pillows, quiet and efficient air conditioning, in-room safe with easy access, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, good food, nice lobby and bar with live music, convenient access to excellent shopping, nice meeting rooms with comfortable temperature and seating, helpful concierge, friendly and efficient front desk staff and wine tasting on weekend.
The bad:
Tiny bath, insufficient lighting, worn furniture, inadequate closet, cleaning service that was very late every day except the day of departure – when they continuously attempted to clean before check out time, large number of homeless in the area detracted.

Would you return? Maybe

Room Tip: Higher floors on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We appreciate your comments and apologize for the many issues you encountered. We will share your review with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you for your valuable input and we hope you return so we may have the opportunity to restore your confidence in The Benson Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The people at this hotel make it really good :) They are friendly, helpful, professional and just all around great! We didn't run in to one employee that wasn't really nice!
The lobby is fun and lively and the location of the hotel is really good!
The room service breakfast was yummy and didn't take long to get after we ordered it.
The size of our suite was huge and it had lots of windows making it nice and bright. It was a corner so we liked that. Unfortunately our view was of a wall of the next building and the roof of another building :( Im guessing the suite across the hall from us had a nice view of broadway.
The room its self was a little shabby, and had a little musty smell. The hallways did too. I know this hotel is old and that's part of the charm but its time for a face lift :) Ive been to many hotels much older that do a great job with keeping the charm but not the smell. There was long dark hair in our shower (we both have blonde hair). And it was noisy from the street below and we were on the sixth floor. It was really affordable so that is a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyD1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I arrived in the afternoon to find no self parking,ok I get that, downtown Portland but I was told valet parking only $31.00 per day, "wow" pretty stiff but what can I do now,just try to let it go.
The property was very Historic and well kept,the conference was great,my Wife and I asked for our car to be brought up,it took about 20--30 mins..When I arrived back in Florida they E-Mailed me to do a survey and told me they give free parking with booking between August 1st and November 9th that was disappointing to know I paid $31.00 I called for a detailed breakdown of my bill,they E-mailed it to me it had dropped to $25.00 per day better but I am waiting for a full refund of $150.00.Ray in Fl.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights for a conference. Staff very friendly. Bed very comfortable. Room rather large. Building is old. Bathroom is tiny. But wow it is SO NOISY. Constant noise starting at about 5am from trucks dumping glass or something into machines outside my 5th floor window. I seriously feel like I'm trying to sleep in a recycling plant.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanLLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The place itself is incredibly beautiful historic site. restoration and upkeep has been excellent and yet the rates are competitive. The Benson is a great place to come home to from the easy walking to great restaurants and brewpub and Powells bookstore.

Room Tip: From another wise reviewer we had selected above the 3rd floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MReady2Go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of Portland downtown within walking distance of great restaurants and shopping.
The lobby harkens back to an earlier era and boasts wonderful architectural detail and wood paneling with elegant furnishings.
The rooms are comfortable and must have been renovated not too long ago.
Bathrooms are tiny and a little tired.
The closet in the room is very small and poorly designed in order to accommodate a safe.
It is a busy hotel with lots of comings and goings and once more in need of refreshing.
Staff are friendly and efficient and despite my less than positive observations I would stay here again.
We enjoyed an elegant breakfast in the lobby lounge - beautiful presentation of continental deluxe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plain-jainTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing