We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but horrible toilet paper”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but horrible toilet paper”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There is so much to love about the Benson Hotel in Portland. The location is fantastic and the staff very helpful. The public rooms are beautifully done with lovely wood and light fixtures.
But really....they have the thinnest, cheapest toilet paper imaginable. I think for $200 a night they could provide something better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesofChevyChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your kind words and will pass along your concerns to our housekeeping staff. We hope to see you on your next trip to Portland. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    648
    228
    96
    53
See reviews for
349
807
110
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

You'll find the historic Benson Hotel in great location in downtown Portland: within easy walking distance of Pioneer Square, The Pearl District, Museums, Old Town, and the Schnitzer Concert Hall. But when you enter the grand lobby, you will realize why generations of people continue to return to this elegant building.

You'll discover that the lobby bar is often filled with people enjoying the atmosphere and jazz on weekends. But take time to note the stained glass windows and the rich dark woods surrounding you. You will also discover that the initials OH engraved into your room door because the hotel was originally named the "New Oregon Hotel" when it was built. The hallways and the rooms are illuminated by crystal light fixtures.

We were given a upgrade into a spacious room with a large sitting area. The room colors are muted beige and browns which make the space seem darker but tranquil. Our bed was firm and comfortable and we appreciated the six pillows. Our room was "ADA" compatible and we found that water pressure coming out of the shower was extraordinarily weak. I don't know if other rooms share this problem.

Valet parking is $31 per night and there is free wireless internet. Helpful and friendly staff. The very expensive "El Gaucho" steak restaurant is located on the first floor. Great for running into visiting basketball players or if you want to impress a client.

Room Tip: There is less traffic noise if your room is on the north or south side of the building. The east si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found our accommodations exceptional. Your kind words will be shared with our staff. We hope you will stay in touch with us on Facebook and look forward to the next time you are in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Benson is still a good example of old Portland charm. The property is still maintained and, depending on days and dates of your stay, can still be considered a good value. It can be overpriced on weekends given the overall nature of the hotel. I don't think the restaurant was in operation which is a downside. Using part of the bar area for breakfast isn't appealing. However, the kitchen is still on top of it's game evidenced by a notable breakfast room service. Parking continues to be the downside. Even though their is a garage across the street, it's not the best facility around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the charm of our hotel during your stay. We also thank you for your constructive criticisms and we will pass along your concerns to our support staff. We hope you will consider our hotel for any future stays in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I came to the Benson with my boyfriend as a weekend getaway from Los Angeles and this hotel couldnt be more perfect. The location was amazing, all of the "hot spots" of Portland are in walking distance, from Powells Books to Voodo Doughnuts to Pioneer Square. The Max light rail public transportation system was also super convenient to the hotel, only a few blocks away, and we got to/from the airport without a hitch. The room was small, but the bed was extremely comfortable after a long day of sightseeing. The in-room fridge was also very handy. I am travel agent and i would happily recommend this property to any of my clients!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words about your stay at our hotel and will pass along your compliments to our staff. Thank you for the great recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Small room, nicely appointed, in a good location with nice staff - but quite expensive for the small space. The lobby is the hotel's best feaure by far. The beds were comfortable but the whole room was crowded with furniture - just not a lot of square footage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

As anybody knows, a wedding creates many diverse issues. Everyone wants the perfect event. We had the usual mishaps that you encounter when traveling. The Benson hotel staff was prepared and happy to help with each incident. They went above and beyond what we have experienced in so many other places. We highly recommend the Benson for any event!

Room Tip: They have a variety. Explain you need extra seating if you intend to entertain. The Bridal suite w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegpieWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We chose to stay at the Benson Hotel for our 25th Wedding Anniversary because of its reputation. The building is spectacular. The bed was very comfortable, nice linens. Products available nice. We could have chosen to have a refrigerator or microwave on request and opted not to; but used the coffee maker to make tea. Spacious room on the 8th Floor. Windows open, and the air was very cool and fresh. Room temperature very comfortable; never stuffy nor too cold. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Portland. Walked everywhere. Lots to do. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the 8th floor. Although we stopped on the 7th, and it seemed fine as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaCNH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,808 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,483 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing