We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm but dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Old world charm but dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

While I like the ambiance of an old world luxury, it seems the place is ...well.... old..
The rooms are cosy/quaint (small) and the water pipes make a bit of a racket, as do the garbage collectors down in the street. Most hotels have upgraded their windows to double pane glass, but this one retains the old world charm of hearing everything that goes on down in the street, and down the hall... and in the water pipes.
Don't get me wrong, this was really a good experience overall and I would definitely return for the special old world style and totally relaxing environment.
Whatever you do, you must try the halibut at the bar... get the NW sampler which has a smaller, more tender and very delicious piece of battered and fried Halibut... much better than the large chunk from the entree. I tried both, and then ordered 3 pieces of the appetizer by themselves, there was such a difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We appreciate your candid comments as they help us continue to update our historic property to ensure guests are comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    562
    203
    86
    44
See reviews for
281
665
96
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Only stayed for one night, but was very impressed and satisfied. Beautiful hotel, great location. Nice friendly helpful staff. It is in a great location and accommodated this Seattle girls girl's weekend. Our train left at 2 and extending check-out by one hour was not an issue. Thank you team Benson!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJoyChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our visit to the Benson was our first visit. We had heard about its reputation and expected to arrive at a first class hotel but we had no idea that we were going to have probably the best hotel stay experience we ever had. We have stayed in lots of beautiful hotels before, even five star but we never experienced a more friendly and helpful staff. The history, the gorgeous Walnut walls and columns, the Italian Marble, the beautiful bar and excellent breakfast buffet for $15 and generous drinks served in the bar and the more than friendly staff really made our stay the best. We will make the Benson Hotel our first choice in Portland and give it the highest recommendation to our friends.

Dempster Boyd....Puyallup, WA

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagstrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Your review truly made our day. We are extremely pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at The Benson Hotel so much and cannot wait to share your review with our staff! We hope you will stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter, and look forward to seeing you again in the future for another legendary stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The lobby and lounge are very nicely done, service is impeccable. The room was small but clean, the bed was very comfortable. One negative remark is the bathroom, very very small and not efficiently laid out. Towels and linnens were plush are nice however. If you come by car, think about parking in one of the SmartPark places (4th and Alder is the closest) for $5 a weekend day instead of the $32/ night at the Benson. Also, I would skip the brunch at the Benson, go to the Heathman or any of the many many other places around. Everything is in walking distance, no car needed to get around in downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our property. We appreciate your feedback on the guest room and parking and will share that information with our staff. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for choosing The Benson Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

From our check in to check out there was not a detail missed by the staff. Beautiful hotel, great rooms, and convenient location. Suggestions from all of the staff on great restaurants and must-sees were spot on. I would highly recommend this hotel to make your stay in beautiful Portland even better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anuerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for noticing our staff and their attention paid to accommodating our guests. We truly appreciated your review and recommendation to other readers. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent hotel stay. Friendly and accommodating staff, convenient location, decent restaurant on site, amazing architecture/history/decor, and the best hotel bed I've ever slept on! This is the lap of luxury without costing an arm and a leg in the process. After many years of experience, the Benson Hotel knows how to treat their customers.

Room Tip: If you can manage a Junior Suite or one of the corner executive king rooms, you'd be impressed e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLeigh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at The Benson Hotel. We are pleased to read you found our staff friendly and accommodating, location ideal, restaurant enjoyable and property comfortable! We truly appreciated your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hello, Just this past weekend I stayed at the Benson. It was such a beautiful building. Great furniture, great moldings. 100 year old building with lots and lots of class. BUT , BUT what will bring you back again and again is the STAFF. From Linda who checked us in and Cordell who handled the bags and got us safely to our rooms. They were friendly and sweet. Also when you come make sure you stop by the Palm Court and have a little drinkie you will the staff there also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#14 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing