We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for a week on business. Lobby is gorgeous, and good location for downtown. Could use some updating in the rooms, but all in all very nice and well maintained. Staff is very friendly and helpful, particularly in the bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    620
    219
    90
    51
See reviews for
323
750
105
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was at the Benson for a conference in January. My room was great - not large but very comfortable. At first I thought the bed was going to be too hard. There wasn't much 'give' to it when I sat on it. However, I had one of the best sleeps ever in a hotel. No hallway noise, no noise from neighbours at all. Conference food was quite good too, although there was not much in the way of signage at each dish on the buffet. There was a master list of items at the start of the buffet line, on a paper that had a pattern printed on it (in short, couldn't make out what was printed and would not have memorized it anyway). The overall look of the building was fantastic, and the staff was terrific, from check in to conference to check out. The concierge staff was great too - a little more casual than I'd have thought but they did fit in with the feel of Portland.

I'd be back in a heart beat !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaybound1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked the Benson on-line for an overnight stay, not knowing anything about Portland and a little hesitant. What a pleasant surprise.

Great downtown location, fantastic lobby, comfortable rooms, and excellent service from well-trained staff (especially the concierge) who obviously enjoyed their jobs and each other. A gold fish bowl was delivered to our room to sit beside our son's rollaway. He was delighted. And when he left behind his teddy bear, the hotel organised for it's prompt delivery to San Fran a couple of days later.

The Benson has a great 1920s feel about it. The rooms are a little dated, the bathrooms are not large, the elevators can be slow. But it is great value and the staff make the place. We'd heartily recommend it. And from our brief visit, Portland seems a cool town. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your stay. We are thrilled your son enjoyed the goldfish delivery, and later delivery of his teddy bear! We appreciated you choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

What can I say that has not already been said. This is a gem. A jewel that sparkles in the Portland sunshine... (if there was any sunshine in Portland!!!) The location is perfect to explore Old Town. The room was comfortable, clean and very well appointed. When we checked in the service was prompt, and efficient. Upon entering our room I noticed it was on the back side of the hotel and as such, had a brick wall as our view. One phone call to the front desk and we had a new room within seconds. They radioed the porter to divert our bags to a different room... a perfect room. No questions asked. The King bed was a Tempur-Pedic mattress so the sleep was terrific. Overall, the level of service in the hotel is 4 Diamond worthy. I can not find fault with the hotel. The only minor annoyance was that Valet parking was $31 dollars a day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our location and service. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your requests. We look forward to showing you another restful night of sleep on our Tempur-Pedic mattresses again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The lobby is amazing; large, warm and comfortable. The room are well furnished, roomy, clean and comfortable. Everyone we dealt with around the hotel was friendly and helpful. We felt appreciated and welcome. It is also well located, within walking distance of many eateries and transportation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgkfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband, Step-daughter and I traveled to Portland by train from Seattle at the tail end of our Spring Break trip. We booked the Benson Hotel through travelportland.com and not only got a great price, but had free continental breakfast & valet parking included! It was a steal at $131/night for a double queen room.

Upon arrival, we were impressed with the beautiful decor of the lobby. It felt very old world classic and was a great first impression! The staff was extremely accomodating throughout our entire trip. Our room was facing Broadway so we had a city view - we weren't bothered by any street noise (maybe because we were travel weary?) and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms feel like they may need some updating - one reviewer said they looked "tired" which is a good description. But, all of the basics were there and the beds comfy so that is what matters! This hotel is within walking distance to the riverfront and downtown areas. It is in a great location!

The hotel restaurant & bar had excellent service - on our last evening there, our daughter fell sick and stayed in the room with room service while my husband and I grabbed dinner downstairs. The staff noticed that she was missing and brought tea with honey to bring to her. It was extremely thoughtful! The bartender, Jonah, was fantastic - you have to have a Spanish coffee made by him (but maybe not right before bed!) they are excellent. The food was outstanding as well - one thing we noticed was that a lot of locals stopped in the bar for food and drinks, which is always a good sign.

The hotel offers a delicious breakfast buffet (and the continental breakfast, which has various breads/pastries, cold cereal, fruit and oatmeal); my husband ordered an eggs benedict one morning and raved.

All in all, this hotel is a find - great location, great service, great value! Might be better for couples or business travel, since there is not a pool or kids activities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors would have the best views; if you want to look out at downtown, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolovesZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Benson Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the aesthetic of our hotel and our convenient downtown location. We are pleased you enjoyed The Palm Court service and hope our tea delivery helped ease your step-daughter's symptoms. We truly appreciated your review and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Accessible and lovely lobby. Warm and friendly greeting by staff. Ninth floor room was just fine; comfortable, quiet. Drinks in the lobby before dinner were well served and friendly. Concierge desk helped find a a restaurant. Little Bird around the corner was perfect choice for us. I had an after dinner drink solo and the bar staff remembered me and served me quickly with a wine of their choice. All well done. Chosen part owing to easy walk from AMTRAK's Union Station.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jasonxreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing