We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location for our Weekend Music Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Goldendale, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location for our Weekend Music Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel was a great location to walk to all the events we had planned for the weekend. Room seemed a little small but overall it was a plesant stay. We were able to walk to The crystal ball room and to China town and to old town very easily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review about your recent stay at The Benson Hotel. We are pleased to read you found our location convenient and hope you had a comfortable stay. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    620
    219
    90
    51
See reviews for
323
750
105
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Classic hotel with uniformed staff, updated amenities and magnificent charm. Celebrating 100 years of service this is a gem we stumbled upon for our last night in the Pacific Northwest. This is the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: Use an online service to book at a reduced rate and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent an overnight in Portland to celebrate my birthday, using the great Travel Portland online deals. Chose the Benson Hotel for it's central location (easy walk to all the downtown & Pearl District locations), comfort, and reasonable price. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make it a special birthday stay. The concierge got us into a top rated fully booked restaurant, they gave us a comfy & quiet room with all the necessities, the continental breakfast was delicious and ample, valet parking in & out a breeze. Will definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel with an amazing lobby. It is good to see hotels still offer the old fashioned customer service that the Benson offers - doormen, assistance with luggage and front desk staff that are very friendly. Rooms are great although a bit noisy on street side. Although I didn't hear anything, my daughter says she awoke during the night to a little boy yelling - she claims the hotel is haunted. Interesting, I did not experience anything like that. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickLee0288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Next time back in Portland, we're coming back!

At every opportunity, the staff were wonderful, over the top, friendly, helpful, amazing - even when they didnt have to be - Every single "touch" with the hotel staff was warm, friendly, wonderful

This is a great, old style place to stay - and it is RIGHT in the middle of it all

We put ourselves in the staffs hands, from where to eat at the food cart area, to where to go for drinks, party, and a great James Beard awarded restaurant - we're coming back - for sure!

Room Tip: travelportland.com has a package where you get free valet parking, breakfast in the morning, and a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monopolyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are very pleased to read your comments; thank you for choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel. We look forward to sharing your compliments with our staff and seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The best staff we have ever had at a hotel. Warm, genuine, helpful, responsive. Beautiful woodwork in the lobby. The most comfortable bed we've ever had in a hotel! The Palm Court breakfast buffet was the best we have in many years and the staff there was as accomdating and responsive as the staff in the hotel. The only negatives were the bathroom, which was small but functional, and occasional noise from boisterous revelers in the street outside the hotel. Well-located facility near the heart of downtown. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and we expect to return again someday.

Room Tip: Ask for a King Suite in a corner location in order to get a large room with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel! We are pleased you found our staff helpful and hotel comfortable, along with our location convenient. We appreciated your recommendation to others and are looking forward to seeing you during your next trip to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this historic beautiful hotel. The lobby takes you back to a more genteel era where you can enjoy rich wood paneling, a grand fireplace and a jazz pianist. The staff, particularly the day manager Linda, was terrific. will definitely return and would recommend the Benson to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for providing a review about your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our hotel and appreciated your comments about Linda. Thank you for your recommendation to other travelers; we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing