We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, with good service”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stay at the Benson when in Portland for business, and it always provides what I need : super comfortable beds, spacious clean rooms, peace and quiet, and great service in a prime location. Highly recommend it.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank gftb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and recommendation to others to visit The Benson Hotel. We are pleased to read you continue to enjoy your stays with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,722 - 1,728 of 2,349 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our first time visiting Portland. We loved staying at the Benson. The room was clean and very comfortable. This hotel is very classy and the staff was fabulous. The concierge gave us great advice on places to visit and provided a map along with helpful tips on the best things to see while in Portland.Great location within walking distance of everything! Don't miss El Gaucho for dinner! Fantastic food!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my second stay at the Benson, and there is a reason I chose this hotel a second time. This is a beautiful hotel with top of the line service, extremely comfortable rooms, and all at a very reasonable price. The food and beverage selection and service is also noteworthy. Unless this hotel is booked in the future, it will continue to be my number one choice for accomodations in Portland. Also, they are dog friendly, so overall they satisfy all of my requirements. I can't wait for my next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you appreciate historical buildings, this one is a gem. 100 years old this year. Te craftsmanship, moldings and finished ceiling are fabulous. The staff is professional and accommodating. The hotel sits in a perfect downtown location within walking distance to anything you need. The lobby bar/restaurant was alittle small and average, food and service were good, but this hotel should have a full service restaurant. There are dozens of restaurants within walking distance...so, that is convenient. The rooms are large and decorated in the time period. My room was clean and fresh. I will stay there again. Loved my experience there.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank OCTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wow! The Benson is a phenomenal hotel and an even more phenomenal value. I can't believe it's not packed out every night--by locals! The staff, the location, the room, the ambience, the breakfast---all incredible. We stayed the first night we arrived in Oregon (on our way to a 6 day Oregon coast excursion) and we will stay at The Benson our last night before flying back to Tulsa. In fact, since we've fallen in love with Oregon and it's friendly people (hey, Okies are supposed to be the most friendly folks around---who knew!), we will most definitely make a yearly trek to this beautiful state. And The Benson will most definitely be our go-to place for lodging in Portland!
Bobby Wong serving breakfast is a hoot to boot!

Room Tip: We got a wonderful, complimentary upgrade (my wife's birthday--very thoughtful) to a Junior Suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19jonesey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked the Benson Hotel full of anticipation!! We were staying at a lovely vintage hotel while on a long weekend in Portland. We were moved from a standard room to a junior suite & we enjoyed room service our first evening & the next AM for breakfast. Our second night, when we got back to our room, the room had not been cleaned; there were no fresh towels, the bed was unmade & the dishes from our breakfast were still in the room. We called the front desk asking for housekeeping & we were advised that the housekeeper had "gone home for the evening". There was only front desk help- no management was on site or available.The front desk then called us back, advising us that we could be moved to a lower floor that had a "roll away" shower. We were told that housekeeping only worked during the day for specific hours and then the hotel had no housekeeping after 10 PM. The one person that was on staff for evenings "went home for the day" according to the front desk.

Our room was apparently missed by housekeeping during the day. As far as "turning down" our bedding in the European style that the Benson Hotel totes, it is simply not true. We called the Westin Hotel at midnight and they immediately made room for us, provided us with a view room and they had impeccable service and housekeeping. At 1 AM, we finally settled into a clean room, accompanied by robes and extra towels at the Westin. We were not offered a comp of any sort for our inconvenience and I have yet to be called by the manager at the Benson Hotel. It was such a disappointment- and so easily avoided had the hotel operated in the fashion we expected and deserved. Had we known that the hotel was understaffed, so much would have been avoided. It was an unfortunate experience and I will keep you posted if management contacts us- certainly they should!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Collin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Benson Hotel during your weekend in Portland! We are thankful that in addition to this review, you spoke directly with us regarding your stay. We were very appreciative of your candid comments and believe that we were able to address your frustration and concerns. As discussed, with another visit, we hope you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our property and show you the level of service and hospitality for which we are known, worldwide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has so much potential to be a gem, unfortunately it needs a complete overhaul! It is filthy, dirty beyond words! Hair everywhere, on the sheets, floor, bathroom ceiling! It's ridiculous. There is no way the rooms are being inspected after they are cleaned. The food is so horrible, everything tastes like a dirty kitchen. The service staff does try, and they apologize for things like unedible food, but it is clear they have been properly trained and given the tools to handle such issues. Luckily there are many other hotel options in Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 333CMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We are disappointed to read your comments and assure you that your experience is not reflective of a typical stay at The Benson, nor is it indicative of the quality of the food we offer in our restaurant. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and hope you will return in the future for a much more typical and comfortable experience at The Benson Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 146 in Portland
2,251 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 146 in Portland
1,460 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $174 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing