We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful backdrop to visit family”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I usually stay in chain hotels, but for a few dollars more this was a delighful experience.
I had arrived prior to the usual 4pm check in time. The desk was flexible and said they would call me when a room was ready. The concierge relieved me of my bags so I could go to lunch. I stepped out to eat at Portlands iconic food carts. Soon the desk called with a room. The Benson is a great hub from which to explore Portland. Nice to be surrounded by elegance and an attentive staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

I grew up in Portland, but never stayed at the Benson. Now, at age 65, I finally had the opportunity to stay there for the first time, and gladly took it! It was everything I had thought it would be for all those years. It is what a fine hotel should be. Elegant grace combined with a first rate staff, and you have the makings of a wonderful experience. The room was large, the bed, very comofrtable, and the small amenities, plentiful. Thank you, Benon, for a wonderful stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We booked The Benson for one night of our 3 day mini-honeymoon to Portland. The staff was very friendly and the concierge upgraded our room for free upon finding out we had just recently gotten married. The room was clean and spacious. The location was perfect and was within walking/transit distance to everything we wanted to check out. It would have been nice to stay another day but we had booked another hotel on the other side of the river (my new sister-in-law works for Marriott). Upon check-out they held our bags until we could check in at our next destination. A great experience overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tragic_robot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very friendly and efficient staff. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. A nice surprise in the bathroom was full size shampoo and conditioner to use. The bed had lots of pillows and a fluffy comforter. They also provided a wonderful road and slippers.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisagate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I am spending a weekend at the Benson. I usually prefer W-type hotels to grand dames, but I am staying here with a group of colleagues. The lobby is old world elegant and inviting at the same time. I requested a very quiet room, and in my tenth floor room overlooking a wall I can hear my heart beat. The bed is VERY comfortable. I would prefer brighter lighting in the room, but that is my only complaint. Powells and VooDoo donuts are close by.

Room Tip: I believe that the rooms with the best views (this is Portland and you won't see anything anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soccer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I live in Eugene and my daughter lives in Seattle, so we decided to meet in PDX to do some shopping and visit. The Benson is in a great location if you are interested in being downtown. Powell's Bookstore is a couple blocks away, as well as some great places to eat. The service at The Benson was top-notch. The room was clean and comfortable. Parking is a nuisance;there is a lot just south of the hotel that was reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This place was awesome. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great place to stay. The hotel was within walking distance to everything one would like to seen in Portland. Great deal on breakfast and the food was as it should be. Delicious!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Kylehamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $172 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing