We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehhh, just okay.”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you are going for an old-feeling hotel... And the hotel should actually look old... Then this is your place. Rough around the edges, elevators don't work that well, and just... Not worth the money honestly. You could pay half the price and get much newer and better quality nearby. But, if you want the 1920s feel, go for it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank matthewkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We’re disappointed to read you were not fully satisfied with your stay. We strive to keep our hotel in excellent condition, while preserving its historic architecture and culture. We hope to see you again in the future for a more enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,694 - 1,700 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Every time I go to the Benson I get nothing but the best service with eager and happy employees always going out of there way to help me and make my visit so special. From complimentary bottles of Champagne in the Presidents suit to an amazing swan of towels I look forward to seeing on all my visits. Great accommodations always first class have me feeling like a true VIP! I <3 you Benson from your outstanding staff, food, rooms, and all around amazing service. 5 stars every time!

Room Tip: President's Suite is always nice but any rooms or suites available and you will not be disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyVipGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Lovely old hotel with great location in Portland. The lobby was very elegant but we did not get the welcome as we did in Seattle. I think the pet friendly aspect wasn't sincere compared to the Vintage Hotel in Seattle which was awesome and very welcoming to our little dog, actually greeting us with treats compared to this hotel who made us feel like they were inconvenienced. Nevertheless, it is still a very nice place to stay. My worse experience was getting overcharged and having to call to get it fixed but they admitted their mistake and took care of it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamiruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I loved this place...stayed for 9 days. Such a great place to be in the MIDDLE of Portland. Especially liked the TAPROOM just stumbling distance on the block!!!

Super vintage lobby.

Staff= amazingly helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevintasmania27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Benson Hotel has a beautiful lobby. Employees were attentive. The room was ok but long and narrow. Breakfast at the lobby was very good. The concierge was very friendly (Mike, if memory does not fail) and helped us a couple of times. Location is excellent. Walking distance to all of downtown areas.

Room Tip: A higher floor to limit downtown's traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEOJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Portland. Although a little on the upper-end of mid range, it makes a good base for nearby Portland business or short stays for the business traveller or couples weekend getaway. Free internet, in-room wall safe, good work desk, large well-appointed rooms, good bathroom lighting, standard showers with oversized curtains. Slight negatives: slow-elevators, and very basic gym.

But the Benson delivers on all fronts for charm, style, cleanliness, location, ambience, service, friendliness, cuisine. Right downtown, it is walking distance from great restaurants and shopping. Beautifully restored, the lobby oozes a special charm with huge ornate wooden columns and a grand staircase that makes you feel like you're in one of those "grand hotels" from the Great Age of Travel. The breakfast buffet was an excellent value.

One little indicator I think says a lot about a hotel is the coffee provided in the rooms. Generic brown bags of "100% coffee" or real quality coffee? Seattle's own Appassionato coffee was the brand featured here. The rest of the quality and class of this hotel was sure to follow. Although on business, I would plan to come back for a weekend with my wife to this hotel. Great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMak54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron G, General Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your compliments about our hotel. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated you noticing our attention to details, such as our Appassionato coffee in our guestrooms. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Location, location, location! The Benson has got that down as well as the old world charm and gracious customer service. The lobby is stunning. Gleaming wood paneling and sumptuous seating for small talk and beverage enjoyment throughout. If that is enough for you, then you found your home away from home in Portland.

Where the Benson stumbles is in the rooms themselves. They are nice and neatly appointed but small for today's standards and they truly need a facelift. Especially the bathrooms. The bathrooms are tiny...teeny tiny. And with pedestal sinks, they lack much needed counter space. If that is a concern, there are other hotels within walking distance that are a spacious and similarly nice. One other reality, the hotel is not quiet. Aside from normal street noise, our room on the fifth floor was near the doored stairwell and we waken often during the night by sound of the door slamming shut.

Standouts at the Benson are the evening wine reception and the excellent room service. Customer service is excellent too as our complaint about the stairwell was handled to our satisfaction and they were very apologetic.

If it's a Portland vibe you are after, this is a good place to begin your search.

Room Tip: Maybe... avoid being place close to the stairwell to lessen noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank totallye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,838 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $172 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing