We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, but nice and good location.”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Old hotel, but nice and good location.”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Benson is a bit too old world for my taste, but you can often get great last minute deals on rooms, and it's location near the Pearl District (shopping!) is a big plus.

The restaurant is in the basement (no windows). Eat somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,043
    625
    221
    90
    51
See reviews for
329
759
107
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! Our four night stay at the Benson was most agreeable. Lovely spacious room, beautiful lobby area, first rate and friendly service, good value tapas in the bar. The Concierge is an excellent source of information, and the breakfasts were efficient and deliciously wholesome. Situation within Downtown is good.
We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Do ensure you ask for a room with a Tempurpedic bed if you feel you wish to try this sort of mattres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrandmrs111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed one night in a Jr king Suite. The room had the old world charm to it and views from the tenth floor were superb. We stayed overnight here after a wedding reception and dinner. The parties were in the lobby and the Crystal ballroom - both beautiful spots. The rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. The closet was seriously small and the bathroom was not large at all. The service staff were pleasant and very helpful whenever we asked for anything. The

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jag_Juneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Benson Hotel offers a delightful experience in downtown Portland, provided you have the right room. Like many older hotels, room sizes vary sharply (as you can see from other TripAdvisor reviews). The Benson has a beautiful lobby, a very good restaurant (London Grill), and the sort of staff that hotel managers (and guests) dream about. Every person on staff was helpful, pleasant, and thoroughly professional. When I had a billing problem (almost certainly a mistake made by the Coastal Hotels 800 number site), they dealt with it expeditiously and fairly. Due to the mix-up, I had a nicer room (#334) than I was supposed to get: it was a "junior suite", with a king bed and a large sitting area (couch, two chairs, working desk). The bathroom was only ok, but nothing wrong with it; the tv was enormous, up-to-date, with perhaps too limited a range of channels (I'm spoiled here in the DC area). All rooms come with free wireless: take that Hilton, Accor, et alia! My room did not have any noise problems, except for the 2 am helicopter assault on the Occupy Portland campers - and, no, I am not kidding, it really did make enough noise to wake me up.

On the down side, the "health club/fitness room" is little more than a few bikes and a treadmill; however, nearby you can find several health clubs with a full range of machines. Those used to the sort of useless luxuries (say, a tv in the bathroom) often available at the high end chains might not like the Benson as much, but those seeking a hotel with personality and charm will be happy (in the right room).

We had a large dinner party at the London Grill: the food was very good; the wine selection broad; the service impeccable. When the wine we ordered proved to be unavailable, the wine steward offered us a more expensive bottle for the price of the one we ordered: very nice touch, one typical of the Benson. I shared a well-prepared "Spanish-style risotto" (think paella with a bit of broth), in which the various shellfish had all been done to a proper texture, a feat that usually escapes most restaurants. The Oregon Pinor Noir pleased us all (12), eating a wide range of foods.

Nearby, you can have coffee and an excellent croissant at the Pearl Bakery or dinner at Little Bird (those coming from the East Coast will be glad to know that Little Bird, which is a 5-minute walk away, serves until midnight, and even has a discount on some items after 10 pm). If you have the time, head up to the Portland Art Museum, well worth the walk. If you are flying in, you can get within a short walk of the Benson by taking the train to Pioneer Square ($2.40), a lot cheaper than a taxi ($40 or so). The train ride takes about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bayarddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Benson is in the perfect location right between the Pearl district and downtown where all the shopping is. We basically walked everywhere and I can't express how much central the hotel is. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side, but very clean and the bed quite comfortable.
It was quite busy on the weekend we stayed there due to a conference so it was a bit crowded and noisy but overall our experience was great. The service was excellent and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
265 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

The Benson has been around forever and is the most traditional "luxury" Hotel in Portland.

The small lobby is ornate and the entire vibe is Old School.

The location can't be beat and the service is very good.

This is a very well managed property, the GM personally dealt with an issue we had.

Bathrooms are small and could use an update. The whole property could benefit from extensive (and expensive) refurbishment.

There is a not a true 5 star hotel in Portland.

With $50 million or so the Benson could easily fill that void.

Given the very reasonable pricing, I would have to say that this would be my first choice for lodging in PDX.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Simply the best ... Only concern would be the street noise but if that is a real problem then just choose your room on the higher floors.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing