We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We shall return!”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“We shall return!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Benson Hotel is a lovely, elegant, comfortable hotel in an excellent location of Downtown Portland. The rooms were so beautiful. Decorated lovely! The hotel was spotless. The hotel was very classy. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and spent the weekend at the Benson. Had a junior suite which was very spacious and gorgeous. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The concierge made some excellent recommendations for restaurants. The Benson was three short blocks to Pioneer Square and not too far from the Pearl District.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane32724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    634
    223
    91
    51
See reviews for
333
777
108
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Very nice old school hotel feel in the lobby and lounge area. The rooms are a bit small and furniture and fixtures are a little dated, but not worn or dirty. I would stay here again. Great downtown location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmntgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Location is great. Right in the heart of downtown. Restaurant is beautiful and the food is excellent. Very easy to get a cab if needed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rb44chinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I reserved this trip through a reservation site that only shows the properties after you book. I wonder if the fact that I used a reservation service that offered a great room deal influenced the quality of the room I was given. I specified a "4 star and above" and was excited when I learned that my reservation was at what was supposed to be a really nice hotel.

Instead of a king bed as requested, I received two queens in a very outdated, dimly lit, sparsely furnished room that smelled of mold. The door had gauges in it, the hangers in the closet were torn (the fabric hangers), there was no hallway light, and the outside noise was loud - the TV couldn't cover it. The hallway to the room looked like a hallway from a run down apartment building - dingy, run down and poorly lit.

I arrived after a long day and called room service to order dinner. There was no answer, and eventually, the hotel operator picked up the phone. She advised me that she'd have Room Service call me back - and what seemed to be the lone Room Service employee (?) indeed did call me back. When the food arrived, there was not even a glass of water served with the tray. The plate of food (steak sandwich and salad) was OK, nothing special. I also ordered a "Jumbo Shrimp Cocktail". What I received was a cup of salad shrimp that smelled fishy and were mushy (for the bargain price of $15). I did not eat any of it. I do hope the staff checks the trays that are set outside the rooms...

Oh! One plus: they offer free in-room wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmirandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We had a loverly 3 night stay at the Benson. The live jazz in the lobby lounge added to the very enjoyable atmosphere. Our room was a nice size, very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great and we walked nearly everywhere we wanted to go. Watch for the monthly fixed price special in the restaurant - we had an excellent meal at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

A group of us girls got 2 adjoining rooms for a girls night out on the town. The Benson was in a central location to the places we wanted to go to. And the doorman was very helpful with our bags and made sure we all had umbrellas when we headed out for the night. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. It was the perfect place to stay for a night out on the town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaShaSx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We got the Benson for $100/nt for 2 nights on Priceline. After reading reviews, I was a little sad we didn't get a "better" hotel. But, after staying at the Benson, I was happy with our win.

Pros:
Location - it was close to everything we wanted to see/do
The staff - everyone we interacted with was pleasant and very helpful
The lobby - gorgeous
Wifi - FREE!
The Tempur-pedic beds - we didn't know if we were going to like them or not, but we ended up loving the bed.

Cons:
The rooms - could use some updating and I would LOVE if every hotel bathroom had a fan.
The hallway - smelled a little musty, but no smell in the room
Noise - heard some street noise, but it quieted down early so it didn't bother BUT we could hear everything that went on in the hallway. I was woken at 3 am by some slamming doors (so loud that it sounded like our door!) so that sucked.

Overall, the Benson is a solid choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwolfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 141 in Portland
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#10 of 141 in Portland
1,378 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing