We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fresh food

Open early morning in Saturday, till 2 pm, Its very nice and many farmers booth, all varieties of... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
khalid4kac
,
Hawalli, Kuwait
via mobile
Great farmers market loads of fresh items to try

Remember to bring your own bags as they are a green market. A lot of food types and countries to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Allansha
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Read all 208 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Portland
from $100.00
More Info
from $149.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
from $139.00
More Info
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
146
38
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
38
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blueberries tamales food market fresh veggies and fruit biscuits and gravy burrito free samples vendors selling food booths street parking psu flowers acapella stalls senses alberta herb
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Open early morning in Saturday, till 2 pm, Its very nice and many farmers booth, all varieties of fresh fruits, vegetables and homemade food, chances to taste samples, all fruits and vegetables are seasonal, no assigned car parking, only street metered parking, but you may park in the University car parking.

Thank khalid4kac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Remember to bring your own bags as they are a green market. A lot of food types and countries to try. The prices are high but so is the quality here. You can have a nice breakfast or stick up for picnics right here in a lovely spot at the university. Lots of choices. And even live music

Thank Allansha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We have some nice farmers markets here in Southern California, the one in Torrance is really nice...even better the one in Hillcrest area of San Diego... but the Portland Farmers Mkts is one of the best. First Portland is a real foodie paradise and this market exemplify this. Any from fresh veggies and fruit to biscuits and gravy to hard liquor and hard cider. This is a must visit if your in PDX.

1  Thank Damon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We were traveling and had absolutely no use for any fresh vegetables or fruits. But I love farmers markets. We went over on Saturday morning, ran into friends from across the country, Ate fresh fruit and burritos for breakfast, And just enjoy the whole experience. It’s under some huge trees on a lovely Street. You can find a bench And do some people watching. Seriously, you’ll think you need to eat better when you get home.... It’s sort of inspiring.

Thank apinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We visited the University of Portland market location on a Saturday. Coming from Fayetteville, AR believe it or not, we have a wonderful farmer's market but there's just nothing to prepare you for the amazing colors and smells and sounds of this market! Oh the flowers! Oh the berries! I loved the little boy playing his keyboard with 1/2 of all donations going to the food bank. So Portland. The Portland acapella adult choir was singing and were terrific!
There were fruits and veg I haven't really seen before! Just go.

3  Thank MarlaS458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

May - November
Sundays 10am-2pm
Unfortunately we were there on a Tuesday!!! Three people had told us to go to the market and we hope to be back some day to walk it and get to try the fresh fruits and vegetables! At least we saw the sign while walking through Alberta. Now on our way back to Vieques, Puerto Rico (home) #planforamiracle

Thank Upekkhapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018 via mobile

Like most other farmers markets in cities, there's more specialty shops than farmers and the prices aren't a bargain. Plenty of food booths and good people watching though. We went to the main one on Saturday morning at Portland State Univ. Had to park 8 blocks away. Bathrooms available in the student union bldg.
The breakfast burrito place was good. Most food booths offer normal (not disposable) plates, cups, utensils that you return when you are done eating. Very green. Bring your own bags! This is Portland! Also, dogs must stay in the perimeter--not allowed in farmers market.

2  Thank PlymouthSatellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018

We love to eat and we love to explore local options when we travel. On our trip to Portland, we decided to spend a Saturday morning at the PSU Farmers Market. We have been to some amazing markets so we came in with high expectations.

First, let me outline all the great positives. There is a large variety of produce and prepared foods, so you don't feel like you keep saying the same options from 20 vendors. We bought blueberries, strawberries, cheese and butter, a baguette from Pearl Bakery (a standout!), Nutella croissants, a pork tamale, a lamb dosa (it was incredible!), Greek salame from Olympia Provisions, Popsicles, fresh brewed coffee, and gin from Townshend's. We also did a wine tasting with a local winery hard a booth there.

Most booths were cash only but I noticed a few customers used wooden tokens so I believe they bought those from the market info booth.

I walked by a very crowded area with live music and limited seatIng. There was free cold water in a giant Gatorade dispenser and stations to leave your trays for specific vendors. I hadn't noticed that earlier so I walked back to each vendor who had given me food on a tray to return my empty tray.

The market is very crowded and more so today due to PSU graduation. There was very limited seating for anyone wishing to eat their snacks (we sat on some steps), very narrow walkways, and lots of oblivious people standing in the middle just spacing outand blocking other pedestrians. Thus, that colored my experience and led me to deduct one star. Other farmers markets we have visited had ample seating for guests (often folding chairs provided by vendors as opposed to assuming customers can seat on the steps or in the limited park benches).

Still, I'm glad we went and explored some great food options.

5  Thank smilesesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018

We enjoyed walking through the park from our hotel to the Farmer's Market. As mentioned, there were lots of tastes and nibbles available from the Vendors. We took some locally brewed beer back to our hotel, as well as some freshly made tortillas to enjoy on our walk. Lovely layout with lots of shade and a wide variety of local fare.

2  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2018

I love Farmers markets and have been to many, but the Saturday Market in Portland near the University is astonishing in its size, quality of produce and foods, and variety of goods sold. I sampled Ethiopian food, home-made sausage, chocolate, apples, fish strawberries, pears, dried cherries, black popcorn, Ashwagandha (herb from India), soups, and much more. The mushrooms, wild foods, exotic produce, hand crafted deserts, wines, preserves, were amazing in their taste, creativity and quality. If you have not taken the time to visit here, you really should make the time.

2  Thank daanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews