We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ashland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We get to Portland 3-4 times a year and after trying many different hotels, have settled on the Nines. This was our sixth stay here and it was a good this time as every time before which is to say, wonderful.

The location, the decor, the comfort of the beds, the amenities and the great staff in addition to Urban Farmer the restaurant in the lobby make this among my favorites in the US. It has a real boutique feeling to it and it has been the same each time we have been here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,642
    653
    245
    108
    63
See reviews for
428
991
127
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed over Thanksgiving and enjoyed everything about The Nines. The location is central for exploring Portland and is convenient to the train (which we took from the airport.) All of the staff we interacted with were friendly, warm and professional. The Happy Hour in the lounge was a fun way to try dishes from the Urban Farmer restaurant. Our room was comfortable and spacious but had only a window overlooking the restaurant. I thought we'd miss being able to look outside but that wasn't the case. The valet parking is expensive but we rented a car for one day only, and were able to pick up and return it within walking distance. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I went to The Nines with 5 girlfriends for a 30th birthday party. The hotel was the perfect spot for our group - elegant, sophisticated, cool and modern, with exceptional service. We got an incredible rate with our friend's government ID (she is a city employee) they were super accomdating about an early check in. The decor is gorgeous and artistic, the staff is courteous and cool. The location is perfect, and close to everything, and the style of the hotel is a nice contrast to the earthiness of Portland. I worked with the concierge before our stay on plans for dinner and nightlife to celebrate the birthday, and Blanch was amazing! She got us a great table for dinner at Departure (on top of the Nines and a fantastic restaurant...with a DJ!), arranged with a bakery for a specialty cake to be delivered to the table, got us VIP passes to a couple of great clubs and even gave us the contact info for the hosts at those clubs to ensure we didn't wait in line! She was amazing, and paramount in my favorable impression of the hotel. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a swanky, fun, cool place to stay in Portland!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLiss324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I travel quite a bit for business and this hotel knows how to take care of you, from the valet that goes the extra mile to fetch a forgotten item from the car, to the front desk that takes an extra few minutes to find you the perfect room, to the restaurants with efficient, friendly wait staff and Fantastic food--this is a first class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isainheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This is an upscale hotel at the most reasonable price. Located in the heart of Portland it is an easy walk to all the current shops and areas. The hotel is super chic, clean and actually downright luxurious. Everything is state of the art and the bathrooms are super large. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awall73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Great location, and great design of the rooms and lobby. It is very hip in a very comfortable and casual kind of way, which is just like the feeling Portland brought me. The room is not that big, especially after all the shopping in Portland! (hello, zero sales tax!)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiaowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Recently, my sisters, mom and I traveled to Portland for our annual "girls weekend". We chose "The Nines" and were very pleased with our stay.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Urban Farmer, the lobby restaurant, was so original and wonderful. We had the "breakfast included" package. What a treat! We even had room service one night because the food was so good.

Do yourself a favor and enjoy The Nines!! I'd bring my husband back without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,367 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#21 of 141 in Portland
903 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing