We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is in fact very Pirtland!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #16 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is in fact very Pirtland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

Great location, and great design of the rooms and lobby. It is very hip in a very comfortable and casual kind of way, which is just like the feeling Portland brought me. The room is not that big, especially after all the shopping in Portland! (hello, zero sales tax!)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiaowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    620
    225
    96
    55
See reviews for
385
928
124
691
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Recently, my sisters, mom and I traveled to Portland for our annual "girls weekend". We chose "The Nines" and were very pleased with our stay.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Urban Farmer, the lobby restaurant, was so original and wonderful. We had the "breakfast included" package. What a treat! We even had room service one night because the food was so good.

Do yourself a favor and enjoy The Nines!! I'd bring my husband back without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Everything was wonderful and I very much enjoyed the design and decor of the hotel. Service was outstanding once you figure out that there isn't any printed information in the room and pick up the phone. It took me a while (and one missed call) to figure out that the phone automatically is answered when you pick it up out of the cradle :). There are no coffee brewers in the room, and a cup of coffee from room service is something like $10-12 because of the $3 surcharge for room service. I called the front desk at 3 am my first night (jet lag), told them I needed coffee that didn't cost $10 a cup and they promptly sent up a coffee brewer for my use. I think these shoulld stay in each room as Portland is, after all, the coffee drinking capital of the US. Also, the bed was comfortable, but the mattress was a bit worn out on the side everyone chooses, near the door and bathroom. It was fine once I moved over to the other side. Flip those mattresses!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Can't disagree with others who call this the best hotel ever. It's fantastic. The modern art in public spaces is stunning. The huge atrium lobby has numerous quiet nooks for conversation, and the Urban Farmer Restaurant is incredible. Lots of nice touches, such as returning to my room to find lights turned down, soft jazz playing, and robe and slippers laid out on the bed. My corporate rate made it no more expensive than than the big brand hotels, but this place is a jewel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

This hotel was perfect! Relaxing atmosphere, comfortable bed, clean, well designed bathroom, soothing jazz on the radio after evening turndown service. The Urban Farmer restaurant was the highlight for us - delicious food, interesting menu, awesome wines and great coffee. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

This place is in the middle of downtown, so we were never far from anything. I don't know if I've ever stayed at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansephreak_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

I LOVE THE NINES! Best stay ever!! The rooms are sooo nice and just overall the hotel is beautiful, they have a super nice bar and departures upstairs is amazing as well you overlook the whole skyline of portland while having a drink:) I will be staying here next time i stay in Portland! The customer service was great too!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstibabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing