We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #27 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 26, 2009

There isn't really anything wrong with the Nines. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. However, the rooms themselves are a little small. The place is amazing trendy and a major hotspot, especially the rooftop bar and restaurant. I would recommend this place for young couples and business travelers. However, if you are in Portland on vacation and want to stay somewhere quiet and relaxing, I would stay elsewhere as the Nines is in the middle of downtown and its hard to get some peace and quiet there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortMason4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,747 - 2,753 of 2,934 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

Stayed her this past weekend, had a Club Level 2 Queen Corner City View Room. The room was nice, no tub, and no way to open the windows for fresh air, but I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - Club Level - to anyone. The corner room was a bit much, probably would do just a club level city view next time, but this is definitely my new hotel in Portland.

Club Level lounge offered wines, beers, regular beverages and food all day - lunch was sparse but the mini-breakfasts and the evening deserts were the best. Hats off to the pastry chef!

The fitness center had to have been one of the best ones I have ever seen. Very high tech and efficient. Each treadmill had it's own tv display and headsets were left out at the front to use if necessary.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJordon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

I stayed at The Nines for 5 nights on a mixed business/leisure trip. I was overall very pleased! The rooms were spacious and beautiful, the bathrooms were large and well appointed. The location is extremely convenient to the new Max Rail. Valet parking is mandatory, but the valet staff were all over-the-top helpful and knowledgeable. They were so helpful in getting me around the rather confusing downtown area! I loved the nightly turndown service. I ordered room service one night and the portions were somewhat small but the food was great!

I had a few minor complaints: the down pillows were fluffy and nice, but WAY too thick to get comfortable on. The shower curtain was a little bit moldy, but the rest of the bathroom was clean. I did not use the window seat, as the pillows on it had some suspicious-looking stains. It did seem that the cleaning staff paid a little less attention to the room/turndown service as each day went on during my stay (yes, I tip!) Lastly, you can REALLY hear the Max Rail at night. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room as far away from it as possible!

I do still highly recommend this hotel and was able to get a great government rate on it. Well worth the $140/night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We are not "trendy" so I was a bit concerned about choosing this hotel. It turned out to be a wonderful choice - the location downtown is fantastic (though parking is by valet so plan on a few extra minutes when you need your car). The hotel itself is modern and unique - from the naked manequins to the overstuffed couches and private lounging areas - but the staff is friendly and approachable. Food and beverages were good and not ridiculously overpriced. Concierge provided solid recommendations on food and area attractions. Rooms were small but "cool".

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HockeyFan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Nines for my birthday and had a great time. We stayed mid week and had a great night. The accomodations were beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The service was excellent, very accomodating. We had happy hour at Departure and it was excellent, food, drink and service was great.

We added the Live life to the Nines package to our room and enjoyed free parking (parking is $32 night which is very steep) and 4pm check out.

The room was very plush yet cozy. It was a great hotel for the price

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

My stay at The Nines was incredible! I loved the room decor, the comfy beds and pillows, and the amenities. The overall interior of the hotel is fabulous. I loved the combination design of modern and vintage. The restaurant was very good as well with delicious food and drinks. There is a club/bar and rooftop deck at the top that is also appealing. Overall, the service was good and my stay was well worth it. I want to stay at the Nines everytime I travel to Portland!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breathedeeply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I travel on business often, so I have acheived the Platinum level in the Starwood program which led to an upgrade to their Club Level. I have enjoyed many Club Levels at other Starwood properties in much larger cities such as Chicago, San Francisco and Seattle and this was by far the best amenities around. The beverage selection was top notch (NW microbrews, regional wines, cocktails, etc,) and the food was amazing. I was able to try many small plates during the evening that featured steak, seafood, chicken and vegetarian options. The continental breakfast was better than most and all food was served professionally as if I were at finely catered party.

The actual property was also great as it really lived up to its Luxury Collection status. Our room was eclectically decorated, the bathroom was finished with high-end materials and the lobby area was nicely appointed. My only knock was we had an interior room with an atrium view, which although it was unique and may be exactly what some folks like, was a shame because Portland is such a beautiful city. All around a great hotel stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPATraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,412 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $203 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing