We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

I recently spent one night at the Nines Hotel in Portland on a business trip. The hotel is cenrally located in Portland. When I arrived my bags were immediately taken and my care valeted. Check in is on the 8th floor. When I checked in I was warmly greeted and was told that I was upgraded to a suite ( room 927).

The service at this hotel was excellent. Staff was very friendly and efficient,

My room was wonderful. It had a very large living room , a large bedroom with king bed and a huge bathroom. The room was very clean. There were two large plasma tvs. The hotel also has complimentary wireless which is nice for business travelers. The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well after my 6 hour flight from New York.

The hotel has a modern fitness facility which is more than adequate.

By the way, parking was $32 for the night, way pricey I thought for Portland. Just an fyi

I honestly wish I could have stayed longer at this hotel. Next time I come to Portland I will definitely stay at The Nines. The hotel was also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPMGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    665
    248
    111
    68
See reviews for
440
1,006
129
749
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

The Nines was amazing. I was truly surprised by how chic & charming the hotel was. The decor was great, the service was great, the amenities & staff were all spot on. There is a rooftop bar overlooking the city, a library w/ a pool table, a trendy restaurant, free internet, a business center, a fully furnished fitness center, & the rooms were just spectacular. I am still in awe at how great my stay was...I'd definitely stay here again if I am ever in Portland again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

This was my first trip to Portland and if I ever return I will certainly be staying at The Nines. It is in the perfect location downtown. The Max train was $2.30 from the airport and stopped right in front of the hotel.
The rooms match the photos on the website exactly and I found the room to be very spacious and modern. The trendy decor reminded me of the style of typical W Hotel rooms. Free wireless internet in the rooms is a nice plus as most Starwood hotels charge for access.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enilk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We checked in late on a Saturday night for a 3-night stay (8/29-9/1). We were able to take advantage of a 3rd night free promotion, so the price was great. Not sure I'd feel the same if we'd paid full price for all 3 nights. And we are Starwood members, so we ended up with a corner room facing west and north out over Pioneer Courthouse Square. I agree with other reviews that interior rooms are probably rather noisy (the hallways definitely are).

We arrived around midnight - during a wedding reception. The street-level entrance was overrun and there were no attendants to welcome hotel guests. We found our way to the hotel lobby (actually on the 8th floor of the building) and had no problems with check-in. Service and staff at The Nines were excellent and we highly recommend the hotel - especially Adam, who went out of his way to offer us the "nice guy chocolate covered strawberries" for our honeymoon stay, and gave us some great ideas for hotels in the other cities we were traveling to. The location is perfect: transportation right outside, close to everything, and great views.

The room was beautiful and the amenities were luxe. The bathroom had a great shower (though no tub) with extra towels and toiletries. We wound up in a room with two queen beds, which was fine - it seems like those rooms tend to be bigger - with a sitting area and a desk.

The lobby and lounge were great: After a day trip to Mount St. Helens we had a drink and used the free wifi while planning our evening. We were sad to miss the Departures lounge though ... All of the reviews say it's a must-see, but it's closed Sunday and Monday, the days/nights we were there. That should really be reconsidered - even if it's only open for afternoon cocktails.

We wound up keeping our rental car for one of the nights we were there, but we passed on the $35 valet parking and used the Smart Park at 3rd and Alder (just down the block).

Overall a fantastic property, an excellent stay, and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holdardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

I wanted to like this hotel after all the hype and the email I received from my concierge prior to my arrival. A nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirenaDives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Every traveller knows that the difference between a good and great hotel is the staff and this hotel still has some places it needs to work on before its a great hotel.

1) As witnessed by their clothing of black suits, the managers/supervisors are by far the weakest point. Arrogant and unsmiling they make you feel sorry for their employees- who, for the most part are friendly and attentive. Come on folks, you are not entitled to be rude because you are wearing a suit.
2) Room service- from the initial call to the delivery was great.
3) As everyone says- DO NOT GET AN ATRUIM ROOM even if they are cheaper. They are loud, have poor lighting and smell bad.
4) The products in the bathroom are nice and the TV is refreshingly huge.

Overall, I was somewhat letdown by the whole experience because they make themselves out to be a 5-star hotel in Portland, but really they are about a 3.5 because of inconsistencies. To be honest, I cancelled my next reservation there just because I know other hotels downtown the same, if not better job for less.

So, The Nine, you would do well going forward If your arrogant managers take their cues from their employees rather than the other way around. Best of luck to you.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEastCoast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I returned to the Nines, this time on business and found that my last experience wasn't just a fluke. The staff was once again very accommodating and the concierge had some great recommendations for where to eat. (Be sure to check out Biwa for some great asian food). I got a nice note from Adam Marlin at the hotel after my last post but he was not working the desk when we arrived. As my boss was an SPG member she received an upgraded room and spoke highly of the coffee service in the club lounge.

We stayed one night and had to catch an early flight. When we missed our trolley to the airport, one of the doormen (I believe his name was Ralph) ordered us a cab which arrived less than two minutes later. Needless to say we made the flight. Thnks Ralph!

All in all a great stay at a great place. I look forward to visiting The Nines again soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#22 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing