We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel, super posh.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love this hotel, super posh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Great staff with all the top end amenities.
Just make sure to ask for a tub early in the booking, if that's your thing, as they do run out in this Eco friendly hotel.
I only stayed one night for business but I plan on returning with my husband to fully enjoy this hotel more fully.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zipgirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear zipgirl808,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as a whole and we will look forward to welcoming you again soon. Additionally, please feel free to contact me directly to expand on your personal preferences (ie; shower versus tub/shower) as it would be my pleasure to customize your permanent guest profile. I am at your service!

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    575
    213
    86
    51
See reviews for
338
854
114
638
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Best location in all of Portland. Staff is top notch. Rooms superb. If you are planning to visit Portland this is the place to stay! Macy's is literally next door and pioneer square straight out the front door. Wonderful property!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear khaden,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the property as a whole and that having Macy’s directly below us was an added bonus. We will look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Nines this past weekend. This hotel is in a great downtown location, customer service is superb and the investment to create this space impressive. But for $400 a night, a person should be able to get some sleep. Those booking this hotel who have sensitive hearing need to stay away from the lower floors and the rooms other than the back side because there are Light Rail lines that operate 18+ hours a day along the front and sides of this hotel. Our room was on the lowest floor (7) on the east side of the hotel. Most rooms are on higher floors up to 14. I expressed a concern about street noise when we checked and was told to 'try it for a night" given the hotel was fully booked. Between the low frequency noise from the light rail and the early morning trucks, our sleep was poor. I inquired about moving rooms the next day but never received a response from the front desk. I should have been more persistent. If a guest with sensitive hearing wants to avoid our experience, insist on the top floors, the back of the hotel or to be safest, the interior rooms (on higher floors as well) adjoining the atrium. Our Nines experience was impacted in a major way by this situation. I sense the front desk folks know this problem, but so many of their rooms face these 3 streets, they probably only respond to the major complainers. I should have in retrospect. $400 a night should buy reasonable sleep.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear PeterStPaul,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay at the Nines and that the follow-through was not there. This lack of service is not of standard at the Nines and we will hope to improve for you as well as our future guests. We do have a variety of room types, sizes and locations and I would like to extend my services to you if you would like to return in the future. It would be my pleasure to assist in confirming a room best suited to your preferences.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed in room 802 while in Portland on business. The staff were accommodating in giving me a room earlier than the normal check-in since I arrived very early in the morning. Unfortunately, the gentleman at the front desk did not do a proper inspection and I was left without a number of items in my rooms that others had (for instance, a robe and slippers --- everyone at our meeting was comparing what was missing from our rooms that we normally get at a Starwood resort) and neglected to give me specific information (such as the free wifi for our group and the sign-in). On Friday and Saturday nights, it gets loud and if you are from the east coast (and going to bed at an earlier hour) you will not like this room or any others that face Morrison St. The staff overall was very nice and the room I had was very clean (very small also). Would I stay here again? No, what you receive is not worth the money charged.

Green Features: I had no problems with their practices. The shampoo, conditioner, and body wash provided in the shower were of a very high quality and I did not miss the little sample bottles one bit.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvstotravel1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Luvstotravel1962,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay and hope that you may allow us an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. The lack of service you received is unacceptable and it is not our standard at the Nines. I would like to extend my services to you if you would like to discuss further or if you choose to return in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
371 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel decorated in a modern style with Tiffany blue and mauve colors, crystal chandeliers and polished white marble. It's in a very convenient location for both walking and mass transit. Valet parking includes in/out privileges and they ask that you give them a bit of notice before you want your car as the lot is not within the hotel building. It's kind of cool that this silver LEED certified hotel is housed in an historic building (the Meier & Frank building) and is located on top of Macy's, with its own entrance, of course.

With the exception of only one staff member at breakfast, everyone is extremely service-oriented, upbeat, and professional. Both restaurants were terrific. Our king deluxe room was a good size, with a lovely Tiffany blue velvet couch, desk/chair, large TV, decent nightstands on both sides of the bed, large white marble bathroom with stainless steel sink, and closet. There was a mini fridge in the room that was stocked with hotel-priced items, but you could take them out and put your own beverages in, which we did. We very much appreciate the efforts toward sustainability, like having both a trash can and a recycling bin in the room and offering bath products that were more on the natural side of things than you usually encounter at hotels. The a/c worked well. We were able to get a decent AAA rate (for a downtown hotel) that included parking.

While mostly this was a comfortable room, I would like to see as much effort focused on the practical nature of the room as there was on the style of the room. While the room was generally very clean, the throw pillows had a few stains on them. The lampshades on each of the nightstands had a layer of dust on their tops, which you could only see when they were turned on (I told the front desk about the dust at checkout as I didn't want them to come and spew dust on our bedding during our stay). Although there were two of us, housekeeping set the room up for one person (one robe, one chocolate and one bottle of water at turndown). Ther is not much storage space for clothes - no actual dresser. In trying to reduce waste (I assume), in the shower are large pump bottles of shower products, but the pumps didn't work very well (also told the front desk at checkout). The shower had one of those old fashioned vinyl liners in it - not sustainable and also it easily kinked, leaking water out of the tub. Most importantly, there was no place at all to hang a towel in the entire bathroom. Not only does this make reusing them for sustainability's sake impractical, but in getting out of the shower you had to walk across a polished marble floor dripping wet to retrieve a towel from a shelf under the counter, which was annoying and also a bit dangerous.

The negatives to this place could all easily be remedied, and I surely hope they do. This hotel has a lot going for it and fixing these issues would make it really fantastic.

Green Features: We are in full support of their sustainability efforts but in my review I mention some things that could be done to improve them.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Anne C,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience overall, however, I must apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by the lack of available storage in the room and the turndown service being set for just one person. Please know that we will consider this feedback and we will hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I booked this hotel with AMEX Platinum travel. Everything was ok till I received a confirmation E-mail from this hotel. Few days later I double checked the E-mail and I realized for the first time ever that the hotel rate on the E-mail was about $60 higher than the rate Amex had on their confirmation E-mail. I didn't like the fact that the rate didn't match. I called the hotel and the front desk said he had no Idea why my rate didn't match! I called Amex Travel they called the hotel and they said the same thing that the hotel rate is different and higher than the rate Amex originally booked me (same room). I called hotel myself again and told the front desk staff that I have the Amex E-mail in front of me with rate and room type ( as part of fine hotel and resort) then he was extremely rude and unprofessional. His tone of language was unacceptable. I sent Amex an E-mail to cancel this reservation. It's not about the money, its about that they have no right to change my rate if its confirmed. Unacceptable

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Michael I,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent experience. I truly appreciate your perspective and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you further at your convenience. I have done my research in regards to what may have gone wrong and I assure you this is not standard at the Nines. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you in the future to redeem your current expectations and I am at your service if I may assist.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Got a great deal on hotwire for this hotel, staying one night and wishing we could stay for longer. The staff was super helpful and pleasant. The rooms themselves were well appointed and clean, with great bathrooms. Location is prime, with close access to great restaurants, bars, and shops -- loved that it was short walking distance from the popular Pearl District.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WesternTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear WesternTravelGal,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the property and that you found the location ideal. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#2 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,303 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A downtown luxury hotel, The Nines, Portland hotel offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. Located next to Pioneer Square, we're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing