We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel nestled in the core of Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #23 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Whenever we go to Portland, we always try and stay at The Nines. It's worth the price and beautiful inside and out and brings a high-level of quality being owned by the Starwood Hotels, the same folks who run the Westin chain.

The modern and chic design is what struck us first. Inside the hallways and main foyer where their restaurant is located is open and has a trendy feel to it. The rooms are reminiscent of a Tiffany jewellery box, complete with the iconic light blue wallpaper/ paint and antique, white furnishings. Compared to other downtown hotels we've stayed at in Portland, the rooms are spacious as well.

In terms of amenities, the gym is above average, with lots of cardio machines, a variety of machines and fairly high weight dumbells for a hotel. The restaurants and bars on-site are top-rate, especially the Asian-fushion space ship-inspired locale on the top floor.

Staff are well trained and helpful, providing directions and retrieving valet cars promptly and courteously.

This hotel is also pet-friendly, so it's another reason for us to bring our dog with us to The Nines.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less frequented and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian Jr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, Assistant General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review and for choosing the Nines as your preferred hotel in Portland! We are pleased we are able to provide an exceptional experience throughout time and time again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family (dog included) back to the Nines for years to come.

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,757 - 1,763 of 2,986 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Excellent staff. Amazing experience

This was my first trip to Portland, and I was staying for business the whole week. I definitely felt home. Every single staff person from desk service to valets were so attentive.
Urban Farmer have the best hotel breakfast that I ever had. And they serve Stumptown Coffee. What a blessing.

My room had a city view, with king size bed. Stunning decor. When I arrived, my ipod dock was not working and they promptly replaced for a brand new one. The bed felt like heaven. The surroundings of the hotel are amazing. You can go by foot basically everywhere, from dining to shopping.

I'm coming back to Portland in November, now to celebrate my 10th year wedding anniversary. I already booked The Nines again. With no second thoughts. Hope to have the same (or even better) experience that I had this time.

Room Tip: Pick up a room with a city view. I've stayed at 1130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcAdrar, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Nines and for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am delighted to hear that we were able to extend a warm welcome to you and to make you feel at home. That really is special! However, I must apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with the iPod dock not working upon arrival. I am thankful that our team was able to deliver a new one to you right away. Please know that we look forward to welcoming you again in November for your 10 year anniversary celebration! I am at your service if there is anything at all I may do to assist in making this a special trip for you.

Marc Adrar, Assistant General Manager
Marc.Adrar@theNines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Dear Nine's Staff,

We wanted to say thank you so very much for all you did to make our stay at The Nines one we will forever remember. The hotel is so stunning and beautiful. Everyone on the staff we came in contact with was outstanding. When we arrived, Jason and Jason greeted us and continued to remember my husband and I throughout our stay. When we checked in, Marcela was so delightful. Marcela was very professional, knowledgeable and gave us great suggestions for our stay. Our room was fantastic! The views were amazing and what we hoped for during our stay.

The meals we had had both Departure and Urban Farmer were phenomenal! We loved the view from our table at Departure.
Our dinner at Urban Farmer was fantastic! Our server, Kurt, was outstanding! He was so great in assisting me with ordering the perfect wine for my dinner. He was on top of everything and was a true professional! Chef Matt took such great care of us at dinner. He came out to see us and made time to chat with us as well, which is so kind when we know he is so busy. Every item we ate was spectacular! We appreciated all the special touches that were given to us to make our dinner special.

We could not have asked for a better time at The Nines. Please share with your staff how wonderful they are and how they made our anniversary get a way special. And thank you to you for all you did for us. We really do appreciate your effort in making our stay so wonderful.

Cheers!
The Escobars

Room Tip: You have to try Departure restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaesc050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Escobar,
It is a joy to read your recent review of the Nines. Our staff strives to provide exceptional service to all of our guests and I am pleased to learn that you experienced this first hand. I appreciate you both for taking the time to share your experience and for complementing our team. It will be my pleasure to share your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Cheers,
Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was beautiful and there was a lot of attention to detail throughout the property. We had a city view room, and it was still amazingly quiet. Loved the marble bathroom and soft plush towels.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the property as a whole. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

There was not was single staff person who we met who was not gracious, kind, and attentive. For a first trip to Portland they were always ready to help direct and give suggestions. From the valets to the front desk the level of friendly attention the staff provides is truly phenomenal. A special shout out to Michael because his aid from beginning to end was invaluable. Also, the rooms were beautiful as well. Overall a fantastic experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay throughout and that Michael and the team were able to enhance your experience with their warm service culture. We hope to welcome you to the Nines again in the future for another fantastic experience.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Love the hotel and the views. I thought it was very cool that you could see the center of the hotel from some of the rooms. If I had to change one thing it would be to stay in a room that did not lead to the outside... it was quite noisy. The room was one of the best guestrooms I have ever stayed in. Wish I could live there! Tried to grab a drink at the roof top bar but it was packed so we went somewhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside that don't have an outdoor window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scruffy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your rock star review! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the property overall, however, I apologize that the roof top restaurant, Departure, was unavailable to you. We do have two of the most vibrant restaurants in Portland so if there is opportunities for the future please do not hesitate to ask a member of our concierge team for assistance in confirming reservations. It would be our pleasure to assist!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed there for just one night during a Trailblazer game. Great location and nice hotel on the inside. The rooms are small but posh. Our room had stains on the turquoise couch. The rooms are not very quiet, I could hear the upstairs and next door neighbor using the bathroom. The bad news is that it took over 1.5 hours for our room to become ready. The said it would be available at 3, but said it should take a few minutes to finish up and they would contact us when the room was available, so we went exploring and the phone call never came. We decided to come back and check on the room and they said, "Just opened up."

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience with us and I apologize that our property fell short of your expectations during this visit. I assure you this is not our standard at the Nines. Please feel free to contact me directly should you like to discuss this further. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you in the future to redeem your current expectation.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#44 of 146 in Portland
69 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 146 in Portland
2,229 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 146 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $223 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing