We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #16 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Nines is a fabulous property located in the heart of downtown Portland. The amenities, rooms, rooftop bar are all top flight. All of the concierges were particularly helpful but special kudos to Josie, who went above and beyond when I left my phone at the property.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on 12th floor (concierge).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kudos and taking the time to reccomend our property! We truly appreciate the kind words you have to share and I will be pleased to share your comments with the whole of our team. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Portland!

Frederick J Kleisner II,
General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    620
    225
    96
    55
See reviews for
385
928
124
691
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great business and get-away hotel. Centrally located, this is a hotel well-suited for business travelers. Strong internet connection, lots of electrical outlets around the room, plush accommodations, room has lots of space, and great catering services. Food is very good. A great value. You can take the light rail from the airport to almost across the street, for $2.50. The neighborhood is interesting. Macy’s downstairs, Nordstrom a block away, lots of good restaurants nearby, a number of pan handlers and homeless throughout downtown. Not a knock on the hotel. Just something to be aware of. That said, I cannot think of a better place to stay downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARainmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff strives to provide personalized service to business and leisure travelers alike. We are pleased to learn you have experienced this first hand. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I god a feeling of luxury when I entered my room, and the feeling stayed with me. The supergood bed, the thick and lovely towels, the speedy wifi...the nice turndown before bedtime...all very good stuff. I also enjoyed the great food, drinks and good views from the rooftop restaurant. Very pleasant to find that the place take their food seriously. Being in the centre of everything is also practical. We took the MAX lightrail from the airport and it stops just a few meters from the ground lobby. For everything else we walked everywhere, and good places to eat and shops start when you step outside. The only negative thing I can mention was a forgetful maid who did not come back to clean my room. It was made up for by the turndown service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view, as there can be noise from the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingveig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the property throughout, however, I am sorry for the lack of service that you experienced in regards to housekeeping services. Follow through should be automatic and we hope to welcome you again in the future to redeem this current expectation.

Frederick J Kleisner II,
General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed for a weekend in August and fell in love. I had a corner deluxe king room on the 11th floor and the bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The location of the hotel is perfectly positioned in downtown Portland and the staff went above and beyond making sure I had everything I needed. I will definitely stay again if given the chance

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelGirl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent one night in the Nines Hotel in Portland. Every employee we encountered at the hotel seemed truly engaged in their jobs , working to high standards. The décor is fresh and the common areas and are comfortable and clean. The valet service works well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your compliments. Our staff strives to provide personalized service to all guests and we are pleased to learn have experienced this first hand. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Generally I can find excellent rates through one of the companies I work with, and if I can, I would always choose to make The Nines my hotel of choice in Portland. The rooms are a little different, and you never know quite what you are going to get walking through the door! I like this! I have always had excellent customer service and have very much enjoyed the decor, the food, and the location. I do think the room prices can be a little steep if you cannot find a deal, but The Nines is most certainly worth experiencing if you are in Portland for business or pleasure!

Green Features: The Nines make every effort to be environmentally friendly, starting with the SPG policy of choosing to have your room cleaned or not for extra points, down to changing their give-away products to a make that is much more friendly on the environment!
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to be our repeat guest. In hopes to be your preferred hotel in Portland I am pleased to learn that our team continues to provide you with exceptional service and that you enjoy the property. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackfoot, Idaho
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We like to stay at the Nine's when we visit our kids in portland. The rooms are large and very comfortable. The service is always excellent . Everything is very clean. I love the turn down service and the little treat on the bed and the bottled water is a nice extra touch at no extra charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for making us your home away from and thank you for sharing your compliments. It will be our pleasure to welcome you for years to come.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#4 Green Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing