We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #28 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 30, 2013

the Nines is part of The Luxury Collection of hotels in the Starwood portfolio. Located in the Meier & Frank Building in the Pioneer Square area of Portland makes the Nines centrally located close to many restaurants and shops. The MAX light rail station is located across the street, so it is very easy to get to via public transportation.

Upon entering the hotel, there are bellman and front desk staff however you will be directed to the 8th floor to check-in.

After exiting the elevator on the 8th floor, you will be greeted by a stream of flowing purple curtains. The front desk is located behind the bank of elevators. The rest of the hotel is decorated in Tiffany blue.

The front desk agent was courteous and professional, but not on the friendly side. He acknowledged my SPG Gold status, and presented me an envelope upon check-in. I had booked the room through a Virtuoso agent, and the letter outlined all of the Virtuoso benefits, which was not explained by the agent. Perhaps he did not know too much about the benefits other than asking me if I would like the 4 PM check-out.

I inquired about an upgrade to the Club Level as the SPG site and app showed many rooms available, but the front desk agent told me that I hadn’t booked that room and that the upgrade would cost $50. He was strictly by the book; perhaps he was a new employee or on some sort of disciplinary punishment for being too generous about upgrades

Upon entering the King Deluxe room, there is a small foyer with a spacious closet and wet bar.

To the right is a very spacious bathroom with ample counter space. It is neatly decorated with marble tile. There is only a single sink which is on the smaller side. Oddly there is only one bathrobe in the room. There is a shower/tub combo. Water temperature is excellent, but water pressure could be improved. Given that the Nines is a LEED certified hotel, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel comes in a pump dispenser rather than individual bottles. The Bee Kind brand is high quality, as it is made by Gilchrist & Soames from London.

The desk is on the smaller side, but there is sufficient space to get work done.

The King bed is super comfortable with quality linens. The pillows are so soft that it feels like you are resting your head on clouds. There is a small nightstand on each side of the bed with an outlet, which is greatly appreciated.

I was given a room overlooking the outside of the hotel. There are pillars in front of the window, so getting a good view is like playing a game of hide and seek.

About 30 minutes after check-in, a fruit plate and bottle of water was delivered to the room. Since I did not ask for the amenity upon check-in, I suppose this was more of a Virtuoso benefit.

Several minutes later, the front desk agent called to ensure that everything in the room was okay. A very small gesture, but one that makes guests feel like the hotel is doing everything to enjoy their stay.

the Nines does pay homage to Meier & Frank history, which is proudly displayed throughout the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again when in Portland.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your compliments and constructive feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during check in. Please know that we have addressed your concerns with the appropriate department for immediate improvement. Thank you for choosing the Nines and we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Portland!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,906 - 1,912 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was very pleased with this property. Super-easy check-in with a very nice and helpful desk clerk, no problems at all during the stay, no noise. Another reviewer had noted what was loosely described as tacky interior decoration. I found the opposite; there's a certain Old West meets luxurious sophistication that I'm sure was very much by design. Maybe it's too gawdy for some. Also, the staff would always say hello to me when I would go into/leave the property-- clearly, they've been trained well!

The BEST feature is the location. It is SO convenient to almost everything in downtown and just a very short walk down the block to the MAX line (I took the MAX to and from the airport).

My only extremely minor complaints are:

The sink faucet has a non-traditional spray which offers little water pressure, thus making cleaning of a toothbrush difficult! The interior room I had seemed a bit dark and dreary, even with the curtains shut and the lights on. The bed had a slight lumpy memory foam feel-- not sure exactly what it was; didn't suit me, but might be liked by others.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbuquerqueTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing to be our guest during your visit to Portland. In conjunction with preserving the original grandeur of the building we do have a variety of room types and sizes. We are happy to assist you in reserving the accommodation most appropriate for you to ensure a truly customized experience. I hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on any future trips.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at The Nines, this Luxury Collection hotel met our expectations. Nice location in Portland and the hotel was quick to meet our special requests. Yummy meals, some of the best I've had In a hotel in a long time. Couch needed to be replaced.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our personalized services. Please know that we are currently in the process of reupholstering the settees in each guest room and hope for the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Portland.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Nines sets itself on a pedestal frm the moment you walk into their lobby (located on the 8th floor BTW), to the time you set up and enjoy a coctail at their rooftop lounge/restaurant. Trully a maginificent property, the Nines continues to set the bar in Portland, and for that matter anywhere in the Pacific Northwest. If you're lucky enough to be upgraded (or area aPlatinum member limyself) to the Club Floor, get ready for what is by far and away one of the best hospitality environments all gratis anywhere. Great snacks, no charge for alcohol (great selection BTW of wines, beers and other), great breakfast amazing 5pm to 7pm appys and they even put out a mean set of deserts at 8pm. You want service excellence...they got it with smiles all around. Cudos to the management for putting together a great offering by great staff in a great location!

Room Tip: Pay or cross your fingers for an upgrade to the Club Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your compliments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our hospitality. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again during your next visit to our city of roses.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is top notch. The rooms are very comfortable, and the beds are very easy to fall asleep in (I'm very particular about mattresses). My only complaint is the city noise that comes in from outside, but then again I'm used to the peace and quiet of the country.

We arrived around 2AM, and check-in was smooth. We also had a fridge and microwave delivered to our room.

The liquor in the beverage cooler is priced about the same as what it would cost in either lounge, minus the tip of course.

The bathroom was spacious, comfortable, and the shower was great. However, the thing that I liked most in there was the towels. They give you some rather large towels that you can actually dry with rather than the typical small hotel towels. It's touches like that that make me want to stay at a hotel.

Housekeeping was quick and efficient, although timing was seemingly random. The turn-down service in the evening was excellent - it made for quick change of gears into "relax mode" after a long day.

The atmosphere at the Departure restaurant and lounge on the roof is great as well.

The valet service was very friendly, and the car was brought around within 15 minutes, which is very reasonable considering the location.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Portland. It really made for a comfortable week.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veggiemeat_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to detail your recent experience. We hope to welcome you in the future for another week of luxury!

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you're planning to visit Portland, the Nines is one of the best! Interestingly, the registration desk is on the 8th floor. The rooms are clean and tastefully furnished, and the amenities all live up to SPG's finest standards. I imagine most people will have a car, since there is so much to do and see in Portland. Parking is very limited in the area, but the hotel parking has in/out privileges. Cost is about $39/day, but the valets are abundant - just call down about 10 min early, as their parking facility takes a while to get to. The hotel houses 2 restaurants - both of which are very good!

The quiet air conditioning and very soundproof windows make for a pleasant stay! There's a fitness room, but no pool here...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliec888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words in regards to our service and commending our staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the whole of our hotel and restaurant teams. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Room requests that were emailed and called in completely ignored. Their least expensive rooms face the inside of the hotel -- not pleasant. Safe and one of tje phones were not working. Location is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irene1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

We appreciate the candid feedback. Due to the historic design of the building our guestrooms have a variety of views. The service lapses experienced are inexcusable- please note that I have addressed this with the team. Please feel free to contact me below if you would like to discuss further.

Frederick J Kleisner II, General Manager
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,753 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 144 in Portland
1,412 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $206 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing