We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wow. I am a Starwood Platinum, and I have read quite a few reviews. I have to commend the GM for being, "Political". This is a great hotel, and the steak I had for dinner was great. The hotel is plush to say the least. I read several bad reviews, and I rarely defend or commend a hotel. Great room, great food, and great turn-down service. Hands down, best hotel in Portland. Jon (Starwood Platinum)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Jon L,

Our staff at the Nines truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. We are pleased you were able to experience this first hand. Thank you for your compliments and for being a loyal Starwood member. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    665
    248
    111
    68
See reviews for
440
1,007
129
749
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Probably my favorite hotel in Portland - I like several. Location is tops. It has a whole vibe that you don't see at other hotels, it is really happening at the restaurants and bars. Love the whole entry situation which kind of sets up that you are staying someplace unique. The little courtesy room on the executive level is awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear DallasLonghorn,
We appreciate you sharing your compliments of the Nines. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek. Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The NInes hotel is a very nice hotel however the absolute gem is the Urban Farmer restaurant - WOW the offering of the grass fed beef and the locally sourced vegetables and all presented by a VERY professional server was truly our best experience for service and food in any hotel restaurant in the world, and they had a couple of superb fish dishes which 2 of our group had that where also excellent. There where 6 of us for my wife's birthday and the whole group felt the same. When we checked in the attendant wished my wife Happy Birthday and in the room was a complimentary plate of treats with a nice card.

Room Tip: Great downtown location - we had a room overlooking the river which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrySelig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear HarrySelig,

Thank you very much for leaving such positive comments. We are glad that you choose the Nines to celebrate your wife's birthday, and delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay and felt our teams of service professionals were helpful.
We hope your travel plans bring you back to our city and that we are fortunate enough to welcome you back to the Nines if your travel plans allow it.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had such a great overnight at The Nines. I wish we could have been there longer. The staff was SO kind and helpful. The room was lovely and comfortable. The decor is trendy. The food in the 'Urban Farmer' was very good. Overall, highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Nines is truly my favorite hotel in downtown Portland. Although my wife and i only live 15 miles form the Nines we have stayed here many times. The Nines is our go to place for a "staycation" or just a night away from the kids. The rooms and suites are all great but i prefer the ones over looking Pioneer Courthouse. As an SPG member we have often been given nice upgraded rooms The club floor rooms offer the benefit of a light breakfast and nightly snacks a drinks the staff always goes well out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. Departure restaurant on the top floor is a must go and if the weather is good sitting out side on one of the viewing decks is great. I also recommend Urban farmer for a great breakfast. The NInes is truly a Elegant hotel. Access to the Nines couldn't be easier as it is right on the Max line. if your flying into PDX you can jump on the train and be downtown in no time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear griffids,

Our staff at the Nine truly takes pride in providing service that is beyond expectation. We are pleased you were able to experience this first hand. Thank you for your compliments!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed in the Nines for my anniversary night. The package included champagne strawberries and breakfast. Overall a great experience. The Hotel is ideally located for down town close to pub’s clubs restaurants shopping etc. It is decorated in a clean modern style. The breakfast at the Urban Farmer was great. Great valve and the best eggs benedict I have ever had. The car pick up in the morning from the valet parking was not long at all. 10 mins and my car was there. Considering the hotel location and the city one-way system I think 10mins was great.
Pros: Location, Décor, cleanliness and friendly staff.
Cons; small rooms, noisy from the transit system and $40 to park you car.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is one of those times I want to give higher ratings because of the people working there. The staff are all wonderful, and the vibe is cool (though can trend a little to W'ish sometimes). Unfortunately, there are too many places it appears the hotel is cutting corners to make a few extra $$$. For example, the drinks in the Lounge are nice, but the breakfast is lamentable. The poor doormen work like dogs to get the cars up in time, but they are always running behind (seems like there might be a closer garage which costs a bit more??).

In general, this is one of those hotels where if you stay once you will love it -- location is perfect, vibe is cool, people are really nice. If you come back over and over (I've stayed over 10 times), these small things become very annoying, particularly if you are a part of Starwood Platinum (for example, I have never been upgraded, even though I often stay for one night).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singtraveljunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your stays at the Nines. It is great to hear that our staff is performing well. I would like to apologize that your experiences have not always been pleasant and I would like the opportunity to discuss with you further at your earliest convenience. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#24 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing