We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel for a Thanksgiving weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had high expectations and wasn't disappointed. The location is fantastic, close to everything. We took the light rail from the airport (detailed instructions on the hotel website) and literally crossed the street to enter the hotel.
The artwork and public spaces were gorgeous and inviting. We booked a city view room; our room was on the same level as the lobby (and probably 50 feet from the front desk, which was a little weird). Still, we were happy with the smallish room because it provided a great view of Pioneer Square and the Christmas tree lighting ceremony. I choose to believe that this room assignment was a conscious decision on the part of the hotel staff. It was a cozy, comfortable space.

Room service was fast and flawless.

The Departures Lounge on the top floor has a fabulous outdoor area with plenty of space heaters and fantastic views. Service and drinks were excellent.

Fitness center was large and very well equipped- lots of machines, free weights, and space for stretching.

The option of forgoing maid service for 500 SPG points is a very good thing.

On the minus side- there is street noise from light rail; probably a non-issue on higher floors.
The toiletries in the paper pouches are fine, but my husband really just wanted a bar of soap and I think they should offer that (there is a tiny facial bar). The clock radio in the room was broken but we didn't need it.

Room Tip: High floor, city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pajiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,058 - 2,064 of 2,959 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Nines is a great hotel in a wonderful location. The hotel itself is on the upper floors of a building that houses Macy's and it is surrounded by every type of store, restaurant, and many attractions.
Everything about The Nines is fun from the art throughout the hotel to the special, private seating areas near the restaurant in the main atrium. Lovely rooms with all the amenities. If there are no special events in Pioneer Park then it is fine to have an outside facing room, but during events it can be noisy. Strongly recommend the Club floor (and one can be on another floor and just pay a daily rate to use the Lounge). The Lounge and the staff there are fantastic. Wonderful food offered for most of the day -- especially late afternoon and evening -- plus all kinds of drinks. Convenient for a quick stop on the way back to the room after touring or for a relaxing place to sit and read or meet friends. Outside of Asia this is the best lounge I have ever been in! A real treat was the bar and restaurant on the top floor. Excellent food and great variety. Love the different seating areas that are both open with views and private little spots. Excellent bar with lots of action.
On the other hand, the food in the main dining room for lunch and dinner was very ordinary and the service was mixed. Also the manager said he would take one entree off of the bill because it was badly prepared and when I looked over my bill at checkout the restaurant charges were not changed. Bad form.
In all other respects the service is outstanding. There is an app for smart phones that allows you to request a variety of things. I decided I would like a bed board after the first night and also a refrigerator. I punched it into the "requests" on the app and within 10 minutes there were people in the room taking care of everything. Nothing is too small or too big. Cannot say enough about this hotel and I think it is one of the best in the USA

Room Tip: Check on events in Pioneer Park because of possible noise. Also ask for the Lounge Floor and a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamelavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is great but the staff is beyond belief! Special thanks to Steve. He made my day with a kind note and piece of chocolate cake! Great location. Excellent breakfast. All the staff were beyond helpful in every aspect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livesonaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled to this hotel to explore the city of Portland and visit some friends who live locally. We had a great time. The hotel is located close to almost everything downtown. We walked to stores, restaurants and coffee. We booked a room on the executive level with a city view - the executive lounge was always well stocked and very comfortable - the city view was limited but better than an interior courtyard view. The interior courtyard seems to get noisy at night and might bother guests on lower levels. The service at the hotel was great, the valet quick, front desk friendly and cleaning staff were attentive to all of the details.

Room Tip: For a quieter room choose a higher floor and an exterior view. I highly suggest the executive level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBussema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The bathroom was nice. What do they call that white tile stuff? Marble. Yeah. Marble. Nice marble and nice wood. Good shower. Soap/lotion/conditioner/etc comes in these little paper pouches. They're ok, I guess. I liked having the option to forego room cleaning service all three days in exchange for SPG points.

Unfortunately, the room was quite small. That's what you get when you get a low rate. The real bummer was that my room faced the courtyard. No natural sunlight. But hey, it's Portland. No natural sunlight in November, right?

The staff was incredibly kind.

Oh, and the location in central Portland is great. Lots of good restaurants nearby. I'd stay again, but I'll ask for a better room next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

When I can get a room here, I take it. I have stayed at the Westin, Aloft, Sheraton PDX, and a few of the small boutique hotels. This one is the best, it is actually one of my favorite hotels in the Continental US.
Why? The service is great. I had a problem once (yes, with the thin walls) and it was resolved beyond expectations. I love the club level lounge, John is fantastic. He is there before I need a refill, and has great stories, and really loves his home city.
The beds are great, the marble bathrooms are aesthetically pleasing, the "bee kind" ammenities smell so good, the gym is better than most. The gym has free weights, medicine balls, bosus, tons of treadmills (never had to wait), and lots of space to lift, stretch, lunge, etc.
The restaurant upstairs, Departure, is funky asian fusion, and if you eat at the bar everyone is hilarious and fun. They take the edge off of business travel.
Urban Farmer is fantastic, but it eats my entire expense account. You get what you pay for.
Coffee is available and complimentary in the lobby (I got there at 630am, not sure when they put it out).
I have had rooms that might need some re-touching, but it's easy to overlook when everyone is so nice and the bartenders practice the art of a "full pour". You can walk to Nordstrom Rack (almost everyone in the lounge had a bag from there). Next door to Macys, a half block to Nordstrom.
My final thought: Doormen are the face of the hotel. They are your first interaction with the property. This hotel has some of the best (my next favorite doormen are at the W city center Chicago). These guys are on their game. It does take 15 min to get your car in the morning, but they tell you that when you get there. Parking is $30, but if you aren't expensing it, there are quite a few lots a block away and you can save a few $$$.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

great beds and workout room. Walls can be a bit thin but you get over it. VALET is a fortune but all other hotels are too. Location is right on Pioneer Sq so close to a lot of things. Hear the food is good but did not try. Pro basketball team was staying there too!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 144 in Portland
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 144 in Portland
2,201 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $207 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing