We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Boutique...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #23 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Used Starwood points to stay at this Chic Boutique hotel.. My daughter and I conferred that it felt more like a boutique hotel than a than a Starwood .The elegant decor, spacious room, attentive staff, and fabulous location... all tre' chic. The restaurant and bar rooftop is a must see for the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,097 - 2,103 of 2,885 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

The first review I wrote of a hotel was a review of The Nines. I was moved to do so because I saw other reviews that were less than totally awestruck. We loved The Nines. We have just been back, and I will tell you honestly that some of the things others have said now ring true. Please do not think that The Nines does not still have much charm. It does. The location is great--right in the center of Portland. The concierge lounge (although adult oriented) is superb. And I adore the Urban Farmer.

We had been there twice before and our rooms were great. This time we had the tiny rooms with one hard back chair. So, they do exist--just as others have said. The bathroom was cramped. The most surprising thing to me was that the quality of service by the front desk was low. We did not get the type of room we had reserved and I was told that was unfortunate but they were sold out of the range of rooms we could be offered. And this was the fault of the central reservation system. Better rooms were available at an increased cost but not in the price range we had reserved.

I still think that The Nines is a beautiful hotel, but I admit to some disappointment at both the quality of the room (and until now, I really thought they only had lovely large well-decorated rooms and that others were just whining) and the attitude displayed--in fairness, not by all, but by some of the staff. While I can not say that I would not return to The Nines at some future date (it is lovely in many ways), I do think I might want to check out some other hotels on my next visit. Perhaps I will find that my disappointment only arises from the high bar they had set on my previous visits.

I still love the Urban Farmer. We ate there twice, and it has the best collection of vegetable sides I have ever had in a restaurant anywhere, any time.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in quality more than in most hotels. Be sure that you are getting a class of room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texastravveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I apologize that we did not meet your needs on your last visit. I am pleased to hear your past visits have been wonderful and we will look forward to exceeding your expectations in the future.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Steps away from Pioneer Square and right near a light rail stop it was a great spot to get around the city. The room we had was huge, though our friends ended up with a much smaller space. The rooms were all nicely appointed but the smaller room was definitely a little bit of a squeeze. Staff was always on the ball and very friendly, especially the bellhops in the lobby (without being annoying). As for the amenities - Roof top lounge was awesome. Great scene and a wonderful spot to spend a summer evening. Restaurant in the lobby was also a pleasant surprise. Fantastic dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Nines for a splurge on a pacific northwest road trip. Got a great deal and were super pleased with our stay. Big, beautifully appointed rooms, interesting lobby, great service and a terrific location across from Pioneer Square. We will definately stay there again..if we can get a great deal.

Room Tip: Try to get an outside room not one on interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The title says it all. They did a nice job with the decor and the vibe. It reminds me a lot of the Comsopolitan in Las Vegas. Chrome, dark wood, white appolstry. Thing is, the rooms are so small, you can't move around the furniture. The light switches and electrical outlets are all hidden behind the furniture. I had to call the front desk to ask where the light switch was last night when I got it in so I could turn it off. I had to move the desk to plug in this computer I'm on. When I opened my blinds this morning, I realized it overlooks the atrium, not even a view of the sky.

It's in a great location and the Departures restaurant/bar on the top floor is a hot spot. The atrium restaurant sells a cup of Stumptown coffee for $3 ?? Very nice fitness center.

Room Tip: The atrium-facing rooms are quiet, but you look out onto the lobby and into other people's rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliverA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We do have many different views and room types and I would be happy to assist in finding an accommodation that meets your needs for any future stays. We have electrical outlets in the left hand side of the desk for your convenience as well as in the lamps on the nightstand. We have begun serving complimentary coffee in our lobby from 6am - 8am and hope that you will be able to enjoy this service in the future. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss anything further.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a business meeting. The rooms are not your run of the mill 'chain' hotel. They are very comfy and quiet. Service is wonderful, and you can't beat the location. Very easy to/from PDX via the lite rail system. Nice walk to the many restaurants in the downtown Portland.
Pearl St restaurants are about a mile away.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FStrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Nines has pleasant and very modern styling. It is slightly unusual with the registration on the 8th floor.

Walking past the fitness center it appeared to be better than most with a few treadmills, stationary bikes, and a couple other machines.

The service is excellent with friendly staff and even a complimentary evening turn-down service with a small chocolate, ice, adjusted lights and music playing over the TV.

The rooms have new, modern styling, are very clean. They are pleasant at night, but dark during the day due to small windows and large draperies.

Although another hotel I stayed at in downtown Portland don't offer a turn-down service, it did have similarly pleasant, clean rooms for a lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phorapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $226 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing