We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised and Delighted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #23 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Delightful, warm, personal staff. Special accolades to the valet and welcoming door staff, Mark and Jason. They made me feel like their best customer. And no matter how busy, the always had a kind word. What great way to arrive and the property day in and out.
Well appointed, elegant rooms.
Solid restaurants.
Unbeatable location

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,315 - 2,321 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed at the Nines, Portland for a conference last week. This is the most clean, friendly, enivornmentally conscious, gorgeous hotel I have ever stayed. An old neat building with gorgeous interior. Charlotte

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlieoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hi, I just came back from Portland and had a wonderful stay at The Nines. I was hesitant between this property or the Westin two blocks away and let me tell you that I do not regret a bit my decision. Of course there are some area of opportunities that I would resume in two as the most important (at least for me). 1) $39 usd for valet parking per day seems excesive guys. There are many options around the hotel for a quarter of that. I know it was my fault no reviewing this issue before and its good that you offer some hotel + parking packages but the it is not a good surprise to find out this when checking out. 2) No Plat upgrade as SPG Plat Elite member. I know, you were busy but my stay could have been perfect if instead of an Atrium View Room and would have gotten a Street View Room instead. I was little time at the hotel itself but yes, the room was kind of dark and daylight its nice. Besides those two comments, the hotel and staff were great. I forgot the name of the concierge that helped us get to Cannon Beach and Tillamook for a day trip, but we enjoyed her advice very much. The bathroom was modern with a walk in shower (I hate bathtubs and batch curtains). The bed confortable and both restaurants were excellent. Please visit them, and if you have an extra day or so, also visit Jake's Famous Crawfish which is like ten blocks away.

Room Tip: Club room floor definitively.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for the feedback you have provided both positive and negative; we are always looking for ways to improve operations of our property. Our overnight parking rate is consistent with all downtown hotels and I apologize if this was not brought to your attention prior to your departure. Due to our high occupancy levels it is difficult to upgrade our Platinum guests on every stay, however feel free to reach out to me directly for any future stays and I will be happy to assist with your accommodations. I have passed your comments along to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a girlfriends getaway trip in Portland and were thrilled to have chosen to stay at The Nines. The hotel is hip and the color palette of the rooms are decorated with a woman's eye in mind. Turquoise, grey, and champagne tones with a chaise and beautiful wallpaper. The beds were very comfortable with fluffy duvets and extra pillows. Organic bath products.

We would definitely visit The Nines again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank temple15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a weekend trip to Portland. I booked the hotel because it looked so beautiful online and I wanted to be spoilt for the weekend. Our king sized room cost around $300 (inc. tax) which didn't even include breakfast and it really wasn't worth it.

Good points:
Great location - right in the city centre, you can walk every where.
Nice communal areas
Large and well equipped fitness centre

Less good:
Parking was $40 for 1 night
Room was small
When we arrived we were surprised to find a vacuum cleaner and dirty linens left in our room. When someone arrived to collect them, he didn't give us time to answer between knocking and walking in the room - if he'd been 5 minutes longer he would have caught me getting changed.
'Boutique-style' furnishings, pale blue velvet chairs, getting worn and tatty.
Noise - our room was next to an emergency stair case but people were clearly using it to move around the hotel, so my Sunday morning lie-in was cut short by the sound of people running up and down a metal staircase which sounded like it was directly overhead.

If I'd paid $180 for this room, none of those issues would have even registered, but at that price I expect a better standard of service and accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from an emergency staircase if you want a decent night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NjyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the issues you experienced and I have followed up with our Housekeeping team to prevent this type of experience in the future. Thank you for your perspective and we hope to welcome you back soon. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss anything further.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel is one of my favorites! Ever. Super nice staff. Really comfortable surroundings. Very classy. And not pretentious at all. If I could, I would ALWAYS stay here when visiting Portland. It's also a really good location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrbanFoodCrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this wonderful feedback! We are so pleased you have enjoyed your experiences at the Nines and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed at the Nines 4x in the month of April with my wife while doing business in the Portland area. This hotel soon became a home away from home and I felt welcomed by name by familiar faces such as Brandon Hoerner at the front desk and Mark and Alex at the bell desk. The hotel is a unique boutique hotel with interesting art in the lobby and a wonderful restaurant -Urban Farmer. I enjoyed being at the hotel during the week because it was much quieter then on the weekend. There are many different rooms to choose, however I enjoyed the outside room on the higher floor with a view. The location is great, in the center of Portland walking distance to everything. I did not like that the business center did not have complimentary computer/internet since I did not bring a laptop. I will definitely return to this hotel when I return to Portland.

Room Tip: Inside rooms were noisy on weekend from restaurant. We moved to an outside room which was much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autobiography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 146 in Portland
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#42 of 146 in Portland
77 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,768 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 146 in Portland
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#12 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $255 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing