We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Reed graduation weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Reed graduation weekend”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Everything about our stay at the Nines was outstanding. The staff couldn't do enough to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connecticutbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    665
    248
    111
    68
See reviews for
440
1,006
129
749
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at this beautiful property! It is very centrally located with the light rail right outside the front door, and across from Pioneer Square & Pioneer Place.

I booked the 'Taste of Luxury' package that included breakfast at the Urban Farmer restaurant (and every 4th night free!). I had access to the club lounge (due to SPG status). The lounge was beautiful and well attended by very attentive servers, with creative hors d'oeuvres served during happy hour and delicious desserts later in the evening, along with free cocktails!

The Urban Farmer, located in the atrium off the 8th floor lobby, served deliciously fresh & imaginative food options! The breakfast hours did not fit my schedule, as service starts at 6:30am (even though the property website says 6am), but the manager was able to accommodate my needs for earlier service!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who seeks something more unique, charming with beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flygirl787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband and I recently attended a 3 day conference at the Nines. We didn't stay at the hotel as we live in the area, however I did want to comment on how incredible the facility and valet services were. The building is stunning inside and out, top to bottom, with glamorous details throughout. When I locked my keys in my car- with the ignition running and parked in front of the valet- all I had to do was call AAA and the wonderful valet attendants took care of the rest for me so I could make it to my seminar on time! Incredible service, and they wouldn't even let me take the blame for my parking faux pas! The Nines may be a 5 star hotel, but their service deserves 10 stars!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you haven't been to the Nines as a SPG member, you are missing out on one of their best properties. It's been open for a couple of years, but having been newly designed, it is stunning. The decor is very tasteful, the service rivals that of a St. Regis. Be sure to visit the Urban Farmer organic restaurant-they also have a nice happy hour, which was just a bonus. Departure Restaurant is on the top floor and if the weather is nice, it's a treat. The location is close to shopping (next door). I have always found good rates, so it is a great value too.
I felt like I was on vacation while doing business in Portland.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgreaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
We are so glad you enjoy our design and service ethos. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Fred Kleisner, GM
fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Excellent central downtown location. The hotel has a rooftop bar on the 15th floor and a beautiful atrium bar/restaurant on the 8th. Both were busy on the Friday we were there. Rooms are well appointed and of standard size. All employees were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdh528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I chose a "deluxe" room the Nines for my 4 nights in Portland because it advertised itself as a luxury hotel and I'd never stayed there. My tiny room with its tiny window faced the windows of the office building right next door. Barely enough room to walk between the bed and the furniture opposite it. The lighting in the bathroom was dim and yellow. I gave "sleep quality" 5 stars because the room was so dark, sleeping was easy. Loved all the staff I met except for the front-desk guy who acted irritated when I asked for a 2-hr extension on my check-out. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dmmick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Given the historic nature of our building guest rooms do indeed have different views. It would be our pleasure to customize your next stay due to your view preferences. There is a dimmer switch in the bathroom from bright to low light for each guest to choose how much light they prefer. We are always happy to extend late check outs based upon availability I and sincerely apologize that your needs were not met. I truly appreciate the comments regarding our staff and sincerely apologize if your needs were not met. I hope we can exceed your expectations in the future.

Fred Kleisner
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

This hotel is OK for party people, but not for customers seeking a luxury experience. The rooms and common areas, while trendy on the surface, are rather shabby, dusty and dirty. The hotel also uses the "Green Movement" as an excuse to strip away amenities like top sheets on the bed, expecting guests to sleep directly beneath the dirty comforters. All surfaces in the room were covered with an inch of dust and dirty finger prints, and the shower was infested with black mold. In addition, the elevators are packed with drunken revelers, causing long waits for actual hotel guests trying to access their rooms. Finally, the hotel does not offer any special amenities, or even a spa. In short, if you are looking for somewhere to host a stag party or feel cool amongst your frat brothers, this place is for you. If you care about cleanliness, relaxation, good service and attention to detail, stay far away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank HRH2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredKleisner, General Manager at The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I would like to apologize for the experience you had with us. I assure you that this is not typical of the Nines service culture and I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. I understand that our green ethos does not please everyone, however while we do not provide a top sheet, we do wash our duvet covers upon every checkout and daily when service is requested. We have a top notch security team and do not tolerate excessive noise, but with two of the most popular restaurants in Portland, we do have an active energy on certain evenings and apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you on a night that you were hoping to relax. If you have the time I am happy to discuss further.

Fred Kleisner, GM
Fred.kleisner@thenines.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 142 in Portland
1,380 reviews
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#22 of 142 in Portland
916 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 142 in Portland
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland

Property: The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Address: 525 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-1440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Portland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Family Hotel in Portland
#14 Business Hotel in Portland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland 5*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Portland, The Nines, A Luxury Collection Hotel, offers a boutique experience in the Pacific Northwest. We're the perfect starting point for your explorations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nines, Portland Hotel Portland
The Nines Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing