We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pizza - excellent all around”
Review of Nostrana

Nostrana
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 7/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #55 of 4,996 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 14th
Transit: Tri-met bus line 15
Description: Nostrana—literally 'ours' —invokes local. Simple food from honest ingredients. Pure. Regional. Italian. Opened in 2005, Nostrana is Chef/Owner Cathy Whims' love letter to Italy. This is a restaurant built on relationships: with our amazing farmers and purveyors, our dedicated staff, and of course with you, our guest. We hope to offer something timeless and authentic in a beautiful space, the regional specialties of Italy deeply rooted in the Pacific Northwest. We strive to be better every day.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Loved this place! We had the Insalata Nostrana, which is sort of like a radicchio Caesar except so much better than that. Just get it. Also loved the radiators alla bolognese and the diavola pizza. Lovely cocktails too and nice atmosphere. I will definitely come back here next time I'm in town!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank kmfesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 93 of 430 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

It's a big loud space, but the food was great from beginning to end. Nice charcuterie plate, salads are big enough to share for two, and entrees were very good. Would go regularly if we lived in the area.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank herb12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

This restaurant has a six-time James Beard award nominated chef, and we enjoyed our meal. We shared a pizza with burrata, figs and prosciutto as well as the halibut with lava risotto cake and zucchini. Both delicious and nicely done. The butterscotch budino for dessert was also very tasty and disappeared very quickly at our table. The place has a nice casual ambiance and is located in a small shopping center. They have a limited wine selection with a large bar and take reservations - all in all a solid choice!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank renakashmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

The food was delicious and innovative and the desserts were scrumptious. Our party of 4 each ordered a different dessert and we each tried them all. I'd recommend the chocolate dessert (forget the name) and the amaretto cheesecake. Twp people had the trout and loved it and I had the smoked chicken which I loved. The wine list was overpriced and seemed to mostly start at about $40--which we all felt was a lot. The waiter was not that helpful about the wines and he had a rather nonchalant attitude--not a good impression of him.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Food
Thank PickyInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

We were a party of 3 and had dinner reservations for Sunday night. We got seated promptly and ordered drinks before our meal. Ambience was fine but it was very loud and they were playing music on top of that.
We ordered the fungi pizza, a large mixed salad and the goat cheese stuffed pappardelle pasta.
We all shared our foods. The pappardelle was good but very small portion, literately 4 strands of pasta...wonder if they were running short and were rationing it? That was a bit embarrassing as we were taking out my mother in law for dinner. Thankfully the pizza was large and so was the salad. The mixed salad was nice and fresh but the fungi pizza was very lemony for our taste.
We finished the meal with a couple of the butterscotch budinos which were good.
Now for the service, that was disappointing!
Never once were we asked if everything was ok or tasted ok. They were efficient but not really caring about our meal....then came the bill right away, right after dessert....basically they were ready for us to get out was the message....maybe we were not ordering enough food or drinks? The whole meal took just over an hour.
Overall we were underwhelmed for the price and felt like they were riding on their reputation and good reviews.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Sylvie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostrana also viewed

 

Been to Nostrana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing