We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to go in Portland if you want to sleep like a baby.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gambrills, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is the place to go in Portland if you want to sleep like a baby.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Their bed sheets, their bed sheets!!! Wow, I thought that we had comfy beds at OUR house, but I was wrong. Beautiful b&B, close to everything, delicious breakfast, wonderful hosts. We had the basement apartment which I thought it would be damp, and such was not the case. I highly recommend this place 2 anyone. Enjoy!!! Vicki & Steve.

Room Tip: I couldn't erase fitness center, so it says terrible. They do not have a fitness center. The out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    44
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
50
226
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at Lion and the Rose first week in August. It was a lovely experience staying in an old and beautifully restored Victorian. The owners were very nice and accommodating. Had a very interesting and nice collection of other guests. The living room area was nice and we felt comfortable relaxing there when we returned later in the evening. WiFi worked fine. We were in the Garden Room. Only down side was having to take a shower in a claw foot tub. Not recommended if you have difficulty stepping up and over. We did not, but prefer a shower. Had a chance to look into the other rooms so you could get one with a real shower. All appeared to be equally as nice. Breakfast and coffee were excellent. Parking is on the street and takes a little driving around but were always able to find a spot. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lavonna Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This B&B is beautiful. From the rose garden to ornate detail on the interior. We stayed in the Joseph room and were very pleased. We had a pretty little fainting couch facing the bay window and a lovely little vanity to get primped at making me feel like I was in an episode of Downton Abbey. Lovely location in the Irvington district. Close to restaurants. Dusty and Steve are pleasant and very helpful. The bed was fantastic with its memory foam mattress and comphy sheets. They really are so comphy!! Also enjoyed the alkaline water ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Cmkinsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Perfect - the house, the innkeepers, the welcome, the room, the food, the company, the location - what can I say? In a residential neighborhood close to the train, we found good company and a warm welcome. Bed (and pillow, very important) were awesome, nice fluffy robes, and a friendly friendly welcome. We would definitely stay here again when in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancesonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This B&B is located in the lovely historic neighborhood of Irvington. It is wonderful neighborhood to walk around. The B&B is also conveniently located near restaurants and a is a short walk to mass transit. The home itself is exquisitely decorated. The breakfasts are gourmet. The owners are very welcoming and make enjoyable company at breakfast. My only disappointment was with housekeeping. We paid for daily housekeeping but only the bed was made; nothing else was tidied. However, this was hardly significant enough to ruin our experience. I highly recommend the B&B. We stayed in the Lavonna room which is part of the tower on the house. This meant we had a lovely sitting are with lots of light- perfect for reading and simply hanging out.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaKHM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you have any interest in Portland history, this B & B is ready to provide you with readings, an historic walking tour, and a history of the grand old home. If your primary interest is a good B & B experience overall, then the delicious breakfasts, local maps with restaurant recommendations, charming and well-appointed rooms, and helpful hosts will meet those expectations. And there are extras - tempting cookies for the taking, cool drinks, a guest refrigerator, a library of travel guides. It's also fun to note how many ways the theme of lion and rose can be represented throughout. Price? The Lion and the Rose isn't inexpensive, but we definitely felt we had received good value for our dollar.

Room Tip: Look online at the photos of the rooms. Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B and certainly not our last. The only problem is that this will be the B&B that all the others will have to compete with. When we look at the pictures of this lovely home it feels like we are looking at pictures from a museum. Friends can't believe we actually stayed there! The home is impeccably clean and inviting. You are invited to enjoy the living areas as they were meant to be enjoyed. Our room was like out of Pollyanna, but not in a bad way. A great deal more frilly than I am used to but exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, some of the best banana bread ever! They gave you a prepared meal but would accommodate you with anything else you desired. The best part of the meal was that we sat around with the other guests and we all discussed our travels and enjoyed the conversations. This is certainly a place that we will want to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,699 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
382 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Property: Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing