We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic home in historic neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Ranked #1 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic home in historic neighborhood”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This B&B is located in the lovely historic neighborhood of Irvington. It is wonderful neighborhood to walk around. The B&B is also conveniently located near restaurants and a is a short walk to mass transit. The home itself is exquisitely decorated. The breakfasts are gourmet. The owners are very welcoming and make enjoyable company at breakfast. My only disappointment was with housekeeping. We paid for daily housekeeping but only the bed was made; nothing else was tidied. However, this was hardly significant enough to ruin our experience. I highly recommend the B&B. We stayed in the Lavonna room which is part of the tower on the house. This meant we had a lovely sitting are with lots of light- perfect for reading and simply hanging out.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelindaKHM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    44
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
50
226
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you have any interest in Portland history, this B & B is ready to provide you with readings, an historic walking tour, and a history of the grand old home. If your primary interest is a good B & B experience overall, then the delicious breakfasts, local maps with restaurant recommendations, charming and well-appointed rooms, and helpful hosts will meet those expectations. And there are extras - tempting cookies for the taking, cool drinks, a guest refrigerator, a library of travel guides. It's also fun to note how many ways the theme of lion and rose can be represented throughout. Price? The Lion and the Rose isn't inexpensive, but we definitely felt we had received good value for our dollar.

Room Tip: Look online at the photos of the rooms. Each room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenR777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first time staying at a B&B and certainly not our last. The only problem is that this will be the B&B that all the others will have to compete with. When we look at the pictures of this lovely home it feels like we are looking at pictures from a museum. Friends can't believe we actually stayed there! The home is impeccably clean and inviting. You are invited to enjoy the living areas as they were meant to be enjoyed. Our room was like out of Pollyanna, but not in a bad way. A great deal more frilly than I am used to but exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic, some of the best banana bread ever! They gave you a prepared meal but would accommodate you with anything else you desired. The best part of the meal was that we sat around with the other guests and we all discussed our travels and enjoyed the conversations. This is certainly a place that we will want to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had booked an unreviewed airbnb apartment in Portland during the recent heat wave, and was so miserable in the unbearably hot and dirty second floor walkup, that two hours after my evening check-in I called Lion and the Rose. Steve and Dusty were able to give me a last minute room, and it was everything the other place wasn't--clean, comfortable and cool. Ahhh. This made it possible for me to spend 2 and a half lovely days with my daughter and her newborn son, being a mother's helper by day and a pampered guest by night.
Thank you so much! Next time I book here FIRST.

Room Tip: I only have experienced the Lavonna room, which is very large with a kingsize bed, lots of light, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goggirose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, Steve and Dusty were great host. We were in town visiting our daughter. She walks by this B&B everyday and recomended this place to us. When we arrived, Steve was very helpful in checking us in and explaining some maps to us. Great choice!

Room Tip: We stay in the Starmia and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When you espy this blue Victorian wonder you gasp, it is so wonderful. Then you go in and you want to giggle because it is so over the top Victorian. I mean, even the shower curtain things were made of roses! Outrageous! Then you see that the toilet paper is also finished with a TP rose. Honestly, I thought I would collapse from laughter. I could NEVER live in this place but for a couple of nights it is a lot of fun with great breakfasts, wonderful other guests--we were blessed to have terrific company both nights we were there. Steve and Dusty are terrific hosts and they supplied us with incredibly detailed maps of the area, walking instructions to the light rail, etc. When we couldn't eat something at breakfast because of allergies they quickly substituted something equally delicious. We ate in two local restarants and both were excellent. The Inn is quiet excet when we the guests are having too good of a time. But that does not last after 10 so not to worry. Would stay here again on a heatbeat!!

Room Tip: Only one room can be ccommodate folks not sharing a bed. Thus the king becomes two twins, a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceAvignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Starting from the front door we knew we selected the right place to stay. Dusty and Steve met us and provided an excellent overview of Portland as this was our first visit. They had taken the time to have printed maps of every area with details you can't get from the app store or Google maps. Breakfast awesome, home immaculate and morning coffee is always ready at 6:30am and it was as good as Petes which is 40 steps down the street. Another 40 steps brings you to all the restaurants you need to round out the day. There are more B&B's in Portland but this is rated in the top 3 according to Portland reviews... an no brainer.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,700 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,796 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
382 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House

Property: Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
Address: 1810 N.E. 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic 1906 Queen Anne mansion, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, transports you to another time. The eight guest rooms (all with private baths) are each unique and emanate Victorian charm. Historic yet up to date, the rooms are air conditioned and equipped with telephones, cable TV, and high-speed wireless internet access. The parlors and dining room are comfortable, spacious, and decorated in period furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing