We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the one to stay at near the airport!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the one to stay at near the airport!!!!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed here twice-when we got in and the night before we left. The experience could'nt have been better. First night we had a room that overlooked the lake-beautiful!!Not what you expect near the airport.The rooms were nice and clean, and the beds were out of this world...did'nt want to get up!!Night before we left room did'nt overlook lake, but just as comfy.They were hosting a managers' reception that eveing,serving wines,beers,and assorted snacks in lobby.Next morning decided to go down for complimentary breakfast-this was not the usual hard muffin and coffee.Full on self serve meal-make you own waffles,assorted pastries and breads to taost,eggs,bacon,sausage gravy,assorted cereals,..you name it!! Staff is super friendly,helpful...could'nt have been nicer.Sharis' restaurant just across street..Also let us leave our bags with them early so we could sightsee,and froze my husbands' blue ice as he is diabetic traveling with medicine.(other places have not been so accomodating)Will stay here everytime we return.Can't say enough about this place!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    221
    65
    27
    15
See reviews for
157
235
61
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
phoenix, az
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is perhaps the nicest Choice hotel I have encountered. Looks quite new and very modern. Rooms are large and upscale like a four star hotel. It is quiet and all rooms overlook a small lake. The breakfast and the breakfast room are impressive. A can't miss hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyPhoenix_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

My wife and I spent the night of July 7 at the Clarion and it was a great stay, a true bargain. The staff was courteous and friendly and very welcoming. The young lady who checked us in was glad we had arrived on a Tuesday because there is a manager's reception every Tuesday complete with drinks and hot and cold buffet. In addition there is a lounge singer who does nothing but Sinatra songs. We took advantage of the offering and had a great time.

Our room was clean and the bed was great. We had a good night's sleep and went on the next morning after a good continental breakfast. We said we'd go back to this Clarion and we did the following Sunday on our way to the airport. We're not sorry we did! Thanks to all the fine staff. You're doing a great job!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BandRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

I stayed at this hotel to catch a 6am flight the next morning....I didn't have a car but I needed to meet a friend who was staying at another airport area hotel for dinner, and the hospitality manager actually took me to his hotel, and then came back to pick me up after dinner. She saved me the hassle of hiring a taxi and made my stay stress-free since I was under some time constraints. I should also mention that my room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, and it was quiet. They also had a computer right by the check-in desk where I could print my boarding pass. Very thoughtful!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Jake at the front desk checked me in Monday Night, June 22nd, 2009. The check in proceeded as usual and I was given my room key. As I was turning towards the elevator Jake's colleague mentions it is a "smoking room." I immediately apologized for the inconvenience and notified them I booked a non smoking room and I would like it changed. This was a bummer but not a huge deal as I understand mistakes happen. Jake proceeds to tell me they're all booked up and since I booked a "smoking room" I had to basically take it or leave it, since they were at max capacity. This was a surprise to me since my itinerary clearly states "NS,” which is short for “Non Smoking” in the travel world. I asked for a refund because there is no way I can accept a smoking room. Also, keep in mind I haven't stepped foot into the room and considering they're at max capacity I'm pretty certain they could have rebooked. Jake notified me he can't refund my charge because no person on duty has that authority. He advised me to call Amanda Hays the Hospitality Manager after 10:00 am the next day and she might be able to reverse the charge. Using the word “might” and implying it was my fault for booking a smoking room was infuriating. Next I asked if they could comp a cab fare a couple blocks to the next hotel. Jake replied, “No, but I could call one.” As I was walking out feeling frustrated and ripped off I noticed their airport shuttle sitting there. Again, attempting to be polite I asked if the shuttle could give me a lift, wondering why they didn’t offer that in the first place. I felt like I was pulling teeth. Jake begrudgingly asked the driver if he wouldn’t mind giving me a ride, as if I were being a pain in the butt. The driver said of course not and ended up being a real nice guy. This was my only positive experience with the hotel. I ended up booking at another hotel and paid an additional $60 due to the late booking and little room for negotiation. I called the general manager at 10:00 the next morning (Crystal) and she said she would get back to me by the end of that day. The following day at 11:00 a different person I haven’t spoken to calls and agrees to reverse the charge but falls short of apologizing because according to her my non smoking room wasn’t actually guaranteed. It was only considered a request. At that point on the phone I was a little lippy but who could blame me, the experience was frustrating, I lost time, and I lost money. In addition, they obviously did not want my future business because they did not offer a coupon, or any incentive to make up for the poor experience.

Therefore, heed this warning: don’t stay at the Portland Airport Clarion unless you want to chance having a smoky room (which is your fault) and journey through a shameful customer service experience! Thanks, John

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoOrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarion2, Hospitality Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2009
As the hospitality manager at the Clarion Hotel-Portland International Airport, I would like to give a response to the review made about the hotel and to apologize for the unpleasant experience this traveler had to endure. We do the best we can to accommodate any needs for our guests, but unfortunately we were unable to meet his that particular night.

On the night of the guest’s stay, the hotel was at maximum capacity and room types were very limited or unavailable. According to the guest’s itinerary, the reservation was made by a travel agency booking the guest for one night for one hotel room without any room type specifications. It did state “NS,” for non-smoking, after “Special Information” at the very end of the itinerary, but this type of request is not guaranteed. We do try our best to meet all special requests; however, due to maximum capacity that evening, we were unable to honor the individual’s request.

The General Manager was very busy due to a full house; therefore, she was unable to review the guest’s itinerary until the next day. After analysis and much consideration, she did reverse all charges. She and the staff were apologetic, but the guest was unreasonable.

The Clarion Hotel strives for great customer service and we do try our best to meet all guests’ needs. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

The room was very clean and comfortable with just enough room. There is a Shari's restaurant across the street and a small shopping center with a Subway sandwich shop and a Chinese Restaurant. A great place to stay the night before your flight.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rudyalaskaAnchorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

great way to try the king tempurpedic bed, nice room good location. Staff did not respond well to the fact the the wifi was not operating and quite vague about local tourist attractions but otherwise they were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4trish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#48 of 141 in Portland
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Dr, Portland, OR 97220-9054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
#41 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing