We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good, just thought clarions were a cut above!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #44 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerman, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good, just thought clarions were a cut above!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had a reservation, and the clerk greeted me by name. Everything was nice and I had no problems. It is just that I stay in hundreds of motels a year and prefer comfort inn and suites. No reason just always know what to expect. I had it in my head that clarions were going to be ultra fabulous. The hall carpets were kinda dingy, and there was some work going on. By the pool hallway. It was ended for the day and everything was just left in the hall surrounded by yellow tape. Again nothing bad just had a higher expectation for a clarion.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olskoolgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Olskoolgman,
Sorry to hear that you were left with a less than ideal impression of our Clarion. We are in the process of renovating the restrooms near the pool. The carpets in the hall way are next on our list of improvements. Holefully you will have a better experience on your next visit.
Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    213
    64
    26
    16
See reviews for
153
227
60
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The room was perfect! The bed was very comfortable! Great location. The shuttle can drop you off at the airport so you can ride the train into downtown. Very easy! My only complaint is the lady at the front desk Toni, is very belittling. She is disconnected and acts like you are a bother.
The Shuttle driver, Jay was very helpful!!
The Wifi was very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b2bcome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
b2bcome,

I am glad that the room was to your liking and that you found our beds comfortable! Our location near the airport does make getting to the public transportation very easy which is a great perk indeed! We are working to resolve the issues with wifi, as it has recently become apparent to us that it is lacking. I will be discussing with Toni about her demeanor at work to make sure this does not become a problem with other guests as well. Thank you for bringing it to my attention! We hope that you will stay with us again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Carpet very dirty, room smells like stale smoke, construction in hallway with caution tape is hazard. Wi Fi does not work in room. Clerks and manager at front desk acknowledged inadequate wi fi coverage as a known issue, but claimed the only way to reboot the router is from inside the 'attic'! Adamant that there was nothing to be done and my only choice would be to sit in the lobby area to access their wi-fi! Advertising Complimentary W-Fi high speed internet is FALSE, so if you get a room on the end of a hallway you better not need access, even though the cost of the room included this feature. Could not recommend the hotel. Very disappointing attitude and service effort based on my experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mably
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
mably,

Sorry to hear that you had trouble with your Wi-Fi connection. We will look into the routers and see if we are experiencing any issues.

Thank you
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Attempted to check in on July 11 on a park/fly reservation as we have done quite a number of times on the past. Upon check- in the desk clerk said my credit card was not valid, which I thought not possible since it is a new card and I had used it twice that day. So, I gave her another card and got the same response. A third card also did not work. Since there was no manager on duty, at 5 PM, and she said one would not be there until the next day! She called whoever was driving their shuttle van and he told her not to check anyone in without a valid credit card. I asked her if he was the best choice of whom to call and she told me she called him because he knows more than she does.
I called a neighboring property to confirm if they had rooms available which they did. I cancelled my existing reservation with the Clarion and as she was writing the cancellation number on my copy she advised I might be charged for canceling a reservation after 4 PM. And this was because their system either wasn't working or she was not executing it properly.
I the checked into another hotel and my card mysteriously worked fine. We then had dinner and another card that was rejected at the Clarion worked fine.
I called from another city the next day and asked to speak to the manager and was told there was no manager on duty; I explained I was told the day before that there would be. The desk person then switched me into a female's voicemail and I explained the previous day's fiasco and left a contact number asking for a return call. It's Tuesday night and nothing.
We have noticed a marked turnover of personnel and sharp decline in service at this property lately. To leave a property in the hands of inexperienced or unprepared staff with no sound means of their being able to seek help or advice is inexcusable.
I have already cancelled a future reservation and will not be returning to this property again.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eye-on-ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Eye-on-ocean
We thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I apologize that this experience fell short of your expectations.

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I purchased this through Hotwire and was given a room on the third floor. The room was clean but it smelled like someone had very strong body odor. I had them assign me a new room.

I saved $20 off of the published rate. The hall carpets are tired and need to be replaced. The room was clean. Not too far from the airport. It is located on hotel row.

The manager needs to pay more attention to detail. There was a light that was not working next to the bed and the desk lamp outlet did not work.

Room Tip: Smell the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skatingtoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Skatingtoolman

We are sorry to hear that our accommodations did not meet up to you standards. We strive to deliver an exceptional experience for all of our guests.

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was chosen because of its location just off Interstate 205 -- it was clean and reasonably comfortable, but there are very few restaurants in the area so you would probably need to drive to get something to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Mark H
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Looking forward to your next visit.
Thank you,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Good:
Accessible to Portland/Vancouver. Pretty decent rooms--luxurious in style.

The Bad:
Called ahead and was told we would receive a free room upgrade to a jacuzzi sweet before driving down from Canada. Upon arriving to check in to our room at 2AM, the GSA informed us that we still were assigned the same room type as before, that ALL jacuzzi sweets were occupied for the duration of our stay, and that she had no information about what the other agent had told us on the phone. So, basically, I'm assuming they gave our upgrade away to someone else so that they could make more money. Very disappointing.

Flipping through TV channels, porn popped up on one of the HBO stations! Very upset about this! It should be pay-per-view only!

The bedding looked as though someone had already slept in it. Might just be in need of buying new sheets.

The appliances, and even the desk, are outdated and falling apart. The carpet in the main hallways looks like it should have been replaced years ago. The elevators also need a good renovation.

Ice machine being used in the wee hours woke us up repeatedly--very noisy. Probably due to the fact that the door has large gaps at the bottom and on the sides (light pours through).

Housekeeper knocked on door at 10AM until we answered, even though we had the DO NOT DISTURB sign up.

They have signs that say NO SMOKING WITHIN 10 FEET OF BUILDING, and yet, they have a large ash tray only a couple feet from the doors.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the ice machine, and be careful when flipping through the HBO channels (I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Philip S
We appreciate your feedback, and thank you for sharing your experience.
Thank you
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#47 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Dr, Portland, OR 97220-9054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#33 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing