We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near PDX; Beware of "Media Access" fee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near PDX; Beware of "Media Access" fee”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay near PDX. Nice big rooms; decent breakfast; free wifi; reasonable rates. Free shuttle to airport; pool. However, recently the hotel had started adding a "Media Access Assessment" of $1.50 per night. It doesn't matter whether you access any media, you must pay this. So I'm dropping my rating until they reconsider this shady practice.

So when you are comparing hotels, remember to add $1.50 to the room rate for the Clarion!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are quiet, even the ones near the ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTooMuch55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
TravelTooMuch55

Thank you for staying with us at the Clarion. We appreciate your comments.

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    221
    65
    27
    15
See reviews for
157
235
61
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very comfortable, close and the cheapest deal we found close to the airport after getting bumped off of a flight. Shuttles every half hour - they provided travel amenities and toiletries we did not have because of checking bags - service was excellent - very nice employees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_v_peterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
john_v_peterson

Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I confused an overnight flight we had to be the day before, so as we arrived at the airport, after returning the rental car, we were shocked to find the flight was the next night. We were visiting a friend in Eugene 2 hours away and now had no car and no place to stay and needed to get home for the second part of our trip. The airline gave us a list of hotels and recommended the Clarion first. They gave a great rate, picked us up and brought us back the next day. The staff was extremely understanding and helpful, especially when we were so distressed and exhausted. The beds were very comfy, the bathroom was very clean and modern, and the included breakfast the next morning was a full and delicious breakfast. We felt refreshed and made great time on catching our changed flight.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlerAlyssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
TravlerAlyssa
We work closely with a number of the airlines to help their passengers is tough situations. Thank you for staying with us. I hope your next stay in Portland brings you to us.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Clarion to close to the airport because we had a 6:30 am flight. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. They put breakfast out for the early travelers at 3 am. The shuttle to the airport was free and we tipped the driver. I would recommend this nice hotel to any travelers because of the convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrietMcHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
HarrietMcHenry
We appreciate the positive review you have posted about your experience here at the Clarion. We look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here with members of my family. Loved our stay, hotel was extremely modern and clean. I have to rave of the beds, so extremely comfortable. The whole family thought so and tried to figure out what type of mattress they were? Memory Foam Mattress maybe? Whatever it was, it was a very comfortable and relaxing sleep. Airplanes can be a little loud, but heard once or twice was so comfortable didn't even bother me. Breakfast was very good and had a great selection. Only complaint was that the fitness equipment could use an update.l am a runner, and picked this hotel due to having a good fitness center from the pictures. I got up early to run to find the very old treadmill was broken. :( Kind of a bummer! Unfortunately, the hotel was so awesome, not a very big deal :) Thanks Clarion Inn, we will return if in the area :) My 2 year old loved looking out at the water which is a great view:) We loved the view :)

Room Tip: Liked being up on the 4th floor, you have a good view of the river behind :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmb0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
cmb0607
Thank you for that lovely review. The mattress is a Tempur-Pedic Pressure Relieving Swedish Mattress. I apolgize about the treadmill. Someone walked off with the safety switch for it. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
906 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was a free stay using Choice Privileges points, so I won't complain, but I will make some observations on my one night stay. First, Jeff at the front desk is one of the best I've seen in terms of keeping things running smoothly, singlehandedly. After he checked me in, a tour bus full pulled up and within 30 minutes the lobby was clear of people and luggage-and he was working the desk by himself! Other than that, I don't have any other pleasantries to offer.

The carpets are badly stained, the sink in the bathroom is entirely too small and the furnishings look cheap and probably are. I will say, however, that the bed was very comfy and the Internet was fast and free. Unfortunately, I had an early flight, so didn't stay for breakfast, but I hear its decent. However, due to the plethora of hotels in the vicinity, I'd probably choose the Courtyard or Staybridge Suites if I were returning to the area and wanted to be near the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
romadaro

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with Jeff and our bed. Jeff is an asset here at the Clarion. I am sorry that you won't be staying with us on your next trip to the area.

Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
301 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We came down to Portland for the day and decided to stay close to the airport as it was most convienent for us. Staff was helpful and pleasant. Our room was very large and beds were comforable and we did get a good night sleep. We did have a view of the pond behind the hotel, but it really needs some work around it to be a great view. We did our laundry while there and that was convienent, but $2 for a dry was too much. They tack on a few minor fees for "media acess assessment" ($1.50) and tourism levy ($2.25). The only issue I saw was that they hallway capets were a stained and needed to be cleaned or replaced. Breakfast was very good and a nice way to fill up for our exploring around Portand. I think this was a good choice for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werbrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Werbrichfamily

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. The media access assessment was recently added to lessen the cost of watching individual movies. Guests now have access to dozens of movies for a minimal charge. The tourism levy is a fairly new tax imposed by the city of Portland. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Thank you,
Don Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#48 of 141 in Portland
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Portland Airport

Property: Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Address: 11518 NE Glenn Widing Dr, Portland, OR 97220-9054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Portland
#41 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#41 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Portland International Airport is a 101 room property where you will feel right at home. All of our rooms have lake views, we offer Tempur-pedic mattresses (ask for our Deluxe Rooms), a hot free breakfast and of course an airport shuttle. Perfect for a business traveler or a family getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Portland
Portland Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing