We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
Nearby Hotels
$159
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentinel(Portland)
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$177
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shilo Inns Portland Airport(Portland)(Great Value!)
$142
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$186
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$319
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (671)
Filter reviews
671 results
Traveler rating
325
233
68
28
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
233
68
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshari's restaurantlake viewportland airportroom was cleanfree breakfastshuttle driverrental carbiscuits and gravyhot breakfastan early flightcolumbia riverpool and hot tubnight's sleepfree parkingking roomcoffee makergreat room
Filter
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 671 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2011

My wife and I had a comfortable and pleasant stay for a week here in August. Compared to other places, our room and bath were large and well maintained. The bath had good quality towels and other amenities. I especially liked the shaving mirror. It was the best I have ever utilized. There was a great view of the large pond behind the hotel to observe nature and fauna. The bed was comfortable and the room had a nice decor and was quiet. There were no problems experienced with the WiFi. It worked well as well as the TV. Our breakfasts were as advertised and the food well maintained and the area kept clean.
The hotel provides a shuttle available to take people to/from the airport. We used the service many times to utilize the MAX train for going into and returning from the downtown. It was about a 25 minute scenic ride. The shuttle drivers were always prompt, helpful and pleasant.
Annette, at the front desk, was quite helpful in familiarizing us with getting around and giving recommendations for eating places in the city. All the staff were pleasant and helpful.
When we return to Portland again, this hotel will be our choice for the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP58_5_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear JP58_5_11,

Thank you so much for leaving us a detailed review! We and other travelers appreciate the attention to detail.
So glad to read that all went well and we have earned your future business.

Sincerely looking forward to your return,

Julia Pislegina-Olson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We selected this particular hotel based on location and reviews. The hotel lived up to the reviews. Rooms were clean, breakfast had several choices, cold and hot. We were ten minutes from the airport. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. We wanted to visit the Italian Festival in downtown Portland. The shuttle bus took us to the airport where we were able to hop on the light rail to downtown. On our return to the airport, a phone call to the hotel brought the shuttle back to pick us up. Much thanks to the staff for a wonderful evening, thanks to them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceMary72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear GraceMary72,

So happy to hear that your stay went smooth and you were satisfied with all the services and amenities provided!
Thank you so much for being our guest,

Hope to have another opportunity to be your home away from home,

Sincerely,

Julia Pislegina-Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was a great value for our night before we left airport hotel. The room was clean and had updated furniture, a comfortable bed, great location in walking distance of Shari's restaurant and great van service to the airport. For a value priced room, this worked out well for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear pikala,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I am glad to see you were satisfied with everything and we met your expectations!
Thank you so much for being our guest and we hope to see you again,

Sincerely,

Julia Pislegina-Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We just stayed at the Clarion for 2 nights last weekend. We've always stayed downtown (Lucia, Deluxe, Benson,Hilton) but the prices for the weekend were so expensive that the 2 nights at the Clarion is less than one night downtown. The Clarion is just off the freeway so getting on and off is a breeze. It only takes 10 minutes on the freeway to get downtown (during non rush hour traffic). The downtown hotels don't offer what the Clarion offers: free parking, free wifi (but somewhat slow) and free buffet breakfast (waffles, muffins, cereals, but also bacon, eggs and warm biscuits). I would definitely consider the Clarion again if I couldn't get a good rate on a downtown hotel.

The pros: price, clean and spacious rooms, easy to get downtown, free wifi, free breakfast, free parking, Cascade Station shopping very close (Ikea, Marshalls, Target, Ross, etc...), good service, check in and out was quick and friendly.

The cons: the hotel is showing its age (hallways carpets are dirty and worn), main level and 1st level ice machines were out of order.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skaterdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear skaterdad,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I am very glad to hear that all was to your satisfaction!
Our location is indeed a good one, we are happy to be so close to the highways but yet far enough and hidden enough to avoid any highway noise. Downtown is just a 10-15 minute drive (given it is not rush hour of course), which makes it for a quick trip to explore the city. And of course we are all about the customer service and the value for our guests, and happy to provide many amenities at no charge, that you would typically pay for at a downtown hotel.
I would also like to make a comment on the "cons" that you listed: first I appreciate your honest feedback for us. Secondly, because we do take our guest feedback very seriously and pass it on to the ownership group I am very happy to report that we have purchased new ice machines and they are currently all in a working order. And also happy to report to our guests that our hallway carpets are going away very very soon, as cleaning them did not help. We are looking forward to brand new carpet that will improve the guest experience.
Again, thank you for your review and we honestly hope to see you come back and stay again!

Sincerely,

Julia Pislegina-Olson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Easy access from I-205 although a bit hidden behind The Shilo Hotel. Rooms are large with usual amenities. Fairly quiet considering location. Good Internet access, WiFi and Ethernet in room. TV was tricky, using Lodgenet System as provider so confusing channel lineup with outdated info in guide. Clean room, comfortable bed and bathroom very good. Really exceptional breakfast buffet.
We used a discount coupon and were given a very smelly smoking room, so watch out for that tradeoff.
Had stayed previously and were quite satisfied.

Room Tip: Look at room before checking in.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionPDXManagement, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Portland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Dear Whiteagle,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
I would like to take the opportunity to mention that we are going away from Lodgenet movie services by the end of the year, we are switching to flat screen TVs and brining in a new provider in hopes it will provide better choices and of course be easier to navigate. We are looking forward to being able to provide a better TV experince and pay per view movies for our guests.
I apologize you were in a smoking room, with the special walk in coupons we only have a limited number of rooms available every night, and that particular night all was left at the coupon walk in special price was a smoking room and you chose to stay. I do, however, understand that is a bit inconvienent. I sincerely hope you will come back and get to experience the non-smoking room here at the hotel.
Thank you again,

Sincerely,

Julia Pislegina-Olson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews