We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Room Layout” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Ranked #50 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Room Layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed two months as I completed a contract assignment. I was treated well by the staff, the room was spacious, and cleaning was done well and timely.The room was more like a suite, which gave it a more homey feel. The one issue I had was that the key cards had to be routinely rekeyed in order to work.

Room Tip: I liked staying on the ground floor. It made it easier to get new key cards when the one issued fail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lascolinasjlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear lascolinasjlf,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time to post your recent review regarding your stay at the Shilo Inn Suites, Portland Airport. It is indeed a compliment to hear of your positive comments regarding the staff, the room, and the cleanliness of the facility, especially from a guest who was on an extended stay. I sincerely apologize for the key issues, and assure you we are working on correcting this. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tim Laib
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    189
    94
    43
    26
See reviews for
179
134
53
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent service and food in restaurant. Suite was large with all amenities I needed. Quite comfortable, safe, and clean. Staff was very accommodating. Excellent shuttle service to and from airport, as well as daily use to train station for trip into downtown Portland. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Womanofhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Womanofhope,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Shilo Inn Suites, Portland Airport. It is a great motivation to our staff and myself when we receive such excellent comments. I will share your comments with all of our departments and staff. We sincerely look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tim Laib
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Easy check-in and out. Nice friendly staff in fact we didn't really have any problems at any of the 7 hotels we stayed in this trip. We were staying here for 3 nights as a handy hotel within driving distance of a wedding we were attending at Hood River. We made use of the handy free airport shuttle bus and from the airport, got the MAX train into the city for a wander round. There was a gym and swimming pool but we were too busy with the wedding stuff to make use. Parking and wi-fi was free and we were given a breakfast vouchers each, enough for one each morning to cover certain choices of breakfast or $3 off other breakfasts on the menu.

The only problem we had here was being next door to a very rowdy family. I swear there were about 7 children stating here with their mother? We had arrived back late one night, about 11.30pm and you could hear who turned out to be this family making a very big racket in the pool. One of those rowdy families that, if you did want to use the pool, you wouldn't want to use it while they were there, a bit off-putting. Luckily I was still up around 1am when I could hear a noise that sounded a bit like an alarm. It wasn't very loud in our room, only when I looked out of our door and heard it even louder as people were running down the corridor in their pjs to the nearest exit. I had to quickly wake up my deaf partner and our son and get out as quick as we could. Turned out to be a false alarm, although I was told when I asked later in the morning that there was an issue with children and we could distinctly smell smoke. I think whatever it was, was caused by those children as, when we came out of our room the children were all distraught and the mother was nowhere to be found until a few minutes later when she casually strolled along from wherever she'd been at the other end of the hall. I'd hate to think what would have happened had it been a real fire and had I also been sleeping. Maybe we should count ourselves lucky!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairybums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Clairybums,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at the Shilo Inn Suites, Portland Airport. I want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the fire alarm and the rowdy children during your stay. Such disruptions can have a very negative impact on a guest’s stay, so I appreciate your other positive comments regarding the hotel and the staff. I do hope you will give us another opportunity and that your next stay will be “less eventful”.

Sincerely,

Tim Laib
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice large rooms with separate "kitchen" area (coffee, refrigerator, microwave, and seating). Rooms were clean, a bit dated but fine. For breakfast we took advantage of the continental on one morning (decent), the restaurant on another (very good). Particularly appreciated the laundry facilities and exercise room. Easy to get to from the freeway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear PattyLN,

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of the Shilo Inn Suites, Portland Airport on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to experience our amenities such as the complimentary breakfast options, the 24 hour pool, spa, and fitness center and our complimentary evening wine reception. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Tim Laib, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This property is a bit dated, I think it was built around 1989 and it does show. Other than that, the rooms are large, the staff is courteous and our group (six rooms for five days) did not have any complaints. There are two options for complimentary breakfast, one is the typical continental buffet with muffins, oatmeal, danish, OJ, milk, coffee and such the other is in the restaurant. The restaurant breakfast is eggs to order, ham or bacon or sausage, potato, toast and coffee and is very nice, although the service is a little slow, the breakfast is much better than the continental. So if you are in a hurry then go for the buffet breakfast, if not then hit the restaurant.

The indoor swimming pool and weight room are nice as is the laundry room. The only real complaint that I have is the amount of time we waited for the shuttle at the airport, although, I am not sure that it was the hotel's fault. It could be because of the traffic around the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The worst front desk customer service ever!!! Second day, no room service, no clean towels, nothing! Front desk can't understand why I am frustrated at 10:00 pm. She says "what do you want me to do?" I said some clean towels would help. I then call back to say I need clean coffee mugs, water glasses, etc, and I get attitude. When I ask her why she is giving me attitude, she says she cannot understand my frustration ... REALLY!! Well, someone came to the room immediately and gave us what we need for tomorrow but that front desk person needs much training!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Plumdeb,

I want to sincerely thank you for letting me know about your recent experience at the Shilo Inn Suites Portland Airport. I want to extend my personal apologies for the bad customer service you received and assure you that I will corrective action to prevent this happening from another guest. It is completely unacceptable for any employee to display such attitude to one of our guests. I appreciate you letting me known about your experience and hope that it will not prevent you from giving us another opportunity.

Sincerely,

Tim Laib, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Comfortable room in good location. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Had a problem with key/lock and had to exchange keys 2-3 times each day. No one suggested having the lock checked by maintenance until we checked out. We did breakfast in the restaurant. Food was only average and one day the service was very slow. Would stay here again when visiting Portland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#47 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Address: 11707 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#39 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's natural beauty, mild climate, and friendly people will be enhanced when you stay at the newly updated Shilo Inn Suites Hotel located near the Portland Airport. Catering to Portland's business travelers and vacationers to the great Northwest, the 200 room full service conference hotel has over 10,400 sq ft of flexible meeting space. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Portland
Portland Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing