We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I booked this hotel on a travel site . When booking they said there where no non-smoaking rooms left so I had to take a smoaking room. When I arrived and checked-in they said I could up grade to a non-smoaking room for a little more money. I did not up grade. That first morning house keeping knocked on the door at around 9 or 9:30 we where not even up yet so we told them to come back later. They didnot return so I put the door hanger out that said room needs cleaning, they still did not clean. So we retired for the evening in a dirty room and left in the morning. I would not recomend this hotel. Its dirty run down and has poor housekeeping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkhunter4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,157 - 1,163 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rebekah G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank AliceM123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Freda P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I used to live in PDX. Sandy Blvd. is essentially nowheresville. HOWEVER, since the freeway traffic has become Seattle and LA like in Portlandia, if you stay on Sandy in this neighborhood off 82nd, close to airport but not really with the airport noise, you are only 6 miles from the river to downtown and it only takes about 10-15 mins. in normal non-heavy Sandy Blvd traffic. This is actually a good thing. Sandy runs on an an angle down to the city and that is a good thing.

Regarding the HoJo, it is East Indian run. Trust me I love India-I eat Korma whenever I can. That being said, things are dusty, old and stinky-particularly in the hallways, not so much in the room.

Pros: Low price, pretty quiet neighborhood, microwave and mini-fridge.
Cons: Typical old cooling/heating unit on the wall, decor is right out of 1982.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolverine154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#94 of 144 in Portland
321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#103 of 144 in Portland
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#93 of 144 in Portland
38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#76 of 144 in Portland
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Portland Airport

Address: 8247 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $60 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Need a place to sleep, eat and feel like home? Howard Johnson Portland Airport is the place for you. With recently renovated rooms, free Hot Deluxe Breakfast Including Waffles, Oatmeal, Juices and other great items, adjacent award-winning Indian Food Restaurant "Namaste", free shuttle service to and from the PDX Airport. Located within a Walking distance of "The Grotto". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Quality Inn Portland Airport
Portland Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing