We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, fantastic value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Ranked #9 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Castelfranco Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

My room was clean, spacious, with new furniture and a great 42" LCD screen. Staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is in a very convenient position, near tons of nice small restaurants, pubs and shops. Buses and Streetcar provide a good connection with downtown. Definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelegera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    184
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
121
206
27
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

We spent 4 nights at the Silver Cloud downtown Portland. The hotel is clean, modern, spacious. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. There is a free shuttle which we took advantage of to get downtown. The streetcar is a few blocks away and easy to use. There's a bus stop right out the front of the hotel. We only used our car once our entire stay! Free breakfast that we didn't take advantage of. There are great restaurants and coffee shops within easy walking distance. Free wi-fi in the room. Fridge and microwave in room worked well. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - quiet when away from busy Vaughn St. Free parking is the reason we booked there and it was a huge plus - not only free, but safe. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to Portland! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TwoTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2008

We made a last minute decision to stay at the Silver Cloud Inn, which mostly worked out fine. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is excellently located at the end of the 23rd St. commercial strip (there are also some lovely businesses on Thurman St. behind the hotel). It's also within a couple of blocks of a freeway entrance--lots of traffic in rush hour, but convenient for driving travelers. We stayed on the back side which faced a minor street, so it was quite quiet.

There's free parking but it seemed like there's enough bus service that you could comfortably stay there car-free if you wanted to. It was clean, it was a bit more attractive than average, it had a big flat screen TV.

The only complaint comes from our 12 year old (who is on the small side) who said that the twin sofabed in that king-twin room was too small even for her.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

I stayed here for 2 weeks while a family member was in the Legacy Good Samaritan Hospital. Hotel is at the edge of a nice residential area with many small restaurants and shops. It is a 6 block walk to hospital and the hotel has special hospital rates. Before staying here, I stayed a few days at the Northrup Station Inn, a trendy hotel which is only a block from hospital but much more expensive. There is only one other hotel near the hospital which I did not try as it was further away.

The Silver Cloud has an attached parking garage. The desk and other staff are friendly and helpful. I made good use of the free laundry, 2 washers and 2 dryers, on the 2nd floor. I also made good use of the free internet access in the lobby. The continental breakfast consists of the typical breads, cereals, juices, etc. but does also have waffle makers.

The hotel was doing an exterior renovation while I was there. The interior was in very good condition. The rooms are of a standard size and layout. The only propblem I had was that some of the rooms have heat/air units that are not old but do not work well. The hotel is working on replacing these but I had to try 3 rooms before I found one that would cool the room to the low 70's at night. Luckily there is a large sliding window that can be opened.

If you like Italian food, try the Pastini Pastaria at 1506 NW 23rd Ave. I ate here many times as the food was good, was more reasonably priced than many other restaurants in the area, and it is halfway between the Silver Cloud and Good Sam. Also, if you have someone in Good Sam Hospital, park near the top of parking garage #2 and use the doors on level G to enter the hospital. This puts you the closest to the ICU and hospital rooms as garage #1 is reserved for staff.

  • Liked — cleanliness and nearness to Good Sam Hospital
  • Disliked — some rooms have heat/air units that don't work well
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caneyfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed 5 nights in the hotel.
The location was just great, just a few blocks away from 23rd street, so you can reach all nice restaurants as well as shops within walking distance. Also the pearl district is not really far.
The rooms have a reasonable size and some nice details such as flatscreen an aveda bath items.
Staff is friendly and professional.

This is not a nice trendy beautique hotels.

The breakfast is pretty down to earth, you are close to the highway. It looks like a lot of other hotels.

If you are looking for a hotel to spend your honeymoon: Better choose something else.

If you want to walk and shop all the day: Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis7804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

On a recent road trip from the San Francisco bay area, 4 of us spent one night at the Silver Cloud Inn. It is very well located -- just far enough from the center of the city to be more reasonably priced than downtown hotels, but close enough that we were in the midst of things in 10 minutes. The hotel is just a few blocks from the trendy shops and restaurants of NW23rd Street. We booked two rooms, one of which was to be a wheelchair accessible room. The person who checked us in, Lindsay, was polite, helpful, friendly, and professional, giving us a positive impression of the hotel from the moment we arrived. Both rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and flat-screen TVs. The room described as "wheelchair accessible" really was wheelchair accessible (roll-in shower, wide doorways, etc.). The breakfast, included in the price of the room, was generous and nicely presented, with helpful staff replenishing items as they got low. (No having to chase down someone to refill the coffee!) Best of all, since we were one week into a two-week road trip, there were washers and dryers available for guests -- at no cost!

  • Liked — price/quality ration
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RealisticReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2008

The Silver Cloud is a wonderful value. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Very nice large HD flat screen tv's, refrigerator and microwave in every room, and comfortable beds. The hotel is well run and is well staffed. Staff is polite and helpful. the breakfast is excellent...make your own waffles, all kinds of breads and pastries, fruit, juice, hard boiled eggs, a variety of cereals, cheese, etc. Great location for walking to excellent restaurants. Don't miss a great Italian restaurant.
..Serratto on 21st Street. Dinner is excellent...but the real deal is happy hour seven days a week from 4:30- 6PM...$4 wine, incredible bar menu!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Western View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Property: Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Address: 2426 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing