We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient, comfortable, plus parking....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Ranked #9 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Welches, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“convenient, comfortable, plus parking....”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A very conveniently located, clean and comfortable hotel. Friendly staff that remembers you. Protected parking ( a plus in this part of Portland where parking is at a premium) observable by the front desk staff. Ample breakfast, fresh fruit to waffles, rooms are large, comfy with lge. TV, frig, micro and coffeepot....couches and club chairs so you don't have to sit on the bed to read a book. Walking distance to one of the trendiest part of town, shops, restaurants, pubs.
This place is a regular for us.

Room Tip: Stay here often, haven't had a bad room yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franmazzara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    186
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
122
207
27
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Once I booked online, I immediately called for special arrangements (asked for a bigger room and also to have a later checkout since I was checking in at a later time). All staff involved were willing to accommodate and my stay was perfect. From the front desk to the room, the inn was well lit, clean, and quiet. I heard no other patrons through the walls. I stayed for a wintery night: the room was warm and the water immediately turned hot so I could defrost properly. Sheets were clean, room was not dusty, and the clean bathroom was stocked with plenty of towels. This place also has an attached covered garage which could be accessed quickly from both ends of the building. Overall, I'd stay here again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Call ahead for special arrangements and let the staff know what kind of room your looking for so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here last weekend. It was clean and suitable for a shopping vacation. Staff was very helpful. Not the best sound proofing - I could hear the women next door sneeze. Easy on and off the freeway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbmarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This facility is definitely overpriced for the amenities offered. No pool, an exercise room as big as a closet, and questionable air conditioning. The rooms don't smell healthy and the low ceilings contribute to dark and oppressive ambience. The location is extremely poor. Would not recommend this hotel except for in the case of emergency accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celloduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlManager, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
I was sorry to hear that our hotel fell short of your needs. This hotel does have a smaller footprint and we do not have room for a pool. I am not sure what you paid but I would have loved to discuss options while you were here. Your feedback will be passed along.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Silver Cloud about a dozen times now, spread over more than ten years. The last three years I have been there about twice a year. Although the interior has not been changed or redecorated, it is a good quality hotel. The rooms are clean and it usually is pretty busy. As the building is a wooden building there is an occasional sound from other rooms. Vaughn street can sometimes be a bit noisy, if you're on that side of the building you will hear the traffic pretty well. Staff is kind, breakfast is served with care and a smile.

Early checking in is possible, even announced last minute, which is great if you have traveled intercontinental. Once I get back in Portland, I will again stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 70tons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Zip off the 405/30 bridge and you're 1 minute from the lobby. Walking to everything in the Alphabet district (21st & 23rd Ave.) for great food, coffee, bars, brews, pool, shopping. Want to get to the West? Catch 405 south to 26 West...5 minutes to the zoo, 12 min. to Intel or Nike, 20 minutes to Pumpkin Ridge for the best golf in Portland. Breakfast is included (albeit not the most healthy but hot scrambled eggs & breakfast sausages, coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit, pastries). Very clean room & large LG flat screen LCD TV (50") in each room. Friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALCardsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am so thrilled that we stayed here...i would definitely stay here again. It's about 4 stories with enough parking out back and next to the lobby. Really loved the area. We walked around to some restaurants during the day and at night and we felt safe...even in the rain. Silver cloud inn has 24hour complimentary coffee and hot tea in the breakfast area, free morning paper, WiFi, free laundry facilities (laundry soap at the front desk was about $1) and breakfast. Breakfast was the usual- cereal, toast, muffins/pastries, eggs, meat and waffles. But better than nothing, we were happy with it. Just keep in mind that on the weekdays they serve breakfast from 6am-9am and i think 7am-10am on the weekends....we didn't realize that coming in on a Saturday so when we went down for breakfast on Monday morning at about 9am and everything was already put away. Room was nice and cozy-just wish we were on the higher floor so we could really hear the rain coming down...doors to the room are kind of thin because we could hear when people would close their doors somewhere down the hall and these doors don't close quietly. Also we were on the second floor and either the floors are pretty thin too or the people above us really stomp around when they walk but we could hear them walking up there every once and a while. Other than that we LOVED our stay!

Room Tip: Try to get the highest floor if you don't want to hear footsteps above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cozmickissez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#6 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Property: Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Address: 2426 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#13 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing