We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another happy stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Ranked #9 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another happy stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had another great stay at this hotel, it has a nice location that is not in the hustle and bustle of downtown but still allows you great access to everything Portland. They have added a second waffle maker and improved the breakfast somewhat since I last stayed there which was a real treat. Staff was friendly, check in was easy, hotel was full but didn't feel full and the rooms are a good size.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    176
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
116
195
26
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were delighted with the excellent service. It didn't feel like a chain. The desk staff was always friendly and informative. All their suggestions were accurate and useful - from getting around without a car to choosing excellent restaurants. We arrived on a Tuesday and were amazed at the wonderful "customer appreciation" treat - great food with beer and wine. Breakfasts were also impressive with all the essentials and several unexpected extras. Our room was large with king bed, sofa, refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc. Laundry facilities were also available. Finally, we had a free shuttle to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKM-Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Silvercloud had large clean rooms, but I would have expected more for $189 night. Yes this did include a simple breakfast, but by and large this is a motor hotel. Oh and there was that issue of the lumpy bed...

Maybe I need to compare this to other hotels in the area, but I've stayed in nicer hotels in Seattle, New York and Washington for less money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caljang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlManager, General Manager at Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet expectations.
In the last year we have added scrambled eggs and sausage to our Deluxe Continental Breakfast.
I was a little surprised to hear about the bed, as all of the mattresses are new in the last couple of years and are on a quarterly rotation program.
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We enjoyed our beautifully appointed, quiet room, in the tony Northwest neighborhood of Portland. Parking at their site is free to guests, and you can walk to great restaurants on 21st and 23rd Streets. Staff were friendly and helpful. Full breakfast was hot and tasty. Tuesday evening "Manager's Reception" was a pleasant surprise, and proved to be a very nice dinner. The room featured a double sink outside the bathroom, real glass cups and ceramic mugs, and a local paper outside our door in the morning. Would stay here again, and would seek out their other locations as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Spent 8 nights at this property, the first half was with lots of family visiting Portland for a wedding. Mgt put us together on the 4th floor, which was very convenient, and our merry-making didn't bother other guests. We had a spacious double room with a wheelchair accessible bathroom. I don't need a roll-in shower but that is available as well. There were two sinks just inside the room door. We were able to open our window, which we did all week as the weather was gorgeous! Having the fresh air instead of the air conditioner was wonderful.
When we first arrived, was put off by the 'industrial' nature of the immediate neighborhood - there was even a smell of burnt rubber in the air. However, many good restaurants, cafes, and boutique stores were very close by and easily reached on foot/wheelchair. The bus stop for Rtes 15 and 77 is just outside the hotel entrance and provided easy access to downtown. We also were able to get to the streetcar easily, which is a little further.
The only reason I'm not rating this property with 5 stars is the poor coffee (No excuses as there is a premium roaster just down the street, and Portland IS a coffee town!), and the fan in the bathroom was obnoxiously loud with no option to turn it off without losing the light source. I would DEFINITELY return to the Portland Silver Cloud Inn.

Room Tip: very good for wheelchair users
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is located in a nice quiet neighborhood. Friendly staff helped us with transportation options. It's close to a park with great running, hiking and mountain biking trails. Good breakfast and nice clean rooms. Rooms also nice size.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POTOMAC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. The hotel was pretty good-- room was big and clean, breakfast pretty good for a hotel breakfast -- yogurt, cereal, hot food, fruit, good coffee. The only drawnack was that it is not cemtrally located. It's a 10 or 15 minute walk to the streetcar, which we used a lot to get to attractions. There are a couple of good coffee places and a couple of restaurants within a few blocks, but the more interesting ones are a bit of a walk. We never felt that the area was unsafe, though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#24 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Downtown
The Mark Spencer
The Mark Spencer
#15 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Property: Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Address: 2426 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing