We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Northrup Station(Portland)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crystal Hotel(Portland)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palms Motel(Portland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
316
203
38
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
203
38
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingnob hillcovered parkingrestaurants and shopsaveda productsforest parkalphabet districtwithin walking distancefreeway accessroom was cleanindustrial areacomplimentary breakfastfew blocksmake your own wafflesshort walkeasy accesswould definitely stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 569 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Notable positives - comfortable room, friendly and engaged front desk staff, excellent breakfast (included), parking (included), great shower head pressure, usable refrigerator in room, great restaurants within walking distance with interesting local flavor along the way.

Notable negatives - no in room safe, not enough pillows, only one sink (in bathroom proper), limited number of electrical plugs, limited TV channel selection.

Would definitely stay here again and will investigate other Silver Cloud Inns in the Northwest.

Room Tip: At first we were concerned having a street facing room. We were on the 4th floor and the trees were effective in blocking noise. Bottom line - noise from the street was no problem at all.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We are on a whirl wind annual visit to Oregon. We drove from Salem to Portland and have stayed at the Silver Cloud before. It's clean, up to date furnishings, great staff support. Free parking and breakfast. It's off the beaten path a bit, but close to shi shi shopping areas. Portland is easy to get around. Nice view from the back rooms. Very affordable and recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the busy street - NW Vaughn.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Came into Portland for 24 hours to do a marathon. This hotel was the "official" hotel and closest to the start-line (which was Sauvie Island).

I was a bit concerned by other reviews (TA and elsewhere) that commented the neighbourhood was questionable, but I wasn't planning any late-night escapades so I booked a room. The hotel is actually on the edge of an established, somewhat gentrified, area near Good Samaritan Hospital and borders a light industrial area called Montgomery Park.

On check-in (which was efficient and friendly) my room was as requested (top-floor king) and I was advised that breakfast would be at 4:30 am to accommodate all the runners who had to be on the bus at 5 am. That was a welcome adjustment on their part, as was the easy extension of checkout so I could shower before hitting the airport.

The front desk gave me a recommendation for a place with "local" character (not a chain) and a map of nearby 23 Ave NW which is teeming with cafes and shops only 2-3 blocks from the hotel.

That evening I strolled through the neighbourhood looking for the "seedy" character but instead found a pleasant mix of housing, some old, row houses or gentrified apartments, some newer duplex townhomes. Some people where on their porch with a radio broadcasting NPR which hardly seems sinister. I also found a great local organic grocery, and plenty other nice local businesses.

In short, I see no reason to be concerned about the area around the hotel and think it would be a nice place to live!

Anyway, the hotel was very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was very good and constantly refreshed. And the ultimate item was that on checkout the clerk realised I was a runner so she adjusted my rate by having me "associate" myself with the shoe company sponsor. A great saving for me!

If you don't need to be downtown, and don't want to be right on the highway, check it out!

Room Tip: Wooden floors tend to creak so if you are a light sleeper go for the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

On a driving trip from Vancouver B.C. to Ashland Oregon we needed a comfortable mid priced stopover in Portland Oregon and found the Silver Cloud Inn which fit all our needs. It had well appointed, clean, comfortable rooms, plus they upgraded us to a deluxe room for no charge! The location was perfect as we looked out the back onto a leafy residential neighbourhood in northwest Portland. The front of the hotel faced a more industrial area.
The map given to us at the front desk was very helpful. Right around the corner on 23rd was a row of funky, interesting stores and restaurants, so finding a good place for dinner was no problem. There was a small workout room, free newspapers delivered to our door, free WiFi, free parking (hard to get at downtown Portland hotels) and a good buffet breakfast. What more do you need for a one night stay?

Room Tip: The rooms out the back are quieter and have a better view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights in May; the room was good, beds comfortable, relatively inexpensive. Complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. Parking was great - we were on the third floor, next to the exit, so were able to park next to it, and had a very short walk to the car. The neighborhood is interesting, with lots of different restaurants and pubs within a short walk. The staff were pleasant and easy to work with - in general, a good experience.

Room Tip: A room at the rear would be preferable.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newfoundlander_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews