We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't wait to go again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the first time at the Silver Cloud and my first time staying in this area. The staff were very friendly and professional. The rooms were clean and I thought the cost was reasonable for the area. The best part was being able to walk a few short blocks to Restraunts, Bistros, Clubs, Stores, Busses and Trollies. Diversefied people and menus. It also is a short bus ride to the Rose Garden for shows or concerts (that was why went, a concert). I would go again just to walk down town and be a tourist. Oh yeah, the weather happened to be just beautiful.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms (at least on the 3rd floor) seemed quieter than our friends room on the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty8505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 556 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel offers great service, clean, quiet rooms in a great location of Portland. All the other hotels we looked at were more expensive and also charged for internet and parking. Silver Cloud has free internet, free parking, free breakfast. Everything about his hotel was easy. Our room was $119 a night and had 2 queen beds, a love seat, desk, tv, mini fridge and FREE LAUNDRY!
I took the advise of other trip advisor members and got a room on the 2nd floor facing away from the street. Quiet and peaceful.
Great area for eating. NW21st Ave has Kens Artisian Bakery which can not be missed. Try their Oregon Crossiant. Many other great restaurants can be found on NW23rd and NW21st which is only blocks away. Also easy access to highway to explore other areas of Portland!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marked_absent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is one of my Portland favorites and have stayed here since they first opened and the rooms were were $45.
It is a clean and safe traveling sales person's motel, where I have often brought my family and business associates.
The price is reasonable and location excellent. Good restaurants are within a short walk or short car ride.it is a safe neighborhood for walking.
Conveniently near major freeway off ramps and close to downtown business districts.
A decent light breakfast is complimentary but there are plenty of excellent breakfast and coffee places close by, including a Kobos Coffee across the street.
By staying here one avoids downtown traffic and parking problems. Saving at least $25 for overnight parking makes it a value. Being close to Portland's premier restaurant district is great.
It is showing its age and is an upscale motel, not a fancy premier hotel, but the money saved is enough for a fancy meal.
Service is cordial and efficient.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked this room as we were driving to Portland. It is on the edge of the city (as I see it) but close to everything we wanted to do and see (and it was the best price of any in the area). The staff was friendly and helpful providing us a map with directions to all of our planned destinations. Our room (320) was clean and comfortable and really quite nice. A bonus is the Aveda shampoo and lotion they provide their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyandBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is an excellent hotel for an extended stay. Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean, ample space, small but good hotel gym with bike, elliptical, treadmill and free weights, free and fast Wi/Fi, close to the highway, free parking, free area shuttle and substantial hot breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt). 5-10 min or less walk to the lovely shops and restaurants of NW 23rd. And the streetcar (you can get free tickets if you ask). Would definitely stay here again. Portland is an amazing city - do try Dragonfly Cafe around the corner, Vivace Cafe for crepes, ESan Thai, Pizzicato pizza, the list goes on.

Room Tip: the deluxe king was very spacious and comfortable with ample desk space - choose a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Every visit here has been very good. Clean, well sized rooms. Always space in the car park. Convenient to the shops and restaurants of NW 23rd street. Breakfast is good, scrambled eggs, waffles and sausage. Helpful desk staff. Easy access to I-405 via the US30 spur.

Room Tip: The standard king size rooms are on the street side, others are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajero952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A basic clean hotel which met all our creature comforts. Easy access to NW town and shopping streets on 21st and 23rd. Friendly staff who were very helpful when called on. Breakfast could have been better which was served on all plastic disposable plates etc.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank globetrotterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#12 of 144 in Portland
1,097 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,637 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Address: 2426 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $136 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing