We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had stayed at the Silver Cloud Inn many years ago, but hadn't since then due to the location. I was recently reminded what a great place it is to stay in.

You really do need a car since it's far from most places in town. However, it's a 10 min drive from the east side of the river, and less than 5 mins to downtown. The rooms were very comfortable, and while we had a street side room, I found it to be very quiet, even on a weekend. Also loved the candy dish in the lobby.

Even though you need a car to access many things in town, a few eateries are walking distance. We had breakfast one morning at Besaw's, which was a cool diner just down the road from it. The hotel is also near Nob Hill, which has alot of cool shops.

I definitely recommend staying here, even if out of the way a bit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 557 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

Wonderful location! There were numerous restaurants nearby that were all fantastic and provided a taste of the west coast seafood that is so famous in Oregon. The hotel was also juts a few blocks from the tram into downtown. The front desk was extremely helpful for restaurant ideas, maps of downtown, etc... The lobby was friendly and comforting and while on business, this plus a full breakfast with plenty of choices made my stay much easier. The room was extremely clean, updated and quiet. This was a wonderful hotel, and will definitely be staying there again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsadancer146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I hate giving away good secrets, but the Silver Cloud Inn Portland deserves some recognition for the qualtiy hotel that they are. This is the perfect business hotel for Portland. It is located in NW Portland, just off of the interstate in a quiet neighborhood that has pleanty of great restaurants, pubs and coffee bars within a short walk of the loby. There is free parking, which is a must for any road warrior and a full breakfast that is included in the rate and occasionally they have happy hours with free beer and wine.
There is nothing flashy about this hotel in a city full of "too cool for school" boutique hotels. The rooms are big and clean, the WIFI is fast, and all the rooms have wall mounted flat screen TVs. It is all you need for a business hotel.
It is nice to come to a hotel where you are recognized and feel appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhelpsRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

My husband and I attended our son's wedding in Portland and had the pleasure of staying in the Silver Cloud Inn for 4 nights in October 2010. We had previously stayed in Downtown Portland on another visit and thought we would try the Nob Hill/23rd Street location. It was a perfect choice. We enjoyed being able to walk out of our hotel to a friendly neighborhood of boutiques, restaurants, coffee houses, wine shops, bakeries and tree lined streets. We appreciated the free parking and the great breakfasts at the inn (including fresh waffles). The rooms were very clean and updated with windows that opened! The staff was so helpful and we will definately stay at the Silver Could Inn again when we return to Portland. The location was very convienent to anything you would want to reach in the greater Portland area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubasusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

My girlfriend had a conference to attend at the Oregon Convention Center, so we took the opportunity to make a mini-vacation out of the trip. The conference hotels near the convention center were pricey and booked, so a little searching found us the Silver Cloud Inn. Having stayed at the Silver Cloud Inn in Tacoma, WA several years ago (put up there by a company seeking to recruit me for work) and remembering our positive experience at that property, we booked this hotel and were very happy with the accommodations.

From the outside, the hotel looks a bit like a dated condominium building. If I were only to judge on outside appearances I might opt for the Holiday Inn Express across the street. But don't let the exterior fool you--it's what's inside that counts.

The interior decor is dated, both in the lobby and the rooms. It's nothing fancy, so don't expect ooh-ahh feelings. Neutral brown speckled wallpaper, neutral brown checkerboard carpet. We had a small suite, with a wet bar and a sitting area, and the green couch, green granite wet bar, and green/tan bedspread were about the only splash of color in an otherwise brown room. But I don't book hotels based on their color scheme--I book for practical reasons of amenities, price, location and convenience. Using those criteria this property shines.

The amenities generally covered all I look for in a hotel. Free covered parking; free wifi (why do some hotels insist on charging, sometimes up to $15 per day, for something as ubiquitous as online connectivity); a 42-inch LG flat screen LCD tv mounted on an articulating bracket, so we could comfortably watch whether in bed or seated on the couch; a wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge, microwave, sink, and real dishes and flatware (and dish soap and a sponge for cleanup); a granite writing desk; and a decent fitness room with treadmill, elliptical, bicycle, and free weights with a weight bench. A 100% smoking-free property meant not having to worry about getting a previous smoking room that had been 'cleaned' (they never smell fresh again). The included breakfast was above-average, with waffle makers, pastries, croissants, bagels, fruit, and a few healthy cereal choices. Don't expect anything hot other than coffee or the waffles, though--no eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy or other breakfast fare to choose from here. The waffles were definitely better than some places where you heat a weird yellow rubbery disc in a toaster, though real breakfast places will serve far better fare.

If you travel with your own electronics for entertainment, bring a set of cables; I was able to connect my laptop to the TV with a DVI cable and an optical audio cable. The TV also has component, composite, and VGA/3.5mm audio cable inputs, so you shouldn't have any problems enjoying your own media on the go--though there were no HDMI ports, which may present a problem for some. I don't care what channels a hotel offers, since I have a SlingPlayer at home and can watch my own cable TV offerings and DVR recordings from home wherever I have internet connectivity.

Do note that the internet speed at this property is somewhat slow; the slingplayer averaged around 200-300kbps connections to my laptop through the wifi (this equates to ~25 to 35 kB per second, rather slow for downloading files or streaming media. Downloading a 1MB file at this speed would take ~35 seconds; a 10MB file would take ~5-6 minutes). I got faster connections speeds going through a tethered 3G phone, but as is often the case with 3G there were significantly more 'hiccups' in the stability of the connection. For browsing the web their internet works fine; for streaming media, it is do-able but not pretty.

The other place where this property shines is the convenient location. The Pearl area, with all its shops and restaurants, was only 10-15 minutes away. The hotel is located next to a major on/off ramp to the interstate system, so as long as the highways are moving fine you have quick access to the city. There were restaurants and shops within walking distance (I got a wonderful massage at Dynamic Therapeutic Massage and walked there in 10 minutes), and the hotel is on the same side of the river as the Pearl area so no annoying bridges to cross. We stopped for dinner at Henry's Tavern, picked up some groceries at Whole Foods, and were back at the property in less than 10 minutes from the parking garage. Taking my girlfriend to the convention center was easy-peasy, and I did the entire round trip in less than 30 minutes, even with AM traffic.

The staff was helpful and friendly, though since we never encountered any problems during our stay I can't comment on how they handle problems. They did provide a map to the Pearl area, including the light-rail train, as well as free passes to ride the train (a nice plus to avoid parking problems). There is a train stop a short walk from the property as well, located in front of the nearby hospital.

Down-sides to this property? It does appear dated, if you care about that sort of thing. The bed was adequate but not pillow-top comfy; ditto for the pillows. I woke up a couple of times each night, but that may be because I've gotten used to sleeping with a Tempurpedic pillow at home and now find down pillows to be decidedly less comfortable. And with no hot tub or swimming pool, I couldn't go for a good soak after a hard climbing session at the Portland Rock Gym (which was very easy to get to, BTW). The breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about, and there was no in-room safe to lock up valuables (though the front desk, staffed 24 hours, does have safe-deposit boxes available for use). But the value for the location and amenities was excellent, and IMHO overcomes the cons to this property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Climbing_Drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This hotel has lots going for it: Excellent staff, free parking, computer in the lobby, free newspapers, more-than-adequate rooms. But - it is on a busy street and at the far edge of Nob Hill District and you must drive or take a bus or streetcar to other areas. There was a hotel shuttle, but the man at the front desk said that it didn't run on the weekends. I had to wait a half hour in the rain for a bus. The fitness room is tiny and the breakfast is quite poor. All carbs and cheese and hard boiled eggs for protein. I usually stay downtown and next time I will return to my downtown hotels. But this hotel is fine if you don't mind being pretty far from anywhere except Nob Hill.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was a great location. Easy on and off freeway access, free parking and 23rd street and all of the pubs and eateries just around the corner. The fact that is was about $95 a night , including breakfast and parking, it was way cheaper than our previous stay at The Heathman (a fine hotel, but more of a treat for us casual travelers) which made a $300 difference on two nights stay. It's about 5-6 blocks away from the streetcar line, so getting downtown was a breeze. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#12 of 144 in Portland
1,097 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,643 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland

Address: 2426 NW Vaughn St, Portland, OR 97210-2314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Portland
#13 Best Value Hotel in Portland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#38 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $136 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a hotel with the convenience of Downtown Portland Oregon without the hassle and congestion. The Silver Cloud Inn Portland is located adjacent to the Nob Hill shopping district featuring a variety of Portland's finest boutiques, shops, nightlife and restaurants. Nearby Forest Park offers hiking and biking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn NW Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn Nw Portland Hotel Portland
Silver Cloud Hotel Portland Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing