We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #33 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2009

As a birthday trip I took my husband to Kennedy School for a night away from home. It's a great place to go and enjoy some beers without worrying about driving home. There are several different bars onsite all with a different feel, great for those of us who don't always like it loud and crowded. There are no tv's in the room, which is clearly stated on the website. I see that others have complained but they make up for it with other activities. Watch all the movies you want, there were six on Sat while we were there. It is a old building built in 1912(?) so road noise and hallway noise can be heard. If this is bothersome for you, you might want to reconsider. The rooms are big and very, very clean. So for a great atmosphere, a little noise doesn't bother me.
It dose seem to be a local gathering place so it was pretty busy, especally in the dining room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsmiles4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for McMenamins Kennedy School
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 607 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2009

This place is awesome! The rooms were fantastic! We played on the chalkboard like we were kids. The room was huge, too. I wished I'd brought my bathing suit for the soaking pool--it looked so warm and fun and relaxing. We played pool, made some friends, ate, and drank way too much.

My only complaint would be that we heard the water pipes throughout the night. But, I'd stay there again in a second, so it clearly is nothing too bad.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

If you love good beer and adventure, this place is for you.

The location is a little sketchy, not the best neighborhood so lock your vehicle and don't risk getting broken into and leave in your room.

Check-in seems to be firm with 3pm, but they may give you an exception on slow days (like us). The hotel itself is an old school revamped with interesting paint and decor but leaves you intrigued with nostalgia. The old classrooms have been transformed to hotel rooms, expect a smaller than avg. room and bathroom but I overlooked this since we spent a majority of our time outside of our room. You get the sense they spent alot of time and energy into keeping the school's integrity without taking too much away to make this hotel. The bathroom shower is only big enough for 1 avg person. The fan is loud, and the hall sounds travel into your room... but what do you expect, it used to be a school. Throughout the halls there are stories of past classmates and teachers, very interesting. There are two main restaurants that offer great food- not just bar food either, at a reasonable price. About 5 bars, 2 cigar bars.

One of the best part was getting to watch a movie in the old auditorium (included for your stay, or $3.00 for others) picture a large movie screen in your old elementary school auditorium with couches and chairs to get comfortable on. They deliver food to you if you'd like to have dinner during movie. Have a beer, and watch a great movie.

There is also a soaking pool, continuously 102F, small but worth the soak in the evening under the stars. One 1/4 section has bubbles from the seat. It can get crowded, and not for the OCD germaphobe types as you can see floating debri in the light. Seemed to be chlorinated saltwater? However, well worth a relaxing soak otherwise. In our strange luck, it snowed in the morning and we sat in the pool while it snowed around us.

The main restaurant staff is very helpful and make sure everything is to your liking. Good beer, atmosphere, and if you get carried away with the beer, your room is a walk away.

Experience at least once, you'll probably fall in love with it and make it a tradition to go every year. I did.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dmay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2009

This used to be a real school but is now part of the McMenamins Chain. As such it is part of the neighbourhood, a funky brewpub with quirky accommodation.

I was tempted to be naughty and give it just one star ... so that I would be sent to the Detention Room, one of the great little bars. Was it my favourite ... or was it the Courtyard (great casual dining) ... or the old Gym that is now a great place to chill and watch a movie?

The whole Kennedy School experience is fun, fun, fun. You don't have to stay to experience it but I especially loved the blackboard in the bedroom and the pool in the old staffroom.

Oh ... and the beer is great too!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank julnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

This was such a great place to stay. It was super clean, and an awsome price. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone who wants something a little different. The Hotel staff were great. We stayed at 2 other McMenamins on our Holiday, and both were great.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannermae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Overall we liked it here. The food and beer are great and there's so much to do and see right on the property between the bars, restaurants, murals, old photos, movie theatre and pool. The staff is also very nice and you can't beat the price.

We stayed here 3 nights and it was only the first night that we had any complaints. We were in one of the interior rooms ("Girls' Ballcourt" I think) that is right across from a banquet hall that was hosting a wedding reception. The music and voices were very loud and went on until quite late and some of the guests were smoking and talking right outside our window. There was no way we could sleep with the noise. We contemplated leaving the next day but gave it another chance and ended up having a good time.

If we come again I'd stay in one of the rooms that has exterior windows instead of the interior rooms that have windows on the courtyards.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MARKLakeWorth_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2008

We've stayed at the Kennedy School a few times and it never disappoints. The room was clean and really nice (Cherry Blossom theme) with high ceilings, large windows. There's no TV or telephone in the room and that was fine by us, there's a lot to do right in the "school"--barhopping, dining, music events, admiring the art in the hallway, movies. We had a blast "barhopping" within the property and visited all 5 pubs. Nearby Alberta Street offers a nice strolling, shopping opportunity.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKotsonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 144 in Portland
297 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 144 in Portland
564 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Address: 5736 NE 33rd Ave, Portland, OR 97211-7302
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $189 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing