We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again, with reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McMenamins Kennedy School
Ranked #32 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Tallmadge, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Would stay again, with reservation”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Yes, this is the nicest place closest to our daughter's apartment, which is near the Alberta Arts District. Yes, it's got a great vibe to it. However, there are a few issues (which were resolved, by the way with a phone call in response to our comment card, thank you) with the place: we stayed here in January and our room was COLD. The space heater could not keep up with it. We ended up turning on the hair dryer in the bathroom full blast so that we could take a shower in comfort. The parking in the back was also troublesome, given that there are several restaurants/bars/theater/events going on and parking is at a premium during those times. The room was clean; the staff was attentive and friendly; the restaurant served up some great breakfast & happy hour food. Would we stay here again? Yes, we would, and we'd put up with the same issues as before. Overall, a fun & unique experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you would stay again and look forward to seeing you again! Thank you again for bringing the issues you encountered to our attention, your feedback is essential to our improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    204
    46
    26
    12
See reviews for
124
271
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Kennedy School is an actual old school. Our room was called the Recess Room complete with cloak closet. (An old term). The ceilings are high and the furniture is all vintage and pretty interesting as is the wacky artwork posted prominently on every surface thru-out the entire property. We had a view of the extra large hot tub, probably 30 feet long x 12 feet wide, thru dense shrubbery. No TV, so as a guest caring for an infant and room bound, it made a boring night. There are plenty of things for couples to do. Many restaurants and theatres within the complex. This is a popular location for meetings and the fact they are pet friendly raises their overall appeal. Certainly would make a good weekend location for the couple wanting something a little different.

Room Tip: All the rooms are old classrooms furnished and decorated with vintage items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send your review. I am sorry to hear that you were bored in your room and understand how difficult it can be to stay entertained when you are confined to the room. We do offer Wi-Fi and books to read but know that it's not easy to do either when caring for an infant. We hope we will see you again when you can be out and enjoying the property. Thank you again for providing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We wanted to try something different usually we stay at high end hotels, but likes the artsy vibe of this one. You feel the creative process all over the hotel. The staff has a very family-type feel which is good if you just are staying, but for travelers it would have been nice if they would educated themselves on the cool region around their hotel. The Art district is with-in walking distance but the staff knew very little about area, I suggest the hotel contact the visitors bureau and hook up with some of their neighbors to educate the staff. It also would have been helpful if they had known a little about the public transportation, that is conveniently located right outside their hotel. I did find out information on my own but I took me (someone not familiar) time to figure out where I wanted to go and how to get there by our third day we had the public transportation figured out and it was time for us to go home to Minnesota.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice. No TV's but plenty to do in area and right at hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniehappyreturns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for providing this valuable feedback in your review. I am surprised the staff could not give you reliable information about the Alberta District or Tri-Met public transit, I take your comments very seriously and will be reviewing this with the staff to find where we are falling short of information. The hotel is very close to Alberta and all of the art and boutique shopping it has to offer and tri-met is a terrific way to navigate our city. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Kennedy School and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I took a group of educators to this hotel to stay for a conference. They LOVED it! Very funky and fun concept. The rooms were fine - not highly comfortable, but adequate. The charm of the place was great thought!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
This is great place to bring educators! Nothing like sleeping in class and writing on the chalk boards. I will be sending you a private message so we can discuss your concerns about the rooms not being highly comfortable. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. We look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here with my husband on a recent trip to Portland. We enjoy staying at hotels that are not part of the big chains. We really enjoyed our experience at this hotel. It is quite unique and used to be an elementary school. All the rooms have names of teachers classrooms. The room had a chalkboard with drawings- very cute. The bed was not very comfortable but we were only there for one night so it was tolerable.
We used the soaking pool which was nice but a bit crowded. We also went to a movie which we got free tickets for because we were staying at the hotel. We were able to order food and have drinks in the theatre which was nice. The theatre seating was all old couches and chairs.
The hotel is very unique and we enjoyed our experience there. Will definitely check out other McMenamins properties on our next trip to Oregon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfun2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. I am sorry to hear the bed was not comfortable. I will be sending you a private message to receive some information about the room you stayed in so we can address the issue with this mattress. Everyone should have a good nights rest especially when you are on vacation! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Kudos to the McMenamin family for creating an environment that is funky while being a 5 star hotel that incorporate restaurants, art, a movie theater and a soaking pool, all in a 1900's restored school house. Mrs. Kennedy would be proud to see the classrooms now used as hotel suites. We loved walking the hallways drinking a Hammerhead Ale! We'll return for sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wtyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We look foward to seeing you again next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I am a frequent guest at McMenamins. This is the worst one that I have ever stayed at. The staff was rude in the bars and the hotel was to loud. They dont have enough seperation from the bars to the rooms. The place is unique like all of McMenamins hotels it just was not worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria M, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
I thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and apologize for the customer service issues you encountered during your stay. This is not in line with our service practices and will be following up with the approprite management and addressing the issues you have brought forth. Additionally I welcome the opportunity to further discuss your recent visit and will be sending you a private message for more details. We value you as a frequent patron of McMenamins and would like to have the opportunity to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#43 of 142 in Portland
289 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#64 of 142 in Portland
553 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Kennedy School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Property: McMenamins Kennedy School
Address: 5736 NE 33rd Ave, Portland, OR 97211-7302
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing