We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a favorite”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This is my sixth or seventh time at Hotel deLuxe. I have never submitted a review until now. We love this hotel. I have stayed a much finer hotels but, there is something about this little gem that warms the heart. It is a much older building and there are things about it that might not be all that great but, the service is excellent. The staff bends over backwards to meet all your needs. The beds, linens and pillows are heavenly! The bathrooms are very small and for two people they could be not so great. They are nice and are very clean but, are quite tiny. Being that this is an older building, the walls are thin and I would suggest a room at the end of the hall away from foot traffic. You can hear your neighbors next door if you don't request a room at the end of the hall. Catch my drift???? There are a lot of options for hotels in Portland and this little gem is a fun place to stay. A hip hotel in a very hip city!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivineFoodDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,574 - 2,580 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2010

The many movie-themed photos and small, elegant, old style lobby make this an art deco hotel, I guess. The rooms are small, and the walls thinner than for most hotels of this level (the staff admitted this is one price of staying in an historic hotel). We did ask to be moved from our original room due to noise from our neighbors. The next room had more street noise, but no neighbors, and I managed to sleep well with the aid of ear plugs (my wife had no problem). We used the free business center and found the Internet access very good. The restaurant was on the pricey side, but the bar had good food (small items) and bar specials during their late happy hour (starting 9 p.m.). The front desk staff was generally helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of shopping and restaurants and, as noted, adjacent to a light rail station (on the Red and Blue lines-- the former goes to the airport). We did not have a car so didn't have to pay the $25 parking fee. When we got a rental car on our last day and picked up our bags, we were allowed to park for free for a couple of hours while we finished parking. The hotel would be good for those who want something different and don't mind somewhat small rooms and aren't highly sensitive to noise. It does have charm, and for $80 plus taxes and fees (Priceline), I shouldn't be overly critical.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlaudioPortland, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2010

Dear Sutter Fortaleza,

Thank you very much for your review. We would welcome an opportunity to review some room options for your next trip and find one that would meet your needs. We have a large selection of room types and I am confident that we will be able to identify a few with a lot more space and more favorable floor plan. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the deLuxe.

Sincerely,

Klaudio Simic
Hotel deLuxe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Nice folks running the place-from Valet, front desk, waiters,house keepers--like to think the manager is nice as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicePerson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I stayed at the DeLuxe in Portland for two nights. The hotel was in my view exceptional - smart rooms, great staff, excellent fxtures and comfort/conveniences. The confident and consistent styling was really the icing on the cake. Yes the standard rooms are a trifle slim but the other positives are clearly overwhelming.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyTone78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Beautiful hotel in a convenient location in downtown Portland.

Pros:
+ Comfortable bed
+ Stylish furniture
+ Clean bathroom
+ Helpful staff in calling a cab and giving us directions around the neighborhood.
+ Close walking distance to the Pearl District - shopping, restaurants, breweries (but the more casual and dive bars are on the other side of the river)
+ Free internet access
+ Right next to a light rail station that takes you to the airport

Cons:
- The room was on the smaller side, but not too small to make the stay uncomfortable. But I can see how it could bother others.
- Parking is a bit pricey, but there is street parking available for up to 5 hours.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoddessKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I've had the pleasure of staying at this "Art Deco" style hotel a few times. The staff is absolutely excellent, the restaurant/bar is amazing and I can't say enough about how comfortable the beds are! It's a block or so from the tram, making it an excellent location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Overall, great stay at the Hotel Deluxe. Bed was nice and comfy. Bathroom, on the small size. The view - a joke. Make sure you check out my pics of "the view." Staff - excellent. I was there to celebrate my 40th birthday. The staff had 2 bottles of water and a hand written birthday card waiting for me when I entered the room. A nice touch, thank-you! Did not have dinner at the Screening Room, however at there several times for breakfast - very tasty. Great service as well. Location - kinda in the middle of nowhere. It was in a dead zone of the city. Had to walk a few blocks to get to Portland's attractions like The Pearl, downtown, The Arts area, etc. Would I stay again, heck yes. I would make sure you view is a little better than mine and without the chicken wire on the windows!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenika91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,424 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,728 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 146 in Portland
1,450 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $159 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing