We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This place was lovely. Staff was great. Driftwood Lounge is super cool, a must visit! On Sundays, they make special drinks from their herb garden. We dropped in for late night happy hour after arriving; the food was incredible! It's only 2 blocks from the light rail and a very easy walk to the Pearl District, river front, etc. It took us about 45 minutes from the airport. We had a small corner room but it was still super cute. We were even right by the elevator but barely heard it. The staff was gracious and helpful. All around great experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself while staying at Hotel deLuxe. One of the great pleasures of arriving later in the evening is finding yourself in the middle of our daily late night happy hour in the Driftwood Room. And it's not just Sunday but everyday that we serve up fantastic seasonal cocktails featuring herbs from our garden and honey from our rooftop bee apiary! Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    514
    105
    43
    22
See reviews for
274
1,091
167
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff, best location, superb food, and super clean and comfy bed. Have stayed here for many time and each 20nights at least.

Walking distance to everywhere, rose garden, Japanese garden, pioneer square, and shopping area. The river park is gorgeous with superb view, especially during cherry blossom.

Still in love with this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Wow, what kind words! It is a real pleasure to know that we have been able to make you feel comfortable for such extended stays. Thank you for making us your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We loved this hotel, its location, its decor, its excellent breakfast and dinner, and its neat little bar. The staff were gracious, very helpful in giving advice and directions. It is within easy walking distance to Pioneer Square and even easier access to public transportation (including a free bus to the lovely Japanese Gardens). Convenient parking (although at $30 a day it should be.) Definitely where we will stay when we come back to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncarolinawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Charm isn't easy to come by these days, so I'm happy we could deliver during your trip! Thank you for joining us both in Gracie's and in the Driftwood Room, we love for our guests to experience the very different but classic vibes that either establishment delivers. And I'm so happy you took advantage of the Washington Park shuttle that picks up a few blocks from us! The International Test Rose Gardens, Japanese Gardens, Oregon Zoo, and a myriad of other attractions are right in our backyard and the shuttle certainly makes getting there that much easier. We will see you again when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Hotel deLuxe took very good care of us during our stay in Portland. The staff was courteous, the rooms were excellent, and the breakfasts were both tasty and reasonably priced by hotel standards. Finally the location was perfect for our needs, close to downtown and Portland's marvelous public transportation system. When we get back to Portland, we know where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
I love that we were able to help you feel taken care of during your trip to the City of Roses. It sounds like you got to know Trimet, Porltand's fantastic transit system, which is such a great way to see the city. I'm glad that Portland impressed you enough to inspire a return, and doubly glad you will be staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were scheduled to spend four nights at the deLuxe, but my husband had a bicycling accident and surgery in Hood River the day before our scheduled arrival. His cycling friends checked him into the hotel and left. The staff gave him a heating pad, made sure he had food and was comfortable before I arrived the next day. We wearied of room service but my husband couldn't walk; finally I thought to ask for a wheelchair so we could at least get out of the room. The hotel was more than happy to oblige. Long story short, the staff really took good care of us.
The deLuxe is a very nice hotel: quiet rooms (we were on the back side), very good housekeeping, nice furnishings. Gracie's restaurant has a good selection of wines, small plates, salads, larger entrees and desserts (we were lucky to get in-season marionberry pie). We didn't try the bar (which also serves food); the lounge was a nice place to hang out, even in a wheelchair. Thank you to everyone at Hotel deLuxe for being so good to us! We will be back, on our feet, for a real visit soon.

Room Tip: We had an accessible room on the 5th floor with two queen beds. It was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler87506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I'm so sorry that your trip was marred by such an unfortunate accident, but certainly glad to know that we were able to help you and your husband feel cared for as he recovered. We try to keep wheelchairs and crutches handy for exactly these kinds of unexpected occurrences! I certainly understand it can get a little tiresome to dine in your room day after day, so it's excellent that you took advantage of our restaurant; I hope the old word ambiance and fresh cuisine of Gracie's was relaxing enough to help your husband recuperate that much faster. We will see you again soon, and next time we'll make sure to have all sorts of suggestions for you to explore Portland on foot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days. This is an old building that has been totally renovated with an interesting Hollywood theme. My room was small, but very comfortable and impeccably clean. Cool restaurant and bar in the hotel with some great drink specials. The staff was friendly and helpful. Easy walk to downtown. Only downside is that it's a bit noisy. Being that it's an older building, you'll here water running and toilets flushing. The light rail runs adjacent to the hotel and you can hear the grinding up until midnight. If you're noise sensitive, this isn't your place. If the noise issue doesn't bother you, then it's a great choice.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask to be kept away from the street adjacent to the light rail line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CACAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I thank you for taking into consideration the age of our building when assessing the noise level. While some of our rooms are located off of the light rail track, we are happy to assist in finding other options for guests who are sensitive to the sound. I'm quite happy to know that you found your room comfortable during your three day stay, and certainly pleased you found yourself in the position to have a few drinks and snacks in the Driftwood Room. Our twice-a-day happy hour is here to stay, but we will be sure to have all new libations for you to enjoy when you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a quiet but convenient location to downtown Portland. It is themed in "old movies" but this is subtle and done by beautiful photography capturing scenes from old movies or radios. Although the room was smallish it was big enough and the bed was comfortable. The service in all parts of the hotel was great. From the friendly checkin complete with suggestions for dining, to the valet who gave us water bottles every day to the waitstaff. We had breakfast in the hotel each day which was excellent.

Room Tip: I always ask for a quiet room so they put us on the top floor (8th).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherev65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There are over 400 film stills lining the corridors and in each of our 130 rooms, and each was hand selected to pique the interest of both film buffs and those who might be unfamiliar with the classic Hollywood films of the 30's, 40's and 50's. I'm happy to hear you found our service in keeping with the elegance of our theme, and hope that we can see you again when you return to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing