We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great old hotel with hollywood charm”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great old hotel with hollywood charm”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

really cool room and great hotel, could walk everywhere. Driftwood room was a really cool place to kick back and have a cocktail. definitely would stay there again. Loved the style of the rooms. Only downfall was having to pay for wifi.

  • Liked — charm
  • Disliked — wifi not free
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lucin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    641
    141
    54
    23
See reviews for
382
1,317
214
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

The Deluxe Portland is in a quiet part of town but no more than 5 to 10 minutes from everything in downtown and the Pearl District. The doormen and check-in staff were very friendly and helpful. We booked a King Premier Suite for two nights. The hotel is decorated in 1930s/40s style and is a very relaxing area in which to sit, have a drink or read the paper.

Our room was sufficiently big, but I felt the layout was a little odd as there was a lot of wasted space in the room. The suite comes with not one but two big flat screen TVs and an ipod docking station. Again we went for their romantic couples package. However I'm getting a little tired of North American hotels advertising 'champagne' and then supplying sparking wine.

The beds were big and cosy and to be honest I could have spent the whole weekend in it ordering room service.

On our first night we dined at the hotel restaurant, Gracies. Its in a beautiful room but was absolutely empty the Saturday night that we were there. I guess lunch is more their thing. The food was good and service was impeccable. We also drank a number of times in the hotel bar, The Driftwood Room. Its nicely designed but a little on the small side. The bar is very popular so it fills up quickly.

What makes this place special is the atmosphere and old world charm. You really do feel like a Golden Era movie star and for that I will be back.

  • Liked — The atmosphere, friendly staff, Driftwood Room
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank majik247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2008

I stayed here for two nights, and my stay exceeded my expectations. I do a lot of traveling both for business and pleasure, but it's been a long while since I received such great service. The staff are incredibly friendly, and stand ready to help in any way they can. Location was excellent as well, and rooms were spacious and immaculate. The flat-screen t.v.'s and ipod docking station also were nice touches. A first-rate hotel for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — Staff, location, and amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ngster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Excellent hotel in Downtown Portland. Walking distance to clubs, restaurants, bars, stores. Electric train line right in front of the hotel. Very swank 40's flavor bar in the hotel, very good restaurant in the hotel but why eat there when the best sushi on the planet is five blocks away. 40's Hollywood movie theme decor, very good service, room was very cool.

  • Liked — Services, location, bar
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tony_in_Woodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2008

My wife and I booked two nights here recently for a weekend getaway. In the past we've stayed at the Benson and the like downtown, but after reading the reviews on this hotel we decided to try someplace new. I'm glad we did. This hotel is a beautiful, clean, upscale hotel with friendly staff (eh, mostly, I'll get to that...) that really makes the difference.
Here's the high points;
Rooms: Yes, they're a bit small, but not so much as to affect your enjoyment. Remember, this is an old restored hotel, so the rooms are a bit on the small side. Not an issue. The HD flat screen tv's are a nice plus, the bed was soft-but not too soft, the pillow menu was extensive, and the room-and bathroom, was absolutely spotless!! Try to stay away from rooms that end with ..01 as the number if you're a light sleeper, as these rooms back up to the elevator shaft and you can sometimes hear the activity. We asked to be moved, and they did so with a smile.
Gym-More of a basic workout room, dumbbells, treadmills, all you need to burn off the extra calories from the great downtown restaurants.
Did I already say it was clean? Even the stairwells were spotless!
The hotel bar has a happy hour, of a sort. It's half price for the bar menu, but no drinks (except for a one discounted bottle of wine) is a part of the happy hour. Its a cool, very retro Dean and Frankie kinda place, dark and cozy. The night we stopped in (A Saturday) we grabbed a spot at the bar and ordered a few drinks and a bite to eat. This was the only rough spot in the whole visit. The bar staff just wasn't very friendly. They got our order right, served our drinks and food promptly, but just didn't have a very welcoming attitude. No conversation, no acknowledgment, nothing. I think the experience stood out so much for us because the rest of the hotels staff, from the doormen to the front desk, in contrast had been just so outstanding in their service and attitude from the minute we walked in.
All in all, a great place-and we'll be back.

  • Liked — Beautiful, clean hotel with friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ceduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I live in Portland but got a room here as a birthday-surprise romantic getaway. I picked it because of the good review here, and the art-deco, old Hollywood theme. The location was great for us (easy walk to any part of downtown or the Pearl), but if you don't know Portland well you might find the neighborhood a bit removed.

On checking in I was told we were upgraded from queen to king for free--nice first surprise. The staff was super friendly and didn't give me any snobbery when I checked in with a grocery bag instead of luggage.

The room was nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable. No real traffic/street noise even though we were only on the 3rd floor. The clock-radio had a built-in ipod dock (with loaner ipods available), and the TV was a huge wide/flat screen.

Small complaints: the bed took up most of the room. Also the water in the shower didn't get hot enough and one outlet in the bathroom didn't work. No noise from the neighboring rooms, but there were some door-closing sounds from the hall and water-running noise from upstairs.

As someone else commented--there was a huge amount of over-priced mini-bar stuff, and even the bottle of water had a price-tag. Seems a little cheap given the cost of the room. On the other hand, bottled water is a huge waste of plastic, so I don't mind discouraging people from using bottled.

I booked on the hotel's website for the same price as the discount hotel sites, which I really appreciate.

  • Liked — Very friendly, unpretentious staff.
  • Disliked — The room could have been a little bigger.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank amy_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, fl
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Smaller room but really nice. Great front desk staff and valet folks. The hotel was unable to book at the orbitz rate which they try to match. Pet friendly. Great spot. Just north from downtown and close the Max line. Keep your room key for a memento.

  • Liked — Staff and room decor and hotel theme.
  • Disliked — Room size.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherinesI9996NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,699 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,434 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing