We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just stayed 3 nights in a King corner suite. Because the hotel is old, the bathroom is old. Our first room was too hot so we moved higher up where the rooms are cooler. Nice Aveda products in the rooms. The front desk is personable and very helpful as are the bell hops and door men. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well as the service. Location is great for walking to the Pearl district and downtown shops. Lovely 40's themed hotel. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for a cooler room and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,075 - 2,081 of 2,837 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel has it all. A nice restaurant, a great bar, and a very homy feel. The room was very nice with a great view of Portland. The bathrooms were a little small for having two girls with me. That was their only complaint tho. The bathroom was a ok size for me but if you have two girls that worry about their image more than their well being its gunna be a tight squeeze. They have vale service at the hotel for about $25 a night. Your really don't need a car in Portland. The restaurant has a good breakfast. The bar was one of my favorites. It's a very dim light kinda place. A place where the men of Portland bring their mistresses. Good bar food well, I recommend the Mac N cheese.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I received the gift of one night at the Hotel deLuxe. The building is an old (1912?) building with charm. The inside is designed around a 1920s/old hollywood theme. On check in we were given a free upgrade to a king suite and were even given a choice between a smaller suite on the top floor with great views or a larger suite on a lower floor. We chose the room with the view. The room was lovely, the hotel was lovely but even better was the staff. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly and willing to meet any needs we might have had.
There are some fun quirks including a "pillow bar" where you can call down and have them deliver a variety of pillows, an "ice cream bar" where you can order a pint of local ice cream and a happy hour during the early evening and after 9:30pm.
It was also within walking distance (between three and eight blocks) of some great local stores (including Powell's!) and a stumptown cafe.
They offer Valet parking for $28. There is a parking garage about 1/2 a block away for $24 per night or you can park on the street at metered parking.
Based on the exceptional staff, design charm of the hotel and walking distance to several stores/cafes I would definitely recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesireaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great upscale remodeled hotel that has small rooms but I really liked the clawfoot bathtub. Little details are what makes the experience wonderful. Quiet and comfortable. The valet parking was great also with being downtown parking is a premium.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife had stayed at the Delux a few months ago and raved about the hotel. The decor and ambiance is just as others have written. However, my wife had stayed in a large room that had a fabulous bathroom. This time, we were in an ok room with tiny bathroom So our expectations were not met. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to, but they were fairly long walks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a Christmas Party. Although the room was relatively small, it did not lack in comfort and special touches. The furnishiing were of high qualtiy, inlcuding the bed linen and supplied bathrobes. The hotel lobby has an art deco theme with a comfortable and relaxing sitting area. The restaurant food was great (beef wellinghton) and we enjoyed our pre-dinner cockails are part of the 1920's themed party. The front desk staff were very helpful tracking down some much-needed coffee on sunday morning. The only downside was paying $24 for overnight parking in the covered parking next to the hotel. For breakfast, we got up early and went to the St Honore Bakery in Northwest Portland - delicious! We will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Fun, great service. Cool and glamorous! Rooms are smaller but fit the Hollywood era. And Gracie's serves the best breakfast till 2 pm! Fun happy hours, with champaign cocktails. No chance I would stay anywhere else!
We were on floor 5, quiet, didn't hear a thing, slept in every morning. Beds were comfy. Lots of extras to make it an individualized experience. Something you rarely get.
Located so you can explore every direction.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkbfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,744 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,588 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $167 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing