We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a pleasant stay. It certainly in not as good a value as the old Mallory.

Everything has been upgraded; however, the prices on everything are also up- way up. Check on the extra charges you will incur before you book. People were very attentive and helpful. Parking with the valet or the garage across the street is pricey, but parking in the area is really problematic if there is any event going on at the stadium. Powells is 5 blocks. It is only 8 blocks to 23rd, so walking is pretty easy. Be sure to check what actually gets charged on your card; we had a small charge added for mini-bar/in-room-snack when in fact we had nothing. The dining room has been sized door but retains its charm. Great location and good stay.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk where they are putting you and what your options are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,547
    518
    105
    44
    22
See reviews for
275
1,094
167
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, BC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in early October and absolutely loved it!! The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful. The doormen were great too! I loved my room.....it had wonderful hollywood movie posters with little lights focussed on then. My bed was really cosy and the room felt sound proofed (I am a very light sleeper....and I never heard a thing from other guests...slept like a baby!!). I loved the location. I wouldn't want to stay further downtown as it is depressing and a bit dodgy down there. Whereas staying at The Hotel DeLuxe felt safe....I was never hassled around there when traveling around on foot. It is also a short walk up to NW 23rd for all the nice cafe's and gift stores. It is a ten minute walk to the plentiful food trucks downtown for a quick dinner.Very close to transit also. I would definitely recommend this hotel in a great neighborhood with wonderful staff.

Room Tip: The back of hotel seemed very quiet...good for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gema28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Very beautiful hotel but over rated as a 4 Star. Excellent staff and helpful. Recommended a nearby restaurant for a late night dinner. The room was very, very small but very clean and comfortable. Slept soundly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My grandparents checked in here in 1961 before my wedding, and our family has enjoyed the ambiance and convenience of this hotel ever since. Easy walking to many fine restaurants and shops (including Powell's Books.)

Room Tip: Seventh floor corner suite with 2 queens felt palatial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a great time at Hotel deLuxe - the room was amazing! Big comfortable bed, great bathroom. We were on the back of the building, which was great because it was away from the noise. The staff was great - Andy helped us upon check in to find some great places to go out, and we had some issues with our flight back and the staff and the front desk helped us and printed out our tickets. The valets were also great. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Just had a 3 night stay in this deco-inspired hotel and can't say a single negative thing! Location is fantastic--we were in town for a Timbers game, but even if we weren't the location was great. Walkable to so many good sites and places to eat. This isn't a new place so there are typical old building features like smaller baths and less access to power outlets. I would day this is more of a leisure hotel than a business center, but it works for either. Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet rooms with excellent beds and a pillow menu so you can choose the pillow style you like best. Aveda products, robes, and huge closets and bureaus for stuff. Huge windows. Lovely and a great time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TVBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The DeLuxe is a very attractive, well maintained property with an attentive staff and cool 50's movie themed decor. The room was quite small; typical of this type of property, but the king size bed and linens made for a very restful night. Late sleepers beware, rooms that face the street are subject to a fair amount of workday street noise; not a problem for us though. Close to the Max light rail line, the hotel is an easy commute to downtown (5 minutes) and the airport (about 40 minutes).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,503 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing