We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific weekend spot”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #3 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrific weekend spot”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Just had a 3 night stay in this deco-inspired hotel and can't say a single negative thing! Location is fantastic--we were in town for a Timbers game, but even if we weren't the location was great. Walkable to so many good sites and places to eat. This isn't a new place so there are typical old building features like smaller baths and less access to power outlets. I would day this is more of a leisure hotel than a business center, but it works for either. Very friendly and helpful staff, quiet rooms with excellent beds and a pillow menu so you can choose the pillow style you like best. Aveda products, robes, and huge closets and bureaus for stuff. Huge windows. Lovely and a great time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TVBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    641
    142
    54
    23
See reviews for
382
1,318
214
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The DeLuxe is a very attractive, well maintained property with an attentive staff and cool 50's movie themed decor. The room was quite small; typical of this type of property, but the king size bed and linens made for a very restful night. Late sleepers beware, rooms that face the street are subject to a fair amount of workday street noise; not a problem for us though. Close to the Max light rail line, the hotel is an easy commute to downtown (5 minutes) and the airport (about 40 minutes).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a very hotel in downtown Portland. I loved my stay. The rooms were very pretty and the tea was delicious. I actually asked for extra tea, which was given right away. In particular, I liked the Speakeasy bar and Ben Hur photo outside of my room. The Internet is free if you become a member of this hotel's rewards group, which is easy and does not cost anything. The Aveda products were also wonderful. I will definitely try to stay here again when I come back. Wonderful staff, too. Great happy hour prices.

Here are a few things to consider:

- I'm from NYC, so I'm not bothered by a small room. It had quite a European feel. This may not be the case for everyone, though.
- Also being from NYC, a 5-10 min walk to museums did not bother me at all. Portland is very pretty and walkable. It's a good way to see things anyway. The hotel is also close to the rail and bus stops.
- I booked on Priceline for a very good rate. The weekend I stayed, rack rates for this hotel were about $50 cheaper than comparable hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Hotel deLuxe. It's quite a stylish property - the rooms and public areas are tastefully decorated. Our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed. I particularly liked the bathroom, which had a nice window that opened, Aveda bath products, good lighting, etc. The only downside was the lack of counter space, which some other reviewers have mentioned. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. We didn't find the immediate surroundings to be terribly lively, but didn't have to walk far to get to great restaurants and pubs. My only real complaint is the for-fee wireless, as others have mentioned. I had the impression upon booking that wireless would be included (the website seems to indicate this; it certainly doesn't mention an extra fee), but it turns out it's $10 per night, which seems a bit mean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seaward14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I read the glowing reviews on TA about this hotel so we booked it for a recent 4 day getaway to Portland.

It's a lovely old hotel with friendly, helpful staff. The public salons are impressive and the restaurant serves good food. But for the price, we wouldn't stay here again.

Poor Location:
The location is further away from the immediate center of Portland where the other, more modern (and comparably priced) hotels are located. Portland has fantastic transit but the hotel is outside that free zone. So every time you want to go somewhere, you have to walk 5-10 mins just to get to where you would have started had you stayed closer to the action.

Noisy:
Unfortunately, being further from the center didn't mean less noisy. Old hotels have old windows and so sound from outside (like rooftop fans, HVAC systems, highway noise, car alarms, etc) transmits readily into the room. Bring your earplugs.
- We had to change rooms after the first night because we were awoken first thing by the loud, thumping sound of housekeeping staff who were loading a laundry chute. One of the reasons for our getaway was to get a restful sleep, so that was a drag.

Cramped Bathrooms:
- The bathrooms are small compared to more modern hotels. There is very little floor space to maneuver in the bathroom and so it is only practical for one person to use at a time. There is no vanity and therefore no counter-top at which two people can get ready at the same time. We tried showering while the other person was using the mirror, but the bathrooms don't have fans so the mirror fogged up quickly. The tub is small so you can't shower together. That means that it takes much longer to get going in the morning because you have to take turns. The result is that you're not in sync with your partner and lose time getting going in the morning.

Little Things:
- The website says that the rooms have WIFI. But when we checked in, the front desk staff tried to charge us $10/day at check-in for that. That felt wrong.
- Unlike every hotel I have ever stayed in my life, there is no free TV listing guide on the room TVs. There is no channel which displays the guide of upcoming shows. You have to scroll up and down through each channel to see what's on right now. The only way to find out what's coming up later is to: First, download and register an app for your iPhone and THEN, you have to pay $1 to get the TV guide. Seriously?

In summary, if you are going to Portland to experience the fabulous downtown, be close to transit, and catch up on your sleep, I'd recommend you stay at one of the more modern hotels. It will cost the same and you'll have a better experience.

Room Tip: Don't get room 830, it's right next to the laundry chute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Camper_Dad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for commenting on your recent stay at the deLuxe. I sincerely apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. We should have addressed most your concerns satisfactorily, which would have improved your experience. I invite you to call me directly to discuss your stay. I hope to convince you to give us another try when you are in Portland. We appreciate your comments and I look forward to hearing from you.
Tim Block, General Manager, 503-219-8623
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watson, ACT Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The one night stay was more than I had hoped. The little gym provided good machines and stretching mats. Best of all is the bread pudding for dessert at Gracies--on a one to ten, it is an eleven! Fun movie theme posters and classy, comfortable dining area. Can't say enough positives. . .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I cannot possilby recommend this hotel. They allow guests to bring dogs and I was kept awake for several hours by the dog in the adjacent room. The night before this the hotel allowed a film crew to shoot in the lobby and my Portland friend who was driving me back to the hotel was rudely treated and not allowed to drop us off in front of the hotel. The next evening a wedding closed down the lobby and we had to negotiate a large crowd of intoxicated wedding guests.

I've stayed at several other Portland hotels in previous visits. Even if none of the above had happened, I'd rate this an average hotel. It is close to the Pearl district which I like. But I'd be crazy to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, General Manager at Hotel deLuxe, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear of the multiple experiences which resulted in you not enjoying your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for us not handling these circumstances in a satisfactory manner. Although you have indicated you would not choose to return, I do invite you to contact me directly if you do consider returning. I welcome the opportunity to handle your arrangements personally to ensure 100% satisfaction.
Kind regards,
Tim Block - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,700 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,436 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Property: Hotel deLuxe
Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing