We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel deLuxe
Ranked #7 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here Valentine's weekend and loved it. The entire hotel and our room was gorgeous. Even though our room was right above the MAX line outside, it was quiet. The Driftwood bar downstairs was perfectly intimate -- a great place to have a drink before heading out on the town for dinner. We had breakfast at Gracie's restaurant (also downstairs) in the morning. Lovely and delicious! We can't wait to stay here again. Deluxe is right -- very romantic. Perfect hotel for couples who don't need the typical exercise room, pool, spa combo but who appreciate a sumptuous atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get a corner King suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ListenUpYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,435 - 2,441 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

Read and believe all those good reviews. This place is spectacular. My room was tiny, but it hardly mattered. It was so comfy, cozy, and stylish. I fell in love with it. The staff was outstandingly friendly and helpful. They got me a last minute reservation at a very busy Gruner. Thanks! The place is just beautiful - a true gem. Very cool Hollywood theme going on. Quite a good location too. I'd write more, and I often do, but it's late and I'm tired. Anyhow, if you see this place as an option, please consider it. You will not regret a moment. Plus, they offer some amazingly good deals.

This place has it all - style, service, value. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seawall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Once again, a most pleasant stay. Remembered and warmly welcomed at both the hotel and restaurant. All staff are attentive, professional, gracious and competent. It is such a pleasure to stay at the deLuxe. A well managed establishment that constantly provides a high quality guest experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moinflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hotel deLuxe is not a cookie cutter hotel. It has an old movie theme, but with a sense of humor. The front desk staff all serve as concierge. They gave us terrific restaurant recommendations, and had a very solid knowledge of the city and surrounding area. We had a leak in our bathroom. After calling the front desk, a maintenance staffer was at our door within a minute. They immediately upgraded us to another room and were incredibly accommodating. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Portland!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newkmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I am a frugal traveler, but this hotel makes me happy when i visit. Comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, and perfectly located right on the edge of the central downtown district with the light rail stop two blocks away [free in the downtown district]. The only hotel where I make it a point to spend an extra night, even without a good reason.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterfisher2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We found this hotel to be very nice, but not stuffy. It's small enough that you get personal service, but large enough that the staff isn't intrusive or too chummy. Food in the restaurant is ok (although the morning granola is some of the best I've ever had). The location looks a bit off the beaten path, but we could walk to Pioneer Square in 10 minutes. The nearest public transit stops are only 2 blocks away (although outside of the free zone).

The rooms are old, but have been nicely updated. The toilet is far too close to the sink, but I understand it's too expensive to move around plumbing in an old building. We booked the corner 2-room suite and it was well worth it for a 4 night stay.

We would happily come back here again (and plan to)!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFSusanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Loved the vibe of the hotel...retro Hollywood movie photos throughout. Stayed in a double queen and it was clean, attractive and super comfortable. Huge bathroom! Fast room service and delicious food. All employees were wonderfully friendly and had great suggestions. Great neighborhood to walk and see the city. Right near the light rail and easy to get around. Would definitely return for business or vaction.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat123456788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 146 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 146 in Portland
1,449 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 146 in Portland
1,719 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#3 of 146 in Portland
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel deLuxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel deLuxe

Address: 729 SW 15th Avenue, Portland, OR 97205-1906
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $156 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel deLuxe 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel deLuxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deluxe Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing