We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weddding night blues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Ranked #6 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2009

great hotel, but the 11 pm room delivery on wedding night was not appreciated. Not at all romantic!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moark8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBurkettGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear moark8;
Sorry that our timing was off- we would love to make that up to you. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,189 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2009

We have stayed at the Hotel Vintage Plaza for both business and pleasure. This trip we were taking our teenage daughter to basketabll camp. Camp registration was on Sunday at another hotel at the Portland Airport and we were offered accommodiations at the other hotel with a special rate by the basketball camp company. Eventhough it was somewhat inconvenient for our visit, we stayed at the Vinage Plaza. We like the staff and it feels like home there. Had a great dinner at Pazzo, wonderful food/wine list and our service was great. Had room service the next morning for breakfast and the food was well prepared, hot and the server made us feel very comfortable serving in our room. Our only disappointment was we only could stay one night. This hotel has a great location in downtown and only a few blocks from the Pearl District. Try this hotel you won't be dissppointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortNo_California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBurkettGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear PortNo_California;
Just wanted to thank you for the great review and staying with us back in 2009 - isn't it time to come visit Portland again? We have enjoyed a tremendous renovation and would love to see you again. Come visit. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We enjoyed the hotel. It's centrally located in downtown Portland, close to shopping and restaurants. The hotel was modern and had a fun wine tasting every day at 5 pm. I was a little disappointed that the tastings didn't include more Oregon wines (and less South American wines).

We were in one of the "starlight" rooms which were rated highly in the guide books. Our "starlight" view was looking directly into a neighboring parking garage and apartment complex. The lights were way too bright to see any stars and it wasn't good for privacy. That was very disappointing. We kept the blinds closed the entire time. Not worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBurkettGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear Visitor023;
Just wanted to thank you for choosing to stay with us back in 2009 - iWe have enjoyed a tremendous renovation and would love to see you again. Come visit. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I booked this hotel the night before at a blind third party site for a great deal. Upon arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded to a Starlight Guestroom located on the top floor. What a nice surprise! The girl at check-in was very friendly and chatted with us as we were checking in.

Our room was clean and very spacious. The stuffed animal bear on the bed was a cute addition (and I had grown attached to it during our stay). The mechanical conservatory windows were amazing and provided a great view of the city. We attended the wine hour that evening right before we headed out, which was quite enjoyable (although noone was playing the Nintendo Wii that was set up in the middle of the room).

The next morning, we called front desk for a late check-out and they allowed us an extra hour. As we were checking out, the staff at front desk were pleasant as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiggyExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBurkettGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear PiggyExplores;
Just wanted to thank you for choosing to stay with us back in 2009 - isn't it time to come visit Portland again? We have enjoyed a tremendous renovation and would love to see you again. Come visit. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

A perfect fancy hotel. Normally, for the nice suite we received, it was close to $350 a night, but because my uncle got a good rate, it was dropped to $165 a night. We got a tour of the Michael Jordan suite, where the basketball players would stay when they were in town to play the Portland Trailblazers. They would give the dogs, that were allowed to be in the hotel, fancy waters and treats, and they had 4 top floor suites that had outdoor hot tubs and gardens or skylights.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenandrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBurkettGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear denverfargotulsa;
Just wanted to thank you for choosing to stay with us back in 2009 - isn't it time to come visit Portland again? We have enjoyed a tremendous renovation and would love to see you again. Come visit. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Vintage Plaza for four nights -- we were attending a wedding but also were celebrating our 14th anniversary. I was very cautious when booking due to the overall hotel rating in Portland and some of the comments on Trip Advisor. But, took a chance since it was recently rennovated, offered a good rate and was close to Pioneer Plaza. When I booked the room, I did mention our anniversary and requested a corner room (this was suggested in another review that I read). Upon check-in I was told that our request had indeed been met. The front desk staff was extremely pleasant and when we asked about the location of the wedding we were attending, immediately went to the web and printed us a map. When we walked in our room we couldn't have been happier -- it was beautiful! And, there was a bottle of Champagne, two glasses filled with chocolates and a card wishing us a Happy Anniversary. We loved the location -- we loved our room -- and we want to thank everyone at the Hotel Vintage Plaza for making our anniversary extra special.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aires_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandyBurkettGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2016

Dear Aires_9
Just wanted to thank you for choosing to stay with us back in 2009 - isn't it time to come visit Portland again? We have enjoyed a tremendous renovation and would love to see you again. Come visit. Sandy Burkett, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

This hotel scores big on elegance and room size, but during our stay the phrase "It's the little things" kept popping up. I'm not sure that anyone in the Kimpton organization has actually stayed in one of their rooms. If they did, they'd notice some problems that, while small, add up to a poor customer experience. Here's a list:

- The shower needs to be rethought. Our removable shower head could not be positioned in such as way that a comfortable shower was possible. But worse, the slight change in water pressure when shutting off the water caused the spray unit to fly out of its flimsy base. For me, this meant getting beaned on the head, resulting in a large goose egg and small amount of blood. This was not a one time event -- each time either of us showered, the killer shower head came after us.

- Speaking of the bathroom, another hazard is a marble "saddle" in the doorway. It begs for a good toe-stubbing in the middle of the night.

- We were given a key to lock our honor bar. But since the lock was installed incorrectly, it was useless.

- There was no key supplied with which to lock our clothing bureau (even though there was a lock on the unit).

- The timer that controlled the jets in the bath didn't work. Set it for five, ten or twenty minutes: it will run forever or until you climb out of the tub to shut it off.

- We were woken up at 1:30AM by conversation coming through the door that connects our room with the next. I can't blame the people next door for this. You should be able to have a conversation (or watch television) without the sound penetrating to the next room.

- The door staff were mumblers. I'm not some old, hard of hearing biddy. I'm 44! But I kept having to have the doormen/valets repeat themselves.

- $31 a day for parking is too much. Sorry, but that's really nickle and diming your customers.

- Hotel staff got our room mixed up with someone else's and tried to walk right in at 7AM, while we were in various stages of undress. This invasion was precipitated by a cursory knock. I'm glad we'd put the deadbolt on!

So, while overall the hotel is a nice place, for $300 a night between the room and parking I expected better. On this trip we stayed in anywhere from $100 a night barebones efficiency units to $200 self-catering apartments to $250 B&Bs. We saved the Vintage Park as our "luxury" stay for last. But, to be honest, some of the other places were a more pleasurable experience due to -- again -- attention to those critical little things.

I notice that Kimpton does not provide feedback forms in their rooms. They should.

II probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve080, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2009

Dear NYTravelHound -

I would like to thank you for letting us know of the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay with us. It is through your comments we are able to continue to enhance our operation. We are always looking for ways to improve while maintaining the exceptional level of service that has made us successful.

I apologize your experience was not favorable. By your comments we definitely fell short to the standards Kimpton and the Vintage Plaza are known for. Be assured, I will be following up with the appropriate staff about your comments regarding your departure and the room comments. Should you choose to stay with us again, please contact me so I can ensure the best possible stay.

~Regards, Marianne M.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 144 in Portland
1,733 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,390 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland

Address: 422 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Portland
#2 Green Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#5 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $212 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland! From the urban-art-adorned lobby - where you're pretty much guaranteed to bond over our complimentary hosted social hour with a new friend - follow the floating staircase to the game lounge, stocked with current hits and nostalgic classics (Atari, anyone?). You'll feel the pioneering spirit of the Oregon Trail when drifting to sleep against a distressed-oak headboard, not far from your specially curated bottle of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vintage Plaza Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing